OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4652 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
eatthatpie
1 Review(s)
Level 1
Good food bad service Cry Apr 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki

As mentioned in the title, Azmaya provides good food but the service was horrible. Firstly, there was no air condition in the restaurant. Secondly, the place was hot and humid. Thirdly, wrong dishes were sent to us at least thrice. To make things worse, we waited for almost an hour for the broth to be served to us with all the vegetables and meat thawing on our table. That being said, the only saving grace is that the servings are generous and the wagyu beef was good. 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
eschee
9 Review(s)
Level 2
Save the calories Cry Feb 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

Located in hip cafe enclave – Jalan Besar and helmed by blogger Peggy and friend, the cafe has a young and trendy vibe. Quirky decor, mostly of their mascot – Sir Antonio greets you as you step into the bright and spacious cafe.

 

 

 
Tiramisu ($7.50): We went with the staff’s recommendation of Horlicks, Ovaltine and Milo (only one shown here since they looked the same) flavours in the end. The tiramisu came in a cute jar which was rather interesting, but unfortunately, it didn’t live up to its looks. All three were lacking in the taste department, and it felt like the tiramisu had been made and left in the jar for quite sometime.

Sorry to say, but friendly service alone isn't enough for for my friends and I to return for a second visit.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
x2dino
192 Review(s)
Level 4
A Disastrous Dining Experience Cry Sep 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Seafood | Steaks and Grills

Baked Spatchcock with Red Wine Jus

Baked Spatchcock with Red Wine Jus

 
Chicken Gumbo

Chicken Gumbo

 
Iberico Ham, Cantaloupe Jello and Petite Salad

Iberico Ham, Cantaloupe Jello and Petite Salad

 
Mango Mille Crepe with Chocolate Sorbet

Mango Mille Crepe with Chocolate Sorbet

 
Mullet Confit with Light Lemongrass Emulsion

Mullet Confit with Light Lemongrass Emulsion

 
We were extremely disappointed with our visit to The Dunearn, both in terms of the food quality and especially so for their unacceptable service level.

Upon entering, we were quickly ushered to our seats by a grumpy looking waitress who was rather impatient with us when we queried on some of the food items. Her answers were mostly a repetition of the information shown on the menu and provided little or no value-addedness to us.

The starters were served pretty shortly but where's the bread?! This is one item which should have been served almost immediately upon seated at any reputable fine dining restaurant. We found this rather strange and requested if we could have some bread to go along with the soup we ordered. And guess what, to our horror, the waitress actually replied, "NO BREAD" when we saw her serving a basket of bread to a Caucasian couple just moments ago. This is simply atrocious and we demanded to see the manager regarding this. The manager took some time to attend to us (with a cold basket of bread in hand) and came up with some lame excuse that the bread was not ready previously to pacify us, like seriously?!

Here's a snap shot of our orders that day. Don't be fooled by the visually appealing presentation as we found the quality to be befitting of the ambience and price we're paying for. Looks can be deceiving.

Iberico Ham, Cantaloupe Jello and Petite Salad
One of the better dishes served that meal. I found the salad and fruits jello to be pretty refreshing and complemented the ham well.

Chicken Gumbo
A disaster. The soup was quite salty with tiny bits of chicken skin (where's the meat this time round?!) floating in it. We were expecting something more hearty and were quite disappointed with what was served.

Baked Spatchcock with Red Wine Jus
A decent dish but nothing impressive about it. It somehow seemed slightly overcooked as the meat was tougher than usual.

Mullet Confit with Light Lemongrass Emulsion
The fish was well cooked but I could hardly taste any hint of lemongrass (one of my personal favourite scents) at all! This dish should have been more aptly named "Mullet Confit with Cream Sauce"...

Mango Mille Crepe with Chocolate Sorbet
Another disaster, period. The Mille Crepe was frozen and had this weird refrigerator taste which was a major turn off. The Sorbet was no much better as it was totally icy and hard. In retrospect, this dessert might just jolly well have been in cold storage for as long as we could image!

Overall, this will be our first and very last visit. Disappointing food plus frustrating service – couldn't image what more could go wrong!
 
Date of Visit: Sep 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $42(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
CelestialDelish
55 Review(s)
Level 3
alluring nostalgia interior  OK Apr 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café

For full reviews, please visit www.celestialdelish.com/2014/04/the-awesome-cafe.html
My Awesome Cafe

My Awesome Cafe

 
A new hipster cafe settling within a pre-war conservation shophouse that used to house Telok Ayer Chung Hwa Free Clinic was open in February 2014.

 
The industrial theme cafe has high ceiling structure with cement walls and floor, big bulbs and metallic fans each generate soft wind that renders an ambient of sitting in an open air environment.

Pineapple Crunch @ $8.00

 
Fresh pineapple blends with crunch ice. Refreshing, rich and soft, what is missing is the sweet scent (maybe due to the season).

Latte @ $4.50

 
Blend of beans from Colombia, Brazil and Sumatra.

Spicy Beef Sandwich @ $14.00

 
The spices mixed in the beef are bought from Thailand. It’s tangy and leaving a light note of spice tickling your palate. Salad dressing is a homemade recipe from Franck’s grandma. The bread was a little firmer and less soft than I would have liked. Maybe we had spend too much on picture taking =(

My Awesome Salad @ $15.00

 
Terrine of tiny shreds of tender, succulent duck melded together, with generous mesclun, salty smoked salmon and herbs chicken breast (that is dry). Loves the freshly ground basil pesto on the bread, then again, the bread was a little firmer and less soft than I would have liked. Finding it difficult to chew, perhaps we had spend too much time picture taking (again).

Quiche ¼ + Salad @ $9.50

 
The savoury crust was lightly buttery, crisp and moist, with a filling of shredded carrot and creamy egg custard. It will be irresistible if there is some oozing cheese to go along.

Upside Down Mango Cake @ $5.00

 
Homemade dessert served on vintage amber glassware. Very moist and soft but too sweet for my liking.Brownie @ $5.00

 
Not the fudgey brownie, more to a cakey texture. Dry cracked crust, slightly moist with a deep chocolate flavor. These rich and chocolaty are homemade too!
 
Date of Visit: Apr 01, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $24(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
1 Review(s)
Level 1
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

madNew in town waiting time and queue is crazy~ I order 4 signature noodles at $5 each and 2 fishball and tofu skin soup at $4 each for takeaway add 40¢~ To mi the noodle not bad but not worth the 1hr + I waited for. When I left around almost 6:30pm the queue was still there but noodle already out of stock. Place is small and clean. Will try again when  the queuing craze is over~




Kin Kin Signature Noodle~

Kin Kin Signature Noodle~

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 25, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend