4
0
0
Level4
332
3
2014-12-27 56 views
See my full reviews & photos at =http://chefquak.com/2014/12/26/nice-dinner-with-son-arossa-on-23dec2014/had a nice, quiet dinner with son at arossa on 23.12.2014.was last here with wife on 3.9.2014.we were given a corner table by the window overlooking scotts road with all the christmas decorations.son wanted some oysters as starter. we decided to order a wagyu steak each & a lobster ravioli to share.the oysters were excellent, very sweet, plump & tasty.the lobster blackened spinach ravioli wer
Read full review
See my full reviews & photos at =http://chefquak.com/2014/12/26/nice-dinner-with-son-arossa-on-23dec2014/

had a nice, quiet dinner with son at arossa on 23.12.2014.
was last here with wife on 3.9.2014.
we were given a corner table by the window overlooking scotts road with all the christmas decorations.
son wanted some oysters as starter. we decided to order a wagyu steak each & a lobster ravioli to share.
the oysters were excellent, very sweet, plump & tasty.
the lobster blackened spinach ravioli were tops too. :-) the restaurant split for us so we had 3 ravioli each. the lobster broth or emulsion was superb.
the A5 miyazaki wagyu was also top fine dining standard. so what’s missing?
first, it was now 150g instead of 180g. i guess that’s ok. wagyu was good, very tender, good tasting, presentation was good also, definitely equalled or beat any fine dining restaurant serving good steaks.
but i could tell instantly that the presentation, sauce etc basically everything was different from the japanese presentation the last 2 times – see photos of the kagoshima wagyu on 3.9.2014 & the miyazaki wagyu on 16.8.2014.
& taste-wise somehow it did not have the standout marbled fragrance of a top japanese wagyu cut.
dinner for 2pax was S$143 after 50% palate discounts with amex.
sadly, arossa is closing by end jan2015 & we were told watanabe-san, the grill chef helming the restaurant is returning to japan to start her own restaurant. good for her & all the very best! 
i will probably return before end jan2015 to have a last go.
A5 miyazaki wagyu 150g
6 views
0 likes
0 comments
arossa @ scotts square
2 views
0 likes
0 comments
lobster blackened spinach ravioli
6 views
0 likes
0 comments
nice oyster
4 views
0 likes
0 comments
1/2 dozen oysters
4 views
0 likes
0 comments
(The above review is the personal opinion of a user which does not represent OpenRice's point of view.)
Post
DETAILED RATING
Taste
Decor
Service
Hygiene
Value
Date of Visit
2014-12-23
Dining Method
Dine In
Spending Per Head
$72 (Dinner)