OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity5778 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score  
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 51 to 55 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
ktly
210 Review(s)
Level 4
Jamie's Italian! Smile Jul 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Seafood

I visited Jamie's Italian in Sydney and have fond memories. Finally it's here in Singapore.

The decor of the place is so pretty, cosy and comfortable. There is a hot kitchen and another antipasti and dessert kitchen. Both open concept.

 
I ordered their exclusive beer specially brewed just for them by Archipelago. It was a very light beer that has a hint of sweetness and ends with bitter note. It was not as special as I think it will be, definitely not the best beer I had tasted.

 
For starters, I ordered truffle oil fries and cheese. It was such a heavenly dish. Ok I am biased because I love the smell of truffle, anything with it is good and that they had cheese to top it off. It was really yummy!

 
I also ordered baked mushrooms. The mushroom was crunchy and the sides of the round dish, it tasted something like crispy wanton skin. Pretty interesting, I thought. Very tasty dish of course.

 
For main course, I tried the prawn pasta recommended by their GM. I loved it. It's tomato based but it has a bit of spice and salt. There is so much flavour in the pasta sauce. Linguine was a little hard but they said that's how Italians like their pasta to be. I have no issues lol

 
Finally for dessert, I ordered vinsanto chocolate cake in a pot. There is vinsanto ice cream (with bit of liquer) on the top, fluffy light cake in the centre and rich chocolate cake at the bottom of the cup. I am a chocolate fan, I really like this dessert. It's very interesting again because there are so many kinds of texture in one mouth!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $88(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
CherylFlavour
47 Review(s)
Level 3
Sichuan Cold Noodles Smile Jun 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Sichuan | Chinese | Salads/ Acai Bowl

 
Let's Toss is a Sichuan Salad Bar style stall and it's becoming 1 of my favourite place to eat!

The place is clean and there's a small counter (approximately seating space for 6 pax) in the shop where you can dine in.

 

 
They sell vegetables and meat by weight. You can choose as many selection as you want, and they will portion it according to the weight you order.. Default is 200g for $5.

For me, I like to have their cold noodles set. $5 for cold noodles, 30g of meat and a cup of ice lemon tea.

 
For the cold noodles, they will mix spaghetti like noodles with cucumber, beansprout, peanuts, chili and some condiments with the meat you choose.. tossing them together in a metal bowl before serving to you in a cardboard box.

Portion is usually quite big and filling. Especially love the crunchiness of the cucumber and beansprouts with the tangy noodles!

This place makes me come back again & again even though the location is not very convenient for me. (at Aljunied MRT station) Definitely recommended to everyone!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cold noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jun 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Eil^^
129 Review(s)
Level 4
Tim Ho Wan Dim Sum Smile Apr 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles | Kids-Friendly

Char Siew Bao

Char Siew Bao

 
Siew Mai

Siew Mai

 
Pork Ribs

Pork Ribs

 
Steam Egg Cake

Steam Egg Cake

 
Steam Egg Cake

Steam Egg Cake

 
Prawn Dumpling

Prawn Dumpling

 
Chee Cheong Fan

Chee Cheong Fan

 
Pan Fried Carrot Cake

Pan Fried Carrot Cake

 
I was so excited when I learnt that this Dim Sum joint from Hong Kong is coming to Singapore. I recently have just tried Tim Ho Wan in Hong Kong and I love the Dim Sum a lot. Well, I can't bring it back, so I'm really happy that this is here. I realized they have the concept of the 4 heavenly kings here, it comprises of Steamed Egg Cake ($3.80), Pig Liver Chee Cheong Fan ($5.50), Char Siew Bao ( 3 pc for $4.50) and the Pan Fried Carrot Cake ($4.50). I love the Char Siew Bao the best as they glazed it with butter and packed the Char Siew inside a polo bun. This is a must-try. I would recommend having it in the restaurant once it is served. Steamed Egg Cake was typical but was nice when it was served hot. The Pig Liver Chee Cheong Fan was a tad too thick and I didn’t really like the taste of the Pan Fried Carrot Cake. Perhaps I’m not used to use cause there were minced dried Chinese sausages in it. I loved the Siew Mai (4pcs for $5.00) and this had a similar taste as Hong Kong; one of the best Siew Mai I have had. They use fresh ingredients such as prawns and one can really tell from the difference. Another dish that I would recommend is the Pork Ribs with bean sauce ($4.20), this was really tasty. I was also glad that they have a takeaway counter so that people can just take away so they do not have to queue for a long time. The decor of this place like a typical char chan teng atmosphere (tea house) with sauces at the side and furnished with traditional char chan teng furniture. Overall, being a Michelin star restaurant, prices is abit on the high side but it is worth trying.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
wenxi
1744 Review(s)
Level 4
Good meal Smile Apr 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Rice | Kids-Friendly

Food
Ever since the news of Mr Lim's retirement broke up, the place has more queues than usual and parking was scarce. One can actually realized that the power of mass media is so great. It took us quite sometime to secure a 6 person seats. We have to squeeze in one small round table with neighbor table's chair blocking our way.

My first visit was like about 12 years back. In my all years of patronage, the taste of the food never fail us. If you read the reviews, the duck meat are as good as they said. This teochew style boneless braised duck meat with its scrumptious gravy had won many Singaporeans stomach and hearts over the years.

 
A plate soy sauce-based gravy flavored with cinnamon and other herbs and spices of duck meat shared by 6. This is the signature dish of all.

 
The way Mr Lim's prepare the food may appeared to be simple and ordinary but in fact is was way good than one expects. The meat are tender, even the rice smell good with the gravy.

 
Besides having the duck as the main, these are the dishes that we will order during my visit. The Toufu and kang kong with dried prawns (sambal kang kong). They may seems very simple dishes to us but these small dishes makes one feels very at home.

 

 
Service
The uncle who insist in speaking English looks the same, the way he speaks, the way he dressed, the way he total up one's bill in a dreaming manner, the dishes/drinks they offered has never changed. Everything you see, eat and feel the time had stop in the 1960s. We always get to laugh and giggle when they asked if we want duck "spare parts" when they are referring to internal organs of the ducks.

Ambience
Not fogetting that the rustic interior and exterior of Lim's Eating House has stayed the same through the years.

 
Price
The portion of may have shrink in size due to inflation but seems like the food goers will always come back once in a while to patronize the food and forget about the price hike.

Recommendation / Tips
They are closing and no intention of letting their children to take over. I will definitely miss a good teochew braised duck!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Braised Boneless Duck Rice
 
Date of Visit: Apr 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $9(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
OhMyTohFu
72 Review(s)
Level 3
24 hour delivery! Smile Mar 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Kids-Friendly

Tried calling Pitstop at 1am on a friday night. To our surprise, someone pick up the phone and confirmed that they are still doing delivery!

Ordered Fish & Chips, Portobello Burger and Teriyaki burger, and total cost came up to be $18! Even cheaper than MacDonalds!

Food is nice and came with big servings of Cajun Fries. So its bye bye MacDonalds and Hello PitStop for us in future! Will be trying their Southern Fried Chicken very soon.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Portobello Burger,Fish and Chips
 
Date of Visit: Mar 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend