OpenRice Index
  
cptslowyeo
This is cptslowyeo living in Yio Chu Kang. I like to hang out in Bugis, Dhoby Ghaut, Ang Mo Kio. Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, Ice Cream and Gelato.
Member 122 First(s)
No. of Review479 Review(s)
編輯推介數目32 Editor's Choice
Recommended25 Recommended
Popularity2064 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos4632 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews12 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant600 My Restaurant(s)
Follow121 Following
粉絲256 Follower(s)
cptslowyeo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 12 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
Alamakgirl
1528 Review(s)
Level 4
Buffet Dinner Smile Jul 31, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Peranakan / Nonya | Hotel | Restaurant | Buffet

 

 

The buffet restaurant was well known for its Penang buffet since the 1970s. For a weekday night, the place was packed with customers. Besides the penang fare, one could also find cold seafood such as crayfish, cooked prawns and mussels on ice.

 

Can't help noticing that everyone just went straight for Tow Kwa Pok. The moment one opened the cover, it smelt so mouth watering. Stuffed with minced pork and vegetables, topped with brown sauce and chilli sauce, it was so delicious.

 

We were lucky to get a plate of freshly fried Char Kway Teow which one could taste the wok hei in it. Remember to help yourself the crispy pork lards. Accompanied the meal with Teh Tarik which tasted not bad at first but felt watered down after having the heavy stuffs. The manager said said that the restaurant used to served Teh Halia (Ginger Tea) but replaced it with Teh Tarik after feedback from customers.

 

There was a number of live stations for Hokkien Mee Thng, Penang Laksa, Kway Teow Thng, Ark Thui Mee Sua Thng, Kueh Pie Tee, Popiah, and Ban Chang Kueh. The broth for the Hokkien Mee Thng was quite rich and flavourful. The Penang Laksa was not bad but the broth was not spicy and sour enough for local Penang taste. The Ban Chang Kueh was light and crispy even after left on the table for quite sometimes. It was made freshly by an old auntie who looked old enough to be my grandma.

 

There was also rare local dishes such as Char Moey and Nasi Ulam which were rare to find these days, but the porridge was lacking of wok hei taste, while the other latter was kind of bland. The Pig Stomach Soup was full bodied and peppery without offending smell or taste from the meat.

 

For dessert, the freshly scooped Tau Huay with Gula Melaka was smooth with kind of an old school feel. The Apom Bokwa was soft and went quite well with the banana sauce. The assorted kuehs such as Kueh Dadar, Kueh Bengkah, Pulut Tai Tai (served with Kaya), Kueh Talam, Abuk-Abuk, Kueh Lapis, Ang Ku Kueh (Tau Sa), and Rice Bengkah  were cut into small pieces. Soft and yummy.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 26, 2018 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Alamakgirl
1528 Review(s)
Level 4
1-for-1 Smile Sep 13, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Seafood

I had always wanted to try this restaurant but found it was too expensive. Finally when one saw that it was having 1-for-1 using Burpple Beyond membership, I grab the offer.
The restaurant was located along a row of shophouses. The dine in area was rather limited on the first floor with 2 tables of 4, 2 tables of 2 and some counter seats. On a weekday night, there was only a family of 3 dining in besides us.

 

THE LOBSTER ROLL (S$58++)
Served with Chef’s Salad, Straight-cut Fries, Garlic Butter Sauce
Ordered the Classic version. Also available in Nonya Chilli and Wasabi versions.
The bun was soft and buttery, packed with chucky meat. Added the buttery sauce for extra kick.

 

CANTONESE STYLE STEAMED LOBSTER (S$58++)
Live Whole Lobster steamed on a bed of glass vermicelli in House-made soy sauce, finished with ginger, spring onion, Chinese parsley
Served with Fragrant Jasmine Rice

The glass noodle soaked up the flavours, and was very flavourful by itself. The meat was juicy, although needed some works to remove the meat from the shell. There was Seafood Fork, Nut Crackers, although one would much prefer a pair of Kitchen Shears too for the knuckles.

 

Accompanied with Chocolate milkshake (S$12++) and Oreo milkshake (S$12++).

Very filling for 2.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 12, 2018 

Spending per head: Approximately $82.39

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
KerinLoke
3 Review(s)
Level 1
Awesome Waffle Smile Jan 16, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

Review:
Their waffle is awesome! come down to have a try, they might look too sweet but don't get cheated by the looks. The chocolate is Belgium chocolate ! Waffle is so crispy even with the ice cream melted . $9.90 for a big portion waffle come with 2 scoops of ice cream , 1 macaron and fruits sprinkled on top of it. Their house special flavours for waffle is Belgium chocolate and Horffles. lol


Pros :
staff is super friendly ! (no service charge)
-They explain to you their menu.
-serve you with ice water.
-greet you when you step in/leave the place

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Belgium Chocolate Waffle
 
Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
wallychel
484 Review(s)
Level 4
Emoticon Pies! OK Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Bakery

 
I had to visit Pie Face bakery after seeing online pictures of these cute little emoticons craft on each pie!

I was eager to try the Thai Chicken Curry pie as I expected a spicy kind of kick out of it but it turned out disappointingly bland tasting. The Chunk Steak was one of the popular pies but it also turned out so-so. Out of the 3, Chicken Mushroom is surprisingly the best! It was filled with chunks of thick creamy chicken combined with mushrooms and garlic tongue 

I may give their sweet pies a try next time!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Mushroom Pie
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 05, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
rachelays
1063 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

 
The King Louis is Singapore's first medieval restaurant. It has been listed as one of the best family restaurants in 2011 and 2012!

 
I really love their castle-themed ambience as it adds on to the whole dining experience. At The King Louis, they have different types of banquets (meat platters.etc) for sharing. I guess the essence of dining at The King Louis lies in the joy of sharing platters of food with friends or family.

 
For drinks, I had the mango juice which is reasonably priced at $5. They do not serve fresh juices though, so skip this if you do not like artificial fruit juices. They do serve floats but the floats can get really filling if you order the banquet platter as their portions are huge and value for money.

 
First up, we had the Homemade Mushroom Soup ($9.50) served with a stick of garlic bread. The button and shiitake mushrooms are blended and made into a creamy mushroom soup. It would be good to share with at least 1 as the mushroom flavour is rather thick.

 
For starters, we also had Platter C ($24.90) which consists of chicken drumlets, calamari rings, prawn twisters, potato wedges, and sausage and bacon bites. The chicken drumlets were a favourite. Although they were all deep-fried, they were not oily. The calamari rings had the right texture and were not overly chewy. I also like the prawn twisters which were crispy and had a unique touch to it. In contrast to the deep-fried snacks, the salad served as a refreshing side.

 
We had the Queen Victoria Banquet ($169.90 for 4-5pax). There are roasted beef with black pepper sauce, premium BBQ baby back ribs, pan-seared snapper with wasabi mayo, sauteed scallops with garlic and cream sauce, and lastly, oven-baked king prawns with melted mozzarella cheese.

 
The only disappointment here was the beef steak which was dry, tough, and felt like it had been cooked beforehand. The black pepper sauce was yummy though and I wished that they had given more of it. That aside, I enjoyed the various seafood in this banquet. The snapper fish was really tender and fresh but I would prefer if there were no bones in it. The king prawns were huge and they went well with the melted cheese. The BBQ baby back ribs were tender and the sweet BBQ sauce complemented the ribs well. This banquet came with lots of roasted potatoes underneath as well as assorted vegetables.

 
We also tried their Wales Beef Bolognese ($19.90) which is one of their signature dishes. The sauce is homemade and sauteed with grated carrots and onions, and reduced with fresh cream and red wine. It has a rich bolognese taste which may be a tad overwhelming for some to finish it alone. I find the taste very authentic and bolognese lovers should like this.

 
Lastly, we had the Beer Battered Fish & Chips ($21.90). This is served with mesclun, straight cut fries, and homemade egg tartar. The fish and chips looked oily but they were surprisingly not when I tried them. The fish had retained lots of moisture in them but the batter was not soggy. Although tender, the texture of the fish was too soft for my liking.

***

King Louis is perfect for group gatherings and family dinners. With their selections of banquets to choose from, you can prepare to FEAST LIKE A KING!

 

 
 
Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend