0
1
2
Level4
333
3
2014-01-29 17 views
See my full review & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/01/29/below-par-tapas-set-dinner-tapasan-dorset-hotel-on-28jan2014/Bought a deal.com voucher so went with a friend on 28.1.2014 to use it before expiry on 31.1.2014. the S$29.90 voucher for 2pax tapas dinner set include selection 4 cold tapas, 2 hot tapas, paella & drinks at tapasan (pappasan) at the new dorsett hotel at bukit pasoh.The ambience was great. we sat at a table alongside the long glass windows facing new bridge road.choice of
Read full review
See my full review & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/01/29/below-par-tapas-set-dinner-tapasan-dorset-hotel-on-28jan2014/

Bought a deal.com voucher so went with a friend on 28.1.2014 to use it before expiry on 31.1.2014. the S$29.90 voucher for 2pax tapas dinner set include selection 4 cold tapas, 2 hot tapas, paella & drinks at tapasan (pappasan) at the new dorsett hotel at bukit pasoh.

The ambience was great. we sat at a table alongside the long glass windows facing new bridge road.

choice of drink included artois stellar or hoe garden beer. my friend ordered the spanish beer & i ordered a guava juice. we arrived restaurant at 8.45pm. website said last order 9.30pm but the spanish server informed that they ran out of paella & would replaced by a seafood fried rice & they were about the same. i told her paella & seafood fried rice were not the same. anyhow she gave us an extra guava juice to make up. service & attitude were ok, nothing great.

The 4 cold tapas (ham, cured meat, salmon, cheese/egg) were ok i guessed, but i should really say below par for a decent tapas restaurant. likewise the hot tapas of cheese meat balls & fries with egg/sausage pieces. And of course really it was quite meaningless to have seafood fried rice at a tapas restaurant instead of seafood & chicken paella in the dinner set menu. The fried rice was okay to good standard, so as a meal it was okay.

My idea of a good tapas restaurant was la cicala at club street which served excellent S$25pax set lunch include 3 tapas, main & coffee, but I think it had closed for sometime already.

To be fair, price-wise at S$29.90 net for 2pax dinner (a good paella alone could cost that much, well that was if we actually had a good paella instead of substituted seafood fried rice), food was ok-ish & really i should not complain, but i would not want go back for sub-par food even at cheaper prices.
6 views
1 likes
0 comments
6 views
0 likes
0 comments
13 views
0 likes
0 comments
8 views
0 likes
0 comments
(The above review is the personal opinion of a user which does not represent OpenRice's point of view.)
Post
DETAILED RATING
Taste
Decor
Service
Hygiene
Value
Date of Visit
2014-01-28
Spending Per Head
$15 (Dinner)