OpenRice Index
  
waiwai
This is waiwai living in Paya Lebar. I work in Orchard.
Member 7 First(s)
No. of Review85 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1408 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos372 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews17 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant32 My Restaurant(s)
Follow2928 Following
粉絲1358 Follower(s)
waiwai  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 17 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
Hazelleo
260 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Chinese Soup | Noodles

Chang Thai is a Thai restaurant that is located at the neighbourhood area. For those staying around the north and looking for affordable Thai cuisine, this will be an added list then.It is approximately 15-20 minutes walk from Bishan MRT station. Alternatively, you can always take a bus to reach the destination.

A bit of the history of Chang Thai for you guys. The eatery is founded by 3 buddies in their 20s to 30 that comes with different working backgrounds. But they shared the common interest and passion on Thai Foods and thus, we have the affordable Thai cuisine in neighourhood area.

 
We had the Lemon Grass Drink and Thai Milk Green Tea S$2.50 each.Thai Milk Green Tea is something different from the usual Lemongrass drink.

 
Pandan Chicken S$2.50/pc was tender, juicy and fragrance from the aroma smell of the pandan leaves.

 
Beef Noodle Soup S$7.00 was my favourite overall. The soup broth has the nourishing and rich flavor and it is quite addictive after few sips. But we were given the soup broth to try on. So the picture below is without noodles.

 
Mango Salad S$6.00 is one of the signature Thai dish to savor before main order is served.

 
Highly recommended dish, Garlic Honey Chicken comes in two sizes S$6.00/S$8.00. Nicely fried with even spread of honey over the crisp chicken striking the balance with the tenderness, juiciness and sweetness.

 
We were introduced to Steamed Seabass with Lemongrass S$25.00. The fish freshness is the key for steamed dish. The combination of seabass with lemongrass was indeed achieve a balance of sweetness and aroma fragrance.

 
Pad Thai comes in two sizes S$6.00/ S$9.00. Definitely a value for money as the portion is very generous.

 
Prawn Cake S$5.80 for 3pcs. You can taste the freshness, crisp and rich prawn paste.

 
As for desserts, we tried Tapioca with Coconut Milk S$4.00. Loving the soft texture of the tapioca with coconut milk spreaded over it.

 
Red Ruby with Jackfruit S$5.00 is my favourite Thai dessert. Red ruby here is homemade and it not starchy at all. And slices of jackfruit completes the sweet taste of the dessert.

 
Lastly we had Mango Sticky Rice S$6.00. Smooth and sweet mango with the sticky moist glutinous rice make the perfect combination. They served good ones here.

 
Overall the range of foods and price offered was quite affordable. The restaurant has ready space for family diners or even friends gathering. It is quite an offer for heart landers if they are craving for Thai cuisine and not wanting to get out of neighbourhood. This would be a choice for them.
For more details, http://hazeldiary.com/chang-thai-block-151-bishan-street-11/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mango Sticky Rice,Prawn Cake,Fish Cake,Steamed Seabass with Lemongrass
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
wenxi
1744 Review(s)
Level 4
Taiwnese Specialites OK Dec 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Food Court

We decided to have some Asian Dishes before we hit off to Western Australia and munch on the burgers and chips. Taiwanese Specialty is located in the basement food court, Kopi in Changi Airport Terminal 3.
Stall

Stall

 
The bowl of braised beef noodle was made up of braised egg, beef, preserved vegetables and noodles. The beef taste was quite close to what we had in taiwan with the preserved vegetables. However the soup was quite bland and did not really fall within expectation.
Braised Beef Noodles

Braised Beef Noodles

 
Fried Guo Tie was ordered as well. At least, this time round the Guo Tie did not taste like those packets of frozen food from supermarket. They were fried to golden brown in color and required some waiting time before serving.
Guo Tie

Guo Tie

 
It's piping hot! Look at the amount of fillings! The minced pork was accompanied by chopped chives and was pipping hot wrapped under the thin crispy outer fried layer. Quite juicy and not that oily as expected. It's best to served with vinegar and ginger strips just like the steamed version!
Fillings of Guo Tie

Fillings of Guo Tie

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Guo Tie
 
Date of Visit: Nov 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
CEIL JOVEN
1404 Review(s)
Level 4
Hakka Dishes OK Dec 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hakka | Hawker Centre

I happened to sit at a table directly facing this stall and i observed that this stall seems to have a constant flow of regular customers. This stall offers different types of Hakka dishes and i suspected might be of certain standard as that was probably the reason behind the lunch crowd patronising this stall.

Though the elderly Auntie was rather efficient in taking the orders but she did not seem too friendly. I wanted to take away their signature Hakka Yong Tau Foo but was told it has already been sold out. I overhead earlier that their chicken dishes have been sold out too. I decided to take away the Stewed Preserved Vegetable with Pok Belly, Stir-fried Sliced Beef with Bitter Gourds and Meatballs with Pineapple for $10.50.

These are some of the dishes that they served it with rice and soup as a set meal from $3.50 to $4.50.

 
I waited for about 15 minutes as there were other orders in front of me. I asked for the smallest portion for all the dishes and requested to have it packed in plastic bags to avoid paying the 0.20 cents chargeable per container.
Stewed Preserved Vegetable with Pok Belly

Stewed Preserved Vegetable with Pok Belly

 
It tasted alright though not as nice as compared to the one served by a stall that specialized for different types of Steamed Rice and Soup in Yishun. The taste of preserved vegetable was a bit overpowering which i did not like. There were only about 4 slices of thinly sliced braised pork belly in it.
Stir-fried Sliced Beef with Bitter Gourds

Stir-fried Sliced Beef with Bitter Gourds

 
Though never a fan of bitter gourds but still went ahead to order this dish. The bitter gourds did not taste as bitter as anticipated. It was sliced thinly to stir-fry with sliced beef. The texture of the sliced beef was slightly harder and a little more chewier. A rather comforting home cooked dish to go well with the rice nonetheless.
Meat Balls with Pineapple.

Meat Balls with Pineapple.

 
This was an appetizing dish. The meatballs were prepared by shaping minced meat into many of those. The meatballs were deep-fried before stir-fried with bits of pineapple and tomato based sauce to give it its desired taste. The amount of meatballs given for this dish was pretty generous. The sauce tasted a bit like those for sweet & sour pork but not as sweet.

An interesting find but i am not a Hakka so not able to determine the level of authenticity of all these dishes.

 
 
Date of Visit: Dec 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
TheArcticStar
606 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bak Kut Teh

If you wonder why there is a long line at the steps of this restaurant daily and nightly, and if you wonder why so many photographs of celebrities grace the wall of this simple little eatery, well then I suggest you give it a try.

 
I have been to Founder Bak Kut Teh many times, and have tried a lot of other decidedly famous ones over the years as well - but this still reigns as one of my top favorites. That is despite the queue and hurried service. Anyway, tonight the Beau and I graced the restaurant once more.

 
The Beau took the Founder Bak Kut Teh (SGD$8.00) that came with a bowl of white rice. The meat was tender enough, and the soup was piping hot and very tasteful with strong peppery overhaul - perfect for a rainy evening like the one we were enjoying.

 
I selected the Pig's Intestine's Soup (SGD$6.50) with no rice. Rest assured that it would also be served with the same delicious and distinctive white pepper stock soup. The innards were all right - some chewy, some tender, some springy in texture, but all were good.

The side dishes such as salted vegetables, braised peanuts, braised eggs etc are all tasty and serve as wonderful accompaniment as well. Alternatively, their Pig's Trotter (SGD$8.00) a try as well - tasty, tender and sinfully good for a once-in-a-blue-moon indulgence.

For full review and more photographs, please feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/10/dinner-at-founder-bak-kut-teh-orchid.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Founder Bak Kut Teh,Pig Intestine Soup,pig trotter,braised egg,salted vegetables,braised peanuts
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
cptslowyeo
479 Review(s)
Level 4
Rainbow cakes and okay food :) Smile Sep 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Salads/ Acai Bowl


I was attracted to this cafe, because of their rainbow cakes. We found some public parking along the hawker center, across the road from NOM. We got to NOM at 12pm and we were the first customers there. The waiter was quick and gave us the menu and iced water within a few minutes of us getting seated.

My colleagues tried the fish and chips, which was a giant beer battered fish. They claimed that they could taste a tinge of beer in the batter. The appetizers of breaded mushroom wasn't too bad, but there were only like 7 pieces. Each time you bit into the breaded mushroom, you could taste the oil. sad Def not my fav breaded mushrom of all times. We also had the parmesan truffle fries, which were okay. for $6.90 I guess it isn't too bad. 

I got the banger rosti as my main, and though the rosti was crispy, it was quiet thin. It was thinner than expected. But it still tasted decent. The cheese sausage was super juicy with cheese sauce smile 

For dessert, we had both the oreo and the chocolate rainbow cakes. Which at a price of $7.90 is quiet heavy. But the oreo was so awesome and tasty. Same with the chocolate. Reminded me of awfully chocolate cake, that I just had for breakfast this morning. 

I would def come back to try more of their rainbow cakes, especially the salted caramel and more of their dishes for sure!
oreo and chocolate rainbow

oreo and chocolate rainbow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Oreo rainbow cake,Chocolate rainbow cake
 
Date of Visit: Sep 30, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend