OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity5790 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score  
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 71 to 75 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
Abiteofeverything
814 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Chinese Soup | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads/ Acai Bowl

Date : 20121218
Time of visit : 7.50pm
What/Where : Pie & Coffee @ Rochester Park
What we had : Chocolate tart,Apple Pie,NY Cheesecake, Chai Latte
Average cost/pax : $40
Ambience : Clean, spacious,limited in & outdoor seats.
Service : Friendly and chatty servers
Portion : Rich and smooth choco tart coated with crunchy almond bits; Creamy NY cheesecake
Location : Walking distance from Buona Vista MRT, next to star vista mall. Good place for group outing.
What's good in particular : Chai Tea Latte was smooth, creamy and luscious!
What's bad in particular : Uncooked crust for the apple pie.

ABiteOfEverything.com

 

 

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Herine Ang
19 Review(s)
Level 2
Handmade pastas all under $20! Smile Jan 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Pasta

Platypus' 3rd outlet, they took over V8 cafe at Bugis junction. Catering to the crowd at Bugis Junction, most, if not all of their handmade pastas are under $20.

They have a unique drinks menu as well. My favourite is the 'Pink Lemonade' & "Smith's Ale' (beer cocktail)

What's great about Platypus Kitchen is that their food presentations really stay as close as to the photos in the menu! The food and ingredients are of good quality, not to mention their generous portion.

 
Thick french fries seasoned with white truffle oil and topped with shaved truffles.

 
Prawns sautéed in olive oil and garlic then finished with fresh parsley.
The prawns were so fresh, chewy yet crunchy. The most ideally-cooked kind of prawns that I love!

 
Egg Tagliolini with prawns and crab claw meat tossed in a spicy egg sauce. The portion of the prawns and crab meat is really generous and fresh!

 
Bucatini tossed in flying fish roe sauce, topped with crab claw meat, Tobiko and seaweed.

 
Supple crispy-skin pork belly served with braised apples, garden vegetables and honey & clove apple glaze.
Love the unique taste of this!

Full review can be found at: http://myfatpocket.com/herine/2013/01/03/platypus-kitchen/

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pressed Pork Belly,Saffron & Caviar Risotto,Spicy ‘Diablo’ Crab & Prawn,Garlic Shrimp,Truffle Fries,Wild Mushroom soup
 
Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
x33kawaii-lov3
327 Review(s)
Level 4
Danro Japanese Hot Pot Buffet!;D Smile Jan 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

This new Japanese hot pot by MOF newly opened not long ago!;D
So tempting! lol Had wanted to try it ever since I smell the fragrance of the soup when I pass by!

We had the student price and considering its Japanese hot pot buffet…yes buffet!;D
The price was $20.90++ for a weekend dinner. Comparing to other Japanese restaurant serving buffet, or even normal Japanese cuisine restaurants, such a pricing should be considered reasonable and good?(:

It starts at 5.30-10.30pm, but we actually got in earlier as we were looking at the soup base menu and they invited us in.

They explained that we could help ourselves to the ready fried food before we start on our hot pot.
They had 8/9 choices of soup base to choose from, and we could choose 2.
Got some recommendations and decided on Tonkotsu Miso Broth, which has a heavier taste and Wafu Broth, which has a lighter taste.

 
I actually got attracted by the collagen ingredient of the Tonkotsu Broth ;P
And I really like the Tonkotsu Miso Broth! It has a rich taste of having brewed the meat bones for some time, giving the soup a sweet and fragrant taste, with the touch of miso, it’s like heavenly to me ;D

The Wafu Broth was indeed lighter in taste, more of a clear soup which is refreshing! I pretty much like that too ^^
What I didn’t like about the soup base was that it’s a little too salty in the first place before adding the ingredients. I could have drank more if it was not that salty :x
But the thick and tasty soup are really nourishing and an enjoyment lol

It’s free flow of drinks, pork, chicken, beef, and other seafood such as prawns, crabs, cockles etc.
There’s of cause also the side ingredients like cabbage, tofu, egg etc!

 

 

 

 
Love how the meat is soft and tender; it’s chicken thigh! ;D it’s really nice in the soup.
They are marinated with pepper/chilli and it still goes well in any of the soup bases.
The meat can simply be separated without the need for much tearing/chewing. There are marinated pork ribs too ;D

Not forgetting their signature rice served right after setting up the hot pot! It’s served on stick, one for each pax and they would let us know how we should eat it; dip into any of the soup, leave it for a while to absorb the taste of the soup before fetching it up to eat off the stick.
Its glutinous rice made with shrimps I think? That’s what I taste :x
It is something new and pretty interesting…quite like it just that there’s quite a strong seafood taste (if you know what I mean :x)

Last up was the desserts.
Earlier on we saw some jellies/pudding, mixed cocktails and fruits. There aren’t many desserts for selection though.
When we went for our desserts, there weren’t any jellies left, and the fruit and mixed cocktails isn’t very tempting so we gave those up. Maybe they could improve by topping up some desserts?

 
Walked around and we’re really glad to find an ice cream machine!;D
It’s vanilla flavoured ice cream, self-service, which was quite interesting and fun for us lol
Added some toppings too; chocolate sauce and chocolate chips.
We love the ice cream!;D I think it’s a type of Japanese ice cream? And it has that special taste of sweetness but not overly sweet.
Unlike vanilla ice cream we got elsewhere, I simply like how it taste ;D probably some may thought there isn’t much of a difference, but I just felt it taste special, some kind of Hokkaido ice cream taste ;P

The cold drinks section is simply those dispenser drinks, choices like ice lemon tea, coke, sprite, Fanta etc.

 
Really love dining there hence the wordy review >.<! Although there isn’t really a wide variety of food/ingredients to choose from, it’s quite suitable for people who would like to try Japanese hot pot and love the richness in soups ;D and of cause for meat lovers with the free flow of meat!
I would also strongly recommend the ice cream as the finale dish ;P
Satisfactory service too lol
 
Date of Visit: Dec 30, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
vnuss147
412 Review(s)
Level 4
Good Taiwanese Food Smile Dec 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

Shin Yeh Restaurant offers a wide range of authentic Taiwanese dishes. It's a good dining place for family gathering or business discussion as they do offer private dining room too. Appetizer ($3) is the marinated cucumber, cold and slightly sweet and sour with a hint of saltiness, complex flavours but appetizing!

 
We had the Shin Yeh special combination ($38) which consists of four signature dishes, namely deep-fried pork, crispy-fried fresh oyster served with dip, deep-fried lean pork coated with red fermented rice paste, as well as oyster mushroom with herbal sauce. Of the four, my favourite has to be the deep-fried meat coated with red fermented rice paste. It's very crispy outside, and the flavour just burst in your mouth!

 

Sauteed sea clam with ginger ($18) is quite a traditional dish. The clams are fresh and big, I personally like the ginder and basil fragrant very much.

 
Sauteed fresh oyster with scallions and garlic ($14) is a dish that goes very well with either rice or porridge because of its rich bean paste flavour. There are plentiful of fat and fresh oysters too!

 
Lean pork with soya sauce ($10) is pork stew sauteed in rich dark and light soy sauce. The sauce is slightly sweet, and although the meat is quite lean, the fat and skin layers still melted in my mouth. Yummy!

 
We also tried the Taiwanese-style rice with soya sauce lean pork ($5). It's pretty ordinary, but I like the way it is served with preserved vegetables. Quite nice as a whole!

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Abiteofeverything
814 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

Date : 2012-11-03
Time of visit : 9pm
What/Where : Guan Chee @ The Kitchen (Kou Fu) @ The Star Vista
What we had : Charsiew Rice
Average cost/pax : $4.50
Ambience : Very clean, there was a floor pipe leak and some guy in office wear w/tie (floor manager maybe) rolled up his sleeves and stepped in personally to attend to it before
Service : Fast/immediate.
Portion : Charsiew rice tasted great. a little steep for $4.50 as I often eat at $2.50/$3 stalls but I'm guessing it's due to the high rent. The meet is very sweet and tender.
Location : Buona Vista MRT connects to The Star Vista. Convenient. Lots of parking lots. Many varieties of food.
What's good in particular : No comments.
What's bad in particular : No comments.

ABiteOfEverything.com

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 03, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend