OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4652 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice   Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 46 to 50 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
urbancityexplorer
87 Review(s)
Level 3
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2014/02/24/wheelers-yard-28-lorong-ampas/

The hype over the locality of this place, an industrial space functioning both as a bike atelier and a cafe at the same time, Wheeler’s Yard is a place where you can get unique bicycles while also having western food items and drinks!

 

 

 

 

The food menu is rather extensive here.

 

And the drinks menu! Rather simple.

 

The Latte ($5) tasted ok with the right amount of milk added. Nothing too great.

 
The Big Breakfast ($14.90) is served with a wholemeal bread toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrown & garden salad. This is way better than the coffee although not overwhelming as well. The toast was rather nicely toasted and crusty. The scrambled eggs are nice. The bacon is great. The sausages and the hashbrown are average. The garden salad is also not too bad. In overall, this could have been better.

 

If you live or is around the Balestier area, this place should be considered to have your meal (for its ambience; do not expect too much from the food and drinks)
 
Date of Visit: Feb 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
spherepiece
422 Review(s)
Level 4
Prawn Aglio Olio Smile Feb 24, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

 

 

 
For the westies in Singapore, all the dining hype that marries convenience, variety and quality is congregated at Jurong East. There are plenty of restaurants to try with JCube, JEM, IMM and Westgate! This time, MADO Cafe caught my eye and J & I decided to go in and give it a try. While it is famous for desserts, we needed to settle dinner as well. So - this review will be on their mains. Might come back for their desserts next time though! smile MADO Cafe's Cream of mushroom soup tastes extremely similar to Pizza Hut's campbell soup. It is not diluted, but definitely far from the thick velvety sort of mushroom soup. I was craving for something spicy, so why not Prawn Aglio Olio since their pastas look pretty popular? It turned out to be quite good on an overall. The garlic-oil base is very fragrant and the chilli flakes made it quite spicy but still within an enjoyable range. The pasta is cooked al dente but a little less salty than I think it should be. J ordered the Roasted Beef Set which she found quite tough to cut! Taste-wise it's okay but not impressive... not recommended if you're trying this. The service is quite good here smile

For more food adventures, follow me at http://spherepiece.blogspot.sg/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn Aglio Olio
 
Date of Visit: Feb 21, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
chefquak
333 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Zi Char | Kids-Friendly

I had our largest G20 gathering last evening at ah orh at jalan bukit merah on 20.2.2014. smile

we had 23pax on 3 tables, a meeting (or eating!) record!

ah orh had mixed reviews & mostly dated. most thought it was expensive for the food (it may still be probably but it often depends on food ordered). anyhow there was a deal.com offer & the organiser bought 3 vouchers of S$150 worth at S$97.50 each – 1 voucher was allowed for each table. :-)

some friends went early to order the dishes. we had in total 9 dishes & the cost came to S$23+ all-in (about S$180+ per table) after redeeming the vouchers, so it was in fact very good value-for-money even considering that we did not order the usual teochew pomfret, cold crab etc.

there was deep-fried fish skin as table starter. pretty good!

#1 the braised duck platter (top photo & above) was good – moist, flavourful. i would say as good as imperial treasure teochew & better than muliangzai liang kee & chui huay lim. :-) the lor bah (braised belly pork was good too.

#2 fishmaw soup was tasty, but maybe just average. the one beng thin we had recently was substantially better.

#3 the ter kar tan (pig trotter jelly) was very good – firm, flavourful. there was also good chilli & “seng ni cho” 蒜泥醋 dip. this was as good as chui huay lim, imperial treasure & crystal jade.

#4 the yam basket was i supposed really excellent for this dish – yam was tasty & very crisp outside yet “sang” inside & very good combination in texture & taste with the fillings. a very good dish though not yam basket not my favourite. :-)

#5 the kailan with ti poh was competent. vegetable was fresh & crunchy. the ti poh (a teochew favourite condiment not so often seen) added to the attraction but perhaps the wok hae was kind of lacking a bit.

#6 not sure about this teck kia fish (竹仔鱼) dish, certainly competent but the fish had more bones than meat. at kok sen, they used some fish head & added chunky fish meat which worked well to accompany the black bean sauce & was much better overall by comparison.

#7 hae chor was quite ok, competent, nothing special.
nee

#8 orh luah was pretty good, large fleshy oysters.

#9 orh nee was better than expected, tasty, i liked it no pumpkin though. :-)

company & fellowship were the key in our get-togethers of course, but we did come to eat & overall the food was quite good & the price of $23pax very reasonable after the deal.com offer, not much different from say muliangzai liang kee, and food we had here were better. :-) w/o the offer, it would cost about $30pax which was still not a bad deal, about same as what we had at shin yeh at our last 20pax dinner.
Kailan with ti poh

Kailan with ti poh

 
Fishmaw soup

Fishmaw soup

 
Teck kia fish with bitter gourd

Teck kia fish with bitter gourd

 
Hae chor

Hae chor

 
Orh luah

Orh luah

 
Deep-fried fish skin

Deep-fried fish skin

 
Braised duck

Braised duck

 
Yam basket

Yam basket

 
Ter kar tan

Ter kar tan

 
Orh nee

Orh nee

 


See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/02/21/great-teochew-food-23pax-dinner-get-together-ah-orh-on-20feb2014/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ter kar tan, Braised duck, Yam basket, Orh nee
 
Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $23

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
eschee
9 Review(s)
Level 2
Save the calories Cry Feb 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

Located in hip cafe enclave – Jalan Besar and helmed by blogger Peggy and friend, the cafe has a young and trendy vibe. Quirky decor, mostly of their mascot – Sir Antonio greets you as you step into the bright and spacious cafe.

 

 

 
Tiramisu ($7.50): We went with the staff’s recommendation of Horlicks, Ovaltine and Milo (only one shown here since they looked the same) flavours in the end. The tiramisu came in a cute jar which was rather interesting, but unfortunately, it didn’t live up to its looks. All three were lacking in the taste department, and it felt like the tiramisu had been made and left in the jar for quite sometime.

Sorry to say, but friendly service alone isn't enough for for my friends and I to return for a second visit.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Stepinfood
38 Review(s)
Level 3
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

I paid my visit to saveur during a weekend Sunday dinner. It's always crowded and long queue during lunch and dinner time. I was lucky to get seat because I was early for dinner around 5.30pm. They have a high tech reservation system with iPad setting. 

The place is quite small and the seating were quite narrow. But it's fine for me as long as the food are good.

The food offered are good and cheap. We tried their duck confit, angel pasta, and salmon which are all tasty.

The duck confit came with homemade mashed potato, sauteed shitake mushroom, orange segments & orange infused natural juice. It was perfectly done.

The Pan-seared sea bass came with saute potato with crabmeat, french beans & caper vinagrette. It was tasty too.

The angel pasta is a signature of Saveur's, pasta tossed with chilli oil, fine-chopped Japanese konbu
& sakura ebi with minced pork sauce. I love the taste.
Sea bass

Sea bass

 
Shirley Temple

Shirley Temple

 
SAVEUR'S PASTA

SAVEUR'S PASTA

 
Duck Confit

Duck Confit

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Duck confit,angel pasta,and salmon
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend