8
0
0
Level4
333
3
2014-04-03 35 views
see my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/04/03/wonderful-japanese-food-mikuni-on-31mar2014/had another wonderful 4pax dinner – great food & company – with my wife & 2 close friends at mikuni on 31.3.2014. :-)i ordered the usual “Andy’s kaiseki” items per the mikuni 24.3.2013 blogpost…lol.. with some new additions, namely lobster teppanyaki & teriyaki cod.#1 we started as usual with the truffle kampachi. this fusion sashimi dish never failed to impress, both presentation and tas
Read full review
see my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/04/03/wonderful-japanese-food-mikuni-on-31mar2014/

had another wonderful 4pax dinner – great food & company – with my wife & 2 close friends at mikuni on 31.3.2014. :-)
i ordered the usual “Andy’s kaiseki” items per the mikuni 24.3.2013 blogpost…lol.. with some new additions, namely lobster teppanyaki & teriyaki cod.
#1 we started as usual with the truffle kampachi. this fusion sashimi dish never failed to impress, both presentation and taste, a perfect start to the evening meal.

#2 next up were 2 maki – mikuni maki topped with unagi (eel) & a salmon belly maki. they were ok but not as good as the UN futomaki & the spider maki. i did not take photos.
#3 next was the botanebi. as usual we had the excellent sashimi (these were large prawns larger than aka ebi & >4x size of amaebi) & had the prawn heads deep-fried – you could eat up everything basically, it was that good! 

#4 after that we had the sous vide octopus tempura served with a wasabi mayo which we sprinkled with the red chilli powder. this was again very good, the sous vide meat was tender not tough & totally consistent, and contrasting texture with the lightly battered surface.
#5 then we had 2 lobster teppanyaki to share among 4pax.
 the preparation was varied somewhat from the last time – instead of uniyaki it was a melted cheese mayo. this was excellent. the cheese could make it “jelak” = easily satiated, otherwise it was just perfect. i ate up everything! 

#6 we ordered the teriyaki cod as well. this was one place where i took my inspiration for my own teriyaki cod, which by my kindly friends acclaims was almost there but i guess the one here was still somewhat better.


#7 lastly, we had 2 orders of kagoshima wagyu konabe to share among 4pax. the beef looked different, more marbled & slightly thinner. taste-wise it was par excellence, as were the ones previously.

with 50% FAR (feed at raffles) discounts for food & 25% on liquor, the bill for 4pax including a S$50 sake was S$284 nett=S$60pax++ after discounts. and for such an excellent meal. no wonders that we keep going back.
lobster teppanyaki
22 views
1 likes
0 comments
teriyaki cod
20 views
1 likes
0 comments
kagoshima wagyu konabe
24 views
1 likes
0 comments
(The above review is the personal opinion of a user which does not represent OpenRice's point of view.)
Post
DETAILED RATING
Taste
Decor
Service
Hygiene
Value
Date of Visit
2014-03-31
Dining Method
Dine In
Spending Per Head
$71 (Dinner)
Dining Offer
Others
Recommended Dishes
lobster teppanyaki
teriyaki cod
kagoshima wagyu konabe