OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity4597 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow214 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
Domokunn
100 Review(s)
Level 4
At Least an Alternative Smile Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hakka | Coffeeshop

By 8pm, the famous 928 Ngee Fou Ampang YTF would have closed, this is the next alternative available just 2 doors away. You are allowed to choose more variety here, in fact you can also opt to choose the ingredients yrself just like the typical YTF stalls. You will always see the boss drinking beer in the shop with friends. Most of the workers are PRCs. The drinks are sold by them as well a separate smaller kway chup and braised duck rice offering. I was lazy and opted to leave them to choose for me a 1 person share, only requesting to hv more of the crunchy stuffs. When served, i was delighted with a plate of 2 tau kee, kang kong, brinjal, fried toufu, ngoh hiong, fish ball, fried wantan, bittergourd...pretty good variety i must say. And their sauce mix has definitely improved over time and i dun think they lose out to 928 alot. Its more to the saltier side though. Overall i rate it a good eat, can't exactly remember the pricing but it should be <$8 definitely.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Sam Goh
1 Review(s)
Level 1
Delicious Korean BBQ Dinner Smile Aug 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Buffet | Korean BBQ

On 280814, we were being invited to K.Cook Korean BBQ Buffet for dinner.

Long queue outside, inside is quite cozy, crowded with people & seating space too near to each other).

Food display counters were arranged in a square corner.

There were 4 sections:

- Drinks & staples:
soft drinks, soup/stew of the day (empty), plain rice, Korean pancake, fried Chicken Wings.

- Cooked food:
Stir-fried Ricecake, fried Glass Noodles, Spicy Pork Bulgogi, Bossam-Boiled Pork with Herb.

- Raw condiments & 10 types of meats:
Kimchi, pickled radish, onion, spring onion, chilli, spring-onion kimchi, miso, Korean dipping soy, garlic, lettuce, Squid, Prawn, Beef Plate Eye, Marinated Beef Ribeye, Marinated Beef Shortrib, Pork Collar, Marinated Pork Collar, Pork Belly, Chicken, Spicy Chicken, Beef Bulgogoi & Chicken Bulgogoi.

- Fruits, Salads & Ice Water

I Like:
I'm a meat person, so I like the meat section very much. I like the chicken the most as it's lightly marinated & did not taste too heavy, it's also very tender & a little sweet.
I also like to eat the prawns & the squid. They are kept fresh in the buckets with ice, of medium size & so can be cooked very fast.

Can be improved:
Too cramp among the seats, the grill pan is too big, staff need to clear empty plates faster, refills were a little slow & no soup.


I Suggest:

Ice-cream to cool down the heat.


Fun Part:

Our table enjoyed the food so much that we didn't notice the gas had ran out until we see how come the pork took so long to cook. Haha..
Flyer

Flyer

 
Discounts

Discounts

 
Menu Wall

Menu Wall

 
Big Grill Pan from Korea

Big Grill Pan from Korea

 
Meat

Meat

 
More Meat

More Meat

 
Chicken Wings

Chicken Wings

 
Overall:
8/10
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Wings,Meat,More Meat
 
Date of Visit: Aug 28, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
mycc
217 Review(s)
Level 4
Good food with great service! Smile Aug 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads | Brunch

Please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/07/sg-lokal-good-food-with-great-service.html for full review.

With raving reviews of Sarnies and having their head barista over at the still-pretty-new Lokal, we thought we had to give it a shot. Typically with disappointing food at cafes, this promised otherwise with one of their partners who was the founding chef of Tetsuya's in Sydney.

 
Despite being the new kid on the block, the people behind it have gotten themselves pretty popular with the snaking queues even as we reached at close to 2pm. I was personally impressed that despite the crowd, service hadn't been compromised and the dishes came up pretty quick.

 
A cheery start to any breakfast, we chose the fruits salad over poached pear for the variety in it. We loved the toasted granola that came with a solid crunch, perfectly paired with light yoghurt drizzled over and the mix of fruits for that slightly sweet touch.

Chunky Chips ($8)
(photo at the background)
While I'm a super fries fan, this was quite a disappointing one for me. I found it a tad too bland, and the accompanying dip didn't quite go with it.

 
This was a simple one done right. Perfectly toasted sandwiches with a good combination of smooth scrambled egg and light parmesan, with distinct mushroom taste that didn't overpower. Each ingredient played a good complement, simple comfort food great to go with any meal!

 
Well-marinated for a tender touch, it was a combination with caramelised onions for that pairing of savoury and sweet in one mouthful. The rye bread slice was a tad too dense that it got slightly messy trying to cut it up.

 
This was supposed to be served on panini but they'd ran out of it hence served on sourdough for ours. Refreshing with its lighter flavours and tender soft chicken shreds, a simple sandwich paired with the right crunchiness of the pancetta and sweet juicy tomatoes. We loved how it was simple looking, yet packed on textures and well-marinated. Great if you're looking for a light refreshing sandwich!

 
This was a winner with tender pork belly and evenly distributed omelette for that strong egg-y taste throughout. There was just a very subtle hint of chilli jam but overall taste was a hit with well-balanced flavours.

 
A pretty ordinary dish in my opinion, it was presented as what was described. Nothing spectacular but all nicely done, it was a simple dish for smoked fish lovers.

 
Desserts are the favourite course of our meal, and this was a promising one served with hokey pokey ice cream - vanilla ice cream with honeycomb toffee bits. I was expecting crunchy bits within for that added level of texture, though it turned out to be sticky bits. The ice cream was well-balanced in its sweetness, paired perfectly with the caramelized banana slices on top and a soft moist cake. It would have been even better if the cake was served slightly warmer for that contrast and softness.

 
This was a clear winner and we almost couldn't get enough of it! Okay, this isn't meant for sharing. Light and fluffy warm pudding with generous sauce drizzled on top, it was sheer indulgence yet balanced in sweetness so that you don't feel jelat (or overwhelmed). Paired with the good old vanilla ice cream, this was classic at its very best!

 
Coffee has always been a subjective one and this was a hit with me. I like how it was smooth and velvety with a robust flavour. There's also a choice of beans while you place orders and my friend, a serious coffee drinker liked the medium roast that was slightly heavier.

 
You know how some cafes simply do self-service or are lacking severely in service given how packed and understaffed they are? I was impressed by how they were still a full service cafe given the crowd, without any part of it being compromised. We had our tables cleaned up prior to our desserts served, and having their staff checking in on us from time to time on how we found the food. It made us feel that they actually do care about their customers' feedback despite how busy/popular they were, and added a nice touch to a satisfying meal.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sticky Date Pudding (S$12)
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
spherepiece
422 Review(s)
Level 4
Relaunch party food menu Smile May 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Bars/Lounges

Before I could start on how jealous I am of people who stay in the East, Kakis Bistro Bar pops out and tilts the scale over officially on Singapore's cool places to hang out. Located at a stone's throw away from Changi Village, home to classic hawker food and cafes, Kakis Bistro Bar promises a night of in-house specials, drinks, music in a forest-like setting with no GST/ service charges.

 
Booze time! I like Asahi better than most others like Tiger Beer/ Heineken/ Carlsberg, but guess what? Meichers White Beer tastes even better - sweeter with a light tangy taste. Although I don't normally like beer (vodka is my preferred poison) but I guess Meichers is not bad too! During Happy Hour (4 - 8pm), you can get Melchers/ Asahi/ at 5 bottles for $40; Corona at 5 bottles for $45, and Kronenbourg 1664 at 5 bottles for $35! Guinness Draught goes at $14/bottle and $24/2 bottles. This is much cheaper than most bars! There are also other alcohols available.

 
Onto the food menu! The first dish was the enticing Prawn Alioli with Homegrown Lemongrass & Coriander ($9.80), lightly stirred in garlic and oil. This dish is said to be the top-favourite of the bar, and I could understand why! The prawns are juicy, springy and fresh - really addictive. The best part is that the herbs used are entirely grown and harvested in the agricultural farm near the bar, which means that there are no preservatives used at all.

 
The next dish served was the Stir-Fry Button Mushrooms with Homegrown Kaffir Leaf, Shallots and White Wine ($8.50). This dish was very mouth-watering as the kaffir leaves jazzed up the taste and made an otherwise ordinary dish more interesting. Nevertheless, I couldn't taste the white wine at all and this dish could also be taken to the next level by adding different types of mushrooms like portobello.

 
The third dish was the Fries Addiction ($6) which tasted more like McDonalds shaker fries with overly piquant chilli seasoning - it can potentially cause a sore throat when eaten in excess. It might be better to offer thick-cut truffle fries on the menu instead which would be more popular with the mainstream crowd.

 

 
These little triangular-shaped tapas are the Chicken Quesadilla with Homemade Salsa ($10). Normally served with tomato salsa and sour cream dip, these quesadillas are stuffed with chicken breast meat seasoned with pepper and salt. I found this quite tasty but it would better if the fillings are more generous.

 
Kakis Bistro Bar also has their version of Traditional Fish & Chips ($17) - a dish I was truly quite impressed with. I've had a fair share of eating lackluster fish & chips, but this is on a league of its own. The fish is very tender on the inside, only possible if it was fresh. The crispy batter on the outside was also perfectly done and really enjoyable to eat! The coleslaw on the side was also chilled and delicious to have. This is the one dish I'll definitely recommend on the menu.

 
Another dish that was more memorable from the line-up was the pasta selection Alio Olio Peperoncino with Homegrown Kaffir Leaf ($16). The spiciness just danced about my tongue instead of piercing through like many alio olio pasta, which meant that it will be suitable for a larger proportion of dining audience. The pasta was also cooked al dente and evenly mixed with the garlic sauce tinted with the taste of kaffir leaf. The prawns were also icing on the cake - don't we all love prawns?

 
Desserts to top off the night - Red Velvet Cake ($9.50/slice) - but I wasn't much excited about it after the first mouthful because somehow it was rather flat and drier than I wished it was. There was also almost no cocoa taste and some potential textures of the English carrot cake, and hence it didn't give me the impression of Red Velvet. They also offer Chocolate Lava Cakes at $8.50 a slice here.

For full menu and ambience pictures: http://www.amiehu.com/2014/05/sponsored-kakis-bistro-bar.html#more
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 24, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
CelestialDelish
55 Review(s)
Level 3
alluring nostalgia interior  OK Apr 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café

For full reviews, please visit www.celestialdelish.com/2014/04/the-awesome-cafe.html
My Awesome Cafe

My Awesome Cafe

 
A new hipster cafe settling within a pre-war conservation shophouse that used to house Telok Ayer Chung Hwa Free Clinic was open in February 2014.

 
The industrial theme cafe has high ceiling structure with cement walls and floor, big bulbs and metallic fans each generate soft wind that renders an ambient of sitting in an open air environment.

Pineapple Crunch @ $8.00

 
Fresh pineapple blends with crunch ice. Refreshing, rich and soft, what is missing is the sweet scent (maybe due to the season).

Latte @ $4.50

 
Blend of beans from Colombia, Brazil and Sumatra.

Spicy Beef Sandwich @ $14.00

 
The spices mixed in the beef are bought from Thailand. It’s tangy and leaving a light note of spice tickling your palate. Salad dressing is a homemade recipe from Franck’s grandma. The bread was a little firmer and less soft than I would have liked. Maybe we had spend too much on picture taking =(

My Awesome Salad @ $15.00

 
Terrine of tiny shreds of tender, succulent duck melded together, with generous mesclun, salty smoked salmon and herbs chicken breast (that is dry). Loves the freshly ground basil pesto on the bread, then again, the bread was a little firmer and less soft than I would have liked. Finding it difficult to chew, perhaps we had spend too much time picture taking (again).

Quiche ¼ + Salad @ $9.50

 
The savoury crust was lightly buttery, crisp and moist, with a filling of shredded carrot and creamy egg custard. It will be irresistible if there is some oozing cheese to go along.

Upside Down Mango Cake @ $5.00

 
Homemade dessert served on vintage amber glassware. Very moist and soft but too sweet for my liking.Brownie @ $5.00

 
Not the fudgey brownie, more to a cakey texture. Dry cracked crust, slightly moist with a deep chocolate flavor. These rich and chocolaty are homemade too!
 
Date of Visit: Apr 01, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $24(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend