OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4652 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score  
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 16 to 20 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
iisjong
20 Review(s)
Level 2
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Fusion | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

For the full post, read: http://iisjong.blogspot.sg/2012/08/7adam-celebration-of-food-and-art.html ;)

Tucked away in Adam Park, I've wondered what this monochrome-themed place was every time my bus past it on my bus ride home from school. Initially, I thought that it was just another bungalow just like the others surrounding it just that it's on top of a hill.

7Adam is a Gallery-Restaurant that mix the worlds of art and food. It features the works of art by local and regional artists which the public can buy and bring home. At the same time, they also serve really yummy modern European cuisine that leave people begging for more.

Amuse Bouche

It's actually fried oysters! I like it because the gooey taste coming from the oyster was not very strong.

Black Truffle Broth

It has a very herbal taste. Truffle is actually a high grade mushroom. They took 2 days to soak it! For some miraculous reason, my sore throat that day seemed better because it's very soothing to the throat. I feel healthier!

House Cured Salmon

It's something like sashimi, just that it's not cooked. It's soft and very smooth; not too salty, just the way I like it! I have to add that the cream is lightly sweet and complements the salmon well.

Foie Gras

Now, to be honest I've never eaten foie gras before! This was pretty decent for a first timer like me. Pardon me if I sound very ignorant, but I was surprised that it's very, very soft! It looks like meat on the outside. Eat it with the biscuit and the sauce, and you have heaven in your mouth.

Unagi Pasta

When this dish was first laid on the table, my impression was: OMG IT SMELLS DAMN GOOD LAH! It's surprisingly really appetizing, the sauce was really good and unique. The unagi was soft and the noodles were very bouncy and "Q". I like how the chef added fish roe. It adds the fun side to the dish!

Beef Pasta

Like the Unagi Pasta, the noodles were bouncy and I love the addition of the fish roe. I like the meat because I am a meat eater, rawr!

Red Drum Popilotte

At first this dish wasn't cut in the middle, so for a minute I wondered: "What is this? Are we seriously going to eat paper?" until Adam cut open and revealed the fish inside. I learnt that the fish was wrapped up in paper so as to keep the taste of the fish after that. I am not really a big fan of fish, but it was quite flavourful!

Angus Tenderloin

I don't really eat beef like that, but this was not bad. According to the chef's theory, it is kept in boiling water of 55 degrees so that it won't be overcooked. It's not very hard because it's medium done. The vegetables you see there? It's a hybrid of broccoli and kai lan vegetable! Yes, definitely imported because it's hard to find these kind in Singapore.

Kurobuta Pork Belly

This is THE bomb! My favourite dish out of everything. It's the signature dish, and I can see why. The pork literally melts in your mouth! What sorcery is this! It is braised for 2 days, cooked in Japanese soy. You have to reserve in advance if you want to eat this. I LOVE THIS DISH TO BITS, ENOUGH SAID!

Chocolate Fondant

I have a sweet tooth, and I must have my desserts! I love all things chocolate and ice cream, so you can imagine my delight when this was served. The vanilla ice cream was really good, and the moment you cut the chocolate lava cake, out bursts out the chocolate!

Creme Brulee

The sweetness was just right, not overly sweet. It was very creamy and thick! It tasted a little bit like egg tarts I would say? There's this crispy layer on the top, I like!

Trio of Tiramisu

Lastly, we were served the tiramisu. This is definitely not your ordinary tiramisu! I'm not a fan of coffee, but I enjoyed eating this! Served in a martini glass, it was the chef's sudden creation. Very innovative, I must applaud! You have to dip the biscuit all the way down to taste the espresso.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Chocolate heaven Smile Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Went there for dessert. Before seating us the server had asked if we were there for dinner or dessert, supposedly to set the table.

Ordered 4 items.

Iced Chocolate:

 
Cannot remember the exact name but Apple Crumble:

 
Their cheesecake samplers:

 
Hot chocolate:

 
The taste and quality of the food served matches the price that we paid for it.

It was worth it for dessert. Shall try dinner next time!

 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
1 Review(s)
Level 1
Value-for-Money Lunch Set Smile Dec 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Omakase

Heard from my colleague that Epachi serve value-for-money lunch sets and decided to give it a shot together with my partner. Epachi is a Japanese restaurant that generally specializes in omakase though they do serve set lunch too. For lunch, you could either have the half omakase @ $68 or a choice of 8 different lunch sets. I had the tempura set while my partner had the saba set. The tempura set consisted of 2 pieces of pork & chicken each, a prawn and an oyster. The pork and chicken was fried in such a way it was crispy and remain moist and tender on the inside without being oily. Definitely stands out from the other Japanese restaurants that tends to over-fry their tempura causing the meat to be dry. For my partner, the serving of the saba was fresh and very generous. The set lunch cost around $24 and each set typically consists of 2 small appertizer, a salad, rice (sprinkled with salmon flakes), miso soup and desert of the day (a slice of rock melon). Definitely very value-for-money for the quality and quantity of food served. Service staff was attentive and he kept ensuring our cup of green tea was always full. Would definitely return back but this time to try the popular omakase! smile

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tempura Set
 
Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Blacktulip
155 Review(s)
Level 4
Beary nice bear paws! Smile Aug 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Chinese | Café | Stall / Kiosk | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
Nestled in the heart of where most youths in Singapore come together is a new kid on the block. Actually, I should say...new 'bear' on the block. No, not the real bears but close enough! They call it Bear Bites! This brand is oh-so-famous to those who frequent night markets in Taiwan (It was even featured in Taiwan variety programs). I was honored to be part of the guests for the opening on 27 Jul 2013 at *Scape. It was a rainy day but the rain did not douse out the excitement of both Bear Bites crews as well as hungry people like me.

 
Bear Bites started in Taiwan back in 2010. While on a holiday in Japan, the founder (Avery) chanced upon a unique fusion concept between Taiwanese steamed buns and Japanese cuisine. An East meets West concept was thus birthed when the idea of creative burger was created. With more than 10 branches across Taiwan within a short period of 3 years, it has not only proven itself to be a success story but a really delicious one too!
Joseph (one of the owners) preparing my burger

Joseph (one of the owners) preparing my burger

 
Ordering of the burger comes in steps. Yes, you have to follow the rules here. First you choose the meat. There are 2 options to choose from: Karaage Crispy Chicken and Oishi Fish Fillet. I went for the chicken. Step 2, you choose the cute looking pastel colored bear paw buns (they looked like stuff toys...I wouldn't mind having a pink bear paw cushion lol). Options include: Original Milk, Brown Sugar, Yam, Curry, Oat, Strawberry (seasonal) and Squid ink. I opted for milk. The last step was to choose the sauce namely: Mushroom, Sweet & Spicy Thai, Black Pepper, Tartar, Honey Mustard, Golden Cheese. I'm a big fan of mustard so you wouldn't have to guess twice for what I chose! As the burgers are prepared on the spot, mine came piping hot...which just fits right into the rainy weather. The picture above shows Joseph (one of the Singapore outlet owners) making my burger.

 
I was told that the buns were flown in all the way from Taiwan. To me, this would mean that it is the original recipe. The bun basically taste like chinese man tou, except that it's much softer and slightly sweetened. The thick tomato and lettuce were very fresh and crunchy. The best part of course is the meat! It was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Despite the fact that my honey mustard sauce was spread sparingly across the meat, it didn't soften the crispiness.

 
My next try was the Chocolate Gelato. This time, I went for the brown sugar bun to compliment my chocolate ice cream. Comes served in little bear paws that is of smaller size than the chicken burger bun. It's a good size for kids. Maybe they should consider having Baby Bear Bites (aka. Happy meal!). Nonetheless, the chocolate was rich and very filling!

Do note that Bear Bites do not sell fizzy drinks, they only have Pokka bottled drinks for health reasons. And I also need to add that the buns are made of organic ingredients.

Please do not mistaken this with Bear Paw Burger in Malaysia. They might look the same but the taste is quite different. Bear Bites comes without the sogginess. Look for the red bear print lantern!

 
One thing to add, they might want to consider printing 2 receipts. One for the crews to make the order and one for the customer to keep. Coz people with gold fish memory wouldn't really remember what they ordered. So when orders were ready, they didn't know it's theirs tongue

And here's to many more bear paw prints in Singapore! Photo below showing the 2 owners (Left: Avery and Right: Joseph)

 


 
Recommended Dish(es):  karaage chicken
 
Date of Visit: Jul 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
gogofoodie
739 Review(s)
Level 4
Best Ice Cream Joint Smile Apr 19, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

 

 

 
So far still the best ice cream shop compared to udders, scoopz, marble slab, etc, considering the flavours available and the price charged. Smallest size at $3.40 for 2 different flavours; they constantly come up with new flavours for customers to try, even had a 'mystery' flavour. If you happen to go during weekdays from 3-5pm, for every waffle, there will be a free scoop of ice cream; very good a deal. Milk ice cream has almond bits in it, and granny's favourite has cookie dough, both are highly recommended
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Granny's Favourite,Milk Ice Cream,Yuzu
 
Date of Visit: Apr 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend