OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4652 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score  
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 36 to 40 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
CelestialDelish
55 Review(s)
Level 3
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Seafood | Buffet

Full Review & Photos @ http://www.celestialdelish.com/2013/05/spicy-thai-at-the-line.html

During the promotions, diners will be spoil with the usual diverse spread of international cuisine whilst enjoy the specially crafted spicy Thai set menu. Prices start at $72 per adult and $36 per child.

- Tom Yum Mojitos
A complimentary shot of this drink will be served during dinner. Diners can order the big glass @ $10++.

 
The drink is filled with gracious Thai flavours of lemongrass, lime, chillis, mint leaf etc. A sophisticated ways to bring out the sweetness, tangy and hot (spicy) all in a drink. Spicy but very morish, it leave your taste buds tingling in expectation.

- Khaotang Nga Thong (fried rice crackers and assorted chutneys)

 
Fried rice crackers was served with 3 Thai chutneys. The condiment in a bowl is made of pork and prawn, a little sweet and wet. The next condiment is made of salted egg, obviously it will b salty but not overly. Last but not least, Thai chili jam with tamarind is detectable yet mild. The assorted chutneys offer a delicious combination of sweet, salty and spicy to the crackers.

 
- Lab Gai
The small stature has a deep and relatively spicy savory flavours that mingle beautifully with a fresh taste of mint leaf. Wrapped with thinly slice cucumber that add a little crunch and cooling effect to the palate.

- Yam Woon Sen
The glass noodles absorb the spicy, sour and salty flavour very nicely. It's more pungent than the other food, at the same time refreshing.

- Yam Som O
Pomelo sections bursting with juice, savory dried prawns balanced with bright flavor notes from lime and tamarind, and finished with the satisfying scent and crunch of shallot flakes. The salad offers a delicious combination of sweet, salty, sour, spicy and a tad bitterness (from the pomelo) as minor accents to the flavours.

- Kaeng Khiew Wan Gai (green curry with chicken and eggplant)

 
Fragrant spices to create a rich creamy green curry with chunks of tender chicken and eggplant. Thou it was a little too salty, it was still delicious with a mild curry flavour.

- Khao Niew Mamuang (sticky rice with mango)

 
A sweet, creamy and slightly salty coconut cream complement the sweet mango and sticky rice very well.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Abiteofeverything
814 Review(s)
Level 4
Shi Wei Tian @ 39 Joo Chiat Place Smile Nov 12, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Peranakan / Nonya | Restaurant | Seafood | Kids-Friendly

Date : 2012-11-11
Time of visit : 12pm
What/Where : Shi Wei Tian @ 39 Joo Chiat Place
What we had : KL Hokkien Noodles,Chao Tar Bee Hoon,Signature Guinness Stout Pork Ribs,Signature Home-make Tofu,Signature Golden Pumpkin,Chai Poh Fish,Herbal Drunken Chicken Soup,Salted Egg Crab
Average cost/pax : Open Rice Makan Hunt sponsored. Didn't check.
Ambience : Well, Joo Chiat has little trees/wind so I'm guessing that's the reason this area is always hot as hell, but when we first stepped into the place, the fan/aircon combination made all the dining difference, you could even feel the "wall" of hot air whenever the glass doors open but staff quickly close the doors to maintain cool temperature. Too bad there's an 8 photo upload limit otherwise I got more to post. The ambience is excellent and brings you back to a memory lane of vinyls/vintage items/70s/80s/90s, Vinyl player, foot powered sewing machines, typewriter etc. It's the youth of uncle/aunties and the museum of the "good ol days" for the youth/young. Family after family comes in for a nice gathering as well as those business men dining at this location. Place is clean as well.
Service : Staff was attentive and responsive in clearing tables and making room for more "ho liao" as well as ensuring our glass drinks doesn't stay empty for long.
Portion :

 
KL Hokkien Noodles - this is my first time eating this "udon-like" noodle, it's very soft and the sauce is just nice. not too salty nor plain.

 
Chao Tar Bee Hoon - This caught my attention, it's very "dry" (ah boh, chao tar mah..) , "bitter" (chao tar) , and surprisingly "sour" (from the lime) . I didn't understand the concept behind it at first, but after when the pork ribs and the golden pumpkin came in, the combined taste is very appetizing!

 
Signature Guinness Stout Pork Ribs - Perfect. Taste Smell Texture. Went so well with the Chao Tar Bee Hoon.
Average

Average

 
Signature Home-make Tofu - Tofu was normal, the fried mushroom on top had this weird taste like you "overused the cooking oil" to fry other stuff then fry this. Could be an isolated incident cos I think the other OpenRicers may have enjoyed it more than I did.

 
Signature Golden Pumpkin - Again. Perfect. Crispy on the outside and satisfying salt (egg) and sweet (pumpkin) on the inside. At the end of the makan, more than 30 mins upon being laid on the table under aircon+fan there were a few left , I washed my hands from eating the crab and got back to eating it again, surprisingly, it still tastes great / crispy.

 
Chai Poh Fish - The fish is fresh, crispy , tender and not over cooked, the sauce isn't overpowering like some places really abuse their "fish sauce" inaccurately like I'd be trying to eat the non-sauce-soaked parts or avoid eating the fish all together.

 
Herbal Drunken Chicken Soup - the soup had a light refreshing taste and the chicken meat is very tender. The "oil" on top looks intimidating at first but after a few sips it was fine.
Average

Average

 
Salted Egg Crab - Generous use of the salted egg here. Taste is alright, the only disappointment here is "shell big but meat small".

Side note - Lime juice drink was great too, good for digestion/detox, so can keep on eating.

Location : Those not driving, the nearest MRT is Eunos then it's a quite a little walk in. It'll be hot mostly, so bring an umbrella and a makan mate to chit chat on the way with. those driving - Parking opposite at the public carpark where the temple is, Don't play play, the summon auntie here damn on the ball , trust me. Put an hour or two coupon and spend the good money on the food.
What's good in particular : Guinness Stout Pork Ribs and Signature Golden Pumpkin
What's bad in particular : A little ulu for those not living in the area or convenient mode of transport I guess.

Thank you OpenRice for organising the Makan Hunt event!

ABiteOfEverything.com
 
Date of Visit: Nov 11, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
l3ernarcl
91 Review(s)
Level 3
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

It's Restaurant Week in Singapore and it offers a unique chance to patronize fine dining spots that you might avoid normally due to the price tags. It was a happy coincidence that Salt Grill & Sky Bar by Luke Magan was one of the participating restaurants.

The first thing that anyone would feel about the restaurant even before seeing any food, would be that touch of exclusivity. A private elevator that went straight to level 55 of ION Orchard and the bird's eye view of the Orchard shopping belt that the lofty height afforded were just perks that you might not get elsewhere.

During this promotional period, there is a surprise 3-course menu designed by Salt Grill & Sky Bar, with 3 choices to choose from for Entree and Main Course and I chose 'glass' Sydney crab omelette with miso mustard broth and Grilled spatchcock with parsnip puree, grape and currant dressing respectively.

The former was really delectable - the juicy crab flesh ensconced in a fluffy omelette, drizzled liberally with a savoury miso broth was literally a flavour explosion on the palate. The grilled spatchcock wasn't too shabby either, with a definite fragrance to the meat that you wouldn't get with chicken, served with a golden brown crispy skin and yet still tender and moist on the inside.

Dessert was a winner with me as well. I had the restaurant's signature dessert, the Liquorice Parfait, liquorice flavoured custard served with freshly squeezed lime juice, candied lime and fragrant, crispy wafers. The 2 intense flavours of liquorice and lime blended to give titillating freshness on the palate after the meal.

 

 

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Glass Sydney Crab Omelette,Liquorice Parfait
 
Date of Visit: Oct 09, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
155 Review(s)
Level 4
Yummy Bak Kut Teh Smile Jul 24, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Bak Kut Teh

My dad had told me previously that you could refill the soup for this Bak Kut Teh and was all thumbs-up about it! After procrastinating for so long, I decided to check it out myself.

The location of this mysterious Bak Kut Teh was really secluded! From Marsiling lane, you have to walk all the way in and bypass the 1st coffeeshop (almost thought the mysterious dish was non-existent!). When you get there, you'll know u're in for a good thing! Cos' almost every table has ordered from the Bak Kut Teh stall (take note of the claypots!).

I went straight for my order, and I was served very quickly. On first look, it looks pleasant since I can see greens - lettuce and a few pieces of Taupok (so much for being estatic in my previous review on seeing 1 piece of Taupok in the soup!). I tasted the soup first, and it was ordinary (yes, anti-climax right?). The dark sauce with chilli padi looked good, so I dipped the rib in it and tasted it. It was so good!!! A tinge of bitterness from the chilli padi seeds, another spoonful of soup and there you go! The soup tasted SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!! So, now I know! All these must go together - soup, rib, sauce and whoala! Hell of a Pork Rib Soup!!! And best part of it all, you could RE-FILL the soup!!!!!!!! How many stalls allows this nowadays?!?! And another interesting ingredient in the soup - chopped button mushrooms! I love mushrooms!!!

I ordered a side dish too - Preserved vegetables. Surprisingly, this was a sweet dish. A twist to the rich taste of Bak Kut Teh!

Just a word of advice, if you're visiting this place, try and get a seat outside the coffeeshop. I believe location was a factor cos' I was drenched in sweat after dinner (I sat inside).

Bak Kut Teh + Preserved Vegetables - $6
Self-Create Bak Kut Teh Meal

Self-Create Bak Kut Teh Meal

 
Bak Kut Teh

Bak Kut Teh

 
Bak Kut Teh

Bak Kut Teh

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bak Kut Teh, Preserved Vegetables
 
Date of Visit: Jul 24, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
chefquak
333 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Zi Char | Kids-Friendly

I had our largest G20 gathering last evening at ah orh at jalan bukit merah on 20.2.2014. smile

we had 23pax on 3 tables, a meeting (or eating!) record!

ah orh had mixed reviews & mostly dated. most thought it was expensive for the food (it may still be probably but it often depends on food ordered). anyhow there was a deal.com offer & the organiser bought 3 vouchers of S$150 worth at S$97.50 each – 1 voucher was allowed for each table. :-)

some friends went early to order the dishes. we had in total 9 dishes & the cost came to S$23+ all-in (about S$180+ per table) after redeeming the vouchers, so it was in fact very good value-for-money even considering that we did not order the usual teochew pomfret, cold crab etc.

there was deep-fried fish skin as table starter. pretty good!

#1 the braised duck platter (top photo & above) was good – moist, flavourful. i would say as good as imperial treasure teochew & better than muliangzai liang kee & chui huay lim. :-) the lor bah (braised belly pork was good too.

#2 fishmaw soup was tasty, but maybe just average. the one beng thin we had recently was substantially better.

#3 the ter kar tan (pig trotter jelly) was very good – firm, flavourful. there was also good chilli & “seng ni cho” 蒜泥醋 dip. this was as good as chui huay lim, imperial treasure & crystal jade.

#4 the yam basket was i supposed really excellent for this dish – yam was tasty & very crisp outside yet “sang” inside & very good combination in texture & taste with the fillings. a very good dish though not yam basket not my favourite. :-)

#5 the kailan with ti poh was competent. vegetable was fresh & crunchy. the ti poh (a teochew favourite condiment not so often seen) added to the attraction but perhaps the wok hae was kind of lacking a bit.

#6 not sure about this teck kia fish (竹仔鱼) dish, certainly competent but the fish had more bones than meat. at kok sen, they used some fish head & added chunky fish meat which worked well to accompany the black bean sauce & was much better overall by comparison.

#7 hae chor was quite ok, competent, nothing special.
nee

#8 orh luah was pretty good, large fleshy oysters.

#9 orh nee was better than expected, tasty, i liked it no pumpkin though. :-)

company & fellowship were the key in our get-togethers of course, but we did come to eat & overall the food was quite good & the price of $23pax very reasonable after the deal.com offer, not much different from say muliangzai liang kee, and food we had here were better. :-) w/o the offer, it would cost about $30pax which was still not a bad deal, about same as what we had at shin yeh at our last 20pax dinner.
Kailan with ti poh

Kailan with ti poh

 
Fishmaw soup

Fishmaw soup

 
Teck kia fish with bitter gourd

Teck kia fish with bitter gourd

 
Hae chor

Hae chor

 
Orh luah

Orh luah

 
Deep-fried fish skin

Deep-fried fish skin

 
Braised duck

Braised duck

 
Yam basket

Yam basket

 
Ter kar tan

Ter kar tan

 
Orh nee

Orh nee

 


See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/02/21/great-teochew-food-23pax-dinner-get-together-ah-orh-on-20feb2014/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ter kar tan, Braised duck, Yam basket, Orh nee
 
Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $23

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend