OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4652 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice   Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 41 to 45 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
Sam Goh
1 Review(s)
Level 1
Delicious Korean BBQ Dinner Smile Aug 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Buffet | Korean BBQ

On 280814, we were being invited to K.Cook Korean BBQ Buffet for dinner.

Long queue outside, inside is quite cozy, crowded with people & seating space too near to each other).

Food display counters were arranged in a square corner.

There were 4 sections:

- Drinks & staples:
soft drinks, soup/stew of the day (empty), plain rice, Korean pancake, fried Chicken Wings.

- Cooked food:
Stir-fried Ricecake, fried Glass Noodles, Spicy Pork Bulgogi, Bossam-Boiled Pork with Herb.

- Raw condiments & 10 types of meats:
Kimchi, pickled radish, onion, spring onion, chilli, spring-onion kimchi, miso, Korean dipping soy, garlic, lettuce, Squid, Prawn, Beef Plate Eye, Marinated Beef Ribeye, Marinated Beef Shortrib, Pork Collar, Marinated Pork Collar, Pork Belly, Chicken, Spicy Chicken, Beef Bulgogoi & Chicken Bulgogoi.

- Fruits, Salads & Ice Water

I Like:
I'm a meat person, so I like the meat section very much. I like the chicken the most as it's lightly marinated & did not taste too heavy, it's also very tender & a little sweet.
I also like to eat the prawns & the squid. They are kept fresh in the buckets with ice, of medium size & so can be cooked very fast.

Can be improved:
Too cramp among the seats, the grill pan is too big, staff need to clear empty plates faster, refills were a little slow & no soup.


I Suggest:

Ice-cream to cool down the heat.


Fun Part:

Our table enjoyed the food so much that we didn't notice the gas had ran out until we see how come the pork took so long to cook. Haha..
Flyer

Flyer

 
Discounts

Discounts

 
Menu Wall

Menu Wall

 
Big Grill Pan from Korea

Big Grill Pan from Korea

 
Meat

Meat

 
More Meat

More Meat

 
Chicken Wings

Chicken Wings

 
Overall:
8/10
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Wings,Meat,More Meat
 
Date of Visit: Aug 28, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
mycc
217 Review(s)
Level 4
Good food with great service! Smile Aug 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/07/sg-lokal-good-food-with-great-service.html for full review.

With raving reviews of Sarnies and having their head barista over at the still-pretty-new Lokal, we thought we had to give it a shot. Typically with disappointing food at cafes, this promised otherwise with one of their partners who was the founding chef of Tetsuya's in Sydney.

 
Despite being the new kid on the block, the people behind it have gotten themselves pretty popular with the snaking queues even as we reached at close to 2pm. I was personally impressed that despite the crowd, service hadn't been compromised and the dishes came up pretty quick.

 
A cheery start to any breakfast, we chose the fruits salad over poached pear for the variety in it. We loved the toasted granola that came with a solid crunch, perfectly paired with light yoghurt drizzled over and the mix of fruits for that slightly sweet touch.

Chunky Chips ($8)
(photo at the background)
While I'm a super fries fan, this was quite a disappointing one for me. I found it a tad too bland, and the accompanying dip didn't quite go with it.

 
This was a simple one done right. Perfectly toasted sandwiches with a good combination of smooth scrambled egg and light parmesan, with distinct mushroom taste that didn't overpower. Each ingredient played a good complement, simple comfort food great to go with any meal!

 
Well-marinated for a tender touch, it was a combination with caramelised onions for that pairing of savoury and sweet in one mouthful. The rye bread slice was a tad too dense that it got slightly messy trying to cut it up.

 
This was supposed to be served on panini but they'd ran out of it hence served on sourdough for ours. Refreshing with its lighter flavours and tender soft chicken shreds, a simple sandwich paired with the right crunchiness of the pancetta and sweet juicy tomatoes. We loved how it was simple looking, yet packed on textures and well-marinated. Great if you're looking for a light refreshing sandwich!

 
This was a winner with tender pork belly and evenly distributed omelette for that strong egg-y taste throughout. There was just a very subtle hint of chilli jam but overall taste was a hit with well-balanced flavours.

 
A pretty ordinary dish in my opinion, it was presented as what was described. Nothing spectacular but all nicely done, it was a simple dish for smoked fish lovers.

 
Desserts are the favourite course of our meal, and this was a promising one served with hokey pokey ice cream - vanilla ice cream with honeycomb toffee bits. I was expecting crunchy bits within for that added level of texture, though it turned out to be sticky bits. The ice cream was well-balanced in its sweetness, paired perfectly with the caramelized banana slices on top and a soft moist cake. It would have been even better if the cake was served slightly warmer for that contrast and softness.

 
This was a clear winner and we almost couldn't get enough of it! Okay, this isn't meant for sharing. Light and fluffy warm pudding with generous sauce drizzled on top, it was sheer indulgence yet balanced in sweetness so that you don't feel jelat (or overwhelmed). Paired with the good old vanilla ice cream, this was classic at its very best!

 
Coffee has always been a subjective one and this was a hit with me. I like how it was smooth and velvety with a robust flavour. There's also a choice of beans while you place orders and my friend, a serious coffee drinker liked the medium roast that was slightly heavier.

 
You know how some cafes simply do self-service or are lacking severely in service given how packed and understaffed they are? I was impressed by how they were still a full service cafe given the crowd, without any part of it being compromised. We had our tables cleaned up prior to our desserts served, and having their staff checking in on us from time to time on how we found the food. It made us feel that they actually do care about their customers' feedback despite how busy/popular they were, and added a nice touch to a satisfying meal.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sticky Date Pudding (S$12)
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
spherepiece
422 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

 

 

 

 


A semblance of a Japanese bakery, the latest kid to shift into the old Tiong Bahru neighbourhood just a week ago is The Tastemaker Store. You might effortlessly mistake the entrance as an office door or a storage room. If I were to choose a word to describe my first impression of entering this bakery, it would be tranquil. The ambience inspires an unhurried, lazy afternoon.

 

 

 

 

 

[IMG:10

For the mains, they offer toast sets like Lemon Curd Toast Sets and Kaya Toast Sets, as well as Burger Sets like my choice of Ham & Cheese Burger. The spread is reminiscent of old-school flavours with a whiff of contemporary style and an assembly put together from ingredients at Cold Storage. Unimpressive but filling, The Tastemaker need to up their ante in the increasingly saturated local cafe industry in the food department.

 

 


Their cakes were relatively more outstanding: the freshly baked rose cake and gula melaka cake managed to hold the desserts fort together. The rose flavour was rich and full bodied. The gula melaka cake was on the drier side, with grainy sugar scattered throughout the cake but was overall still enjoyable. If you have to choose: go for the rose cake!
The Tastemaker Store is only a week old, and from what I observe, are still on its unsteady steps to becoming a full-fledged cafe. The service staff are really humble, friendly and welcoming, giving The Tastemaker a delightful comfortable vibe. Although the food isn't much to be excited about, they are on their way to releasing local selections, including homemade Yam Cake, Laksa and Chicken Rice.

For full review: http://www.amiehu.com/2014/06/the-tastemaker.html#more

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 06, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
spherepiece
422 Review(s)
Level 4
Relaunch party food menu Smile May 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Bars/Lounges

Before I could start on how jealous I am of people who stay in the East, Kakis Bistro Bar pops out and tilts the scale over officially on Singapore's cool places to hang out. Located at a stone's throw away from Changi Village, home to classic hawker food and cafes, Kakis Bistro Bar promises a night of in-house specials, drinks, music in a forest-like setting with no GST/ service charges.

 
Booze time! I like Asahi better than most others like Tiger Beer/ Heineken/ Carlsberg, but guess what? Meichers White Beer tastes even better - sweeter with a light tangy taste. Although I don't normally like beer (vodka is my preferred poison) but I guess Meichers is not bad too! During Happy Hour (4 - 8pm), you can get Melchers/ Asahi/ at 5 bottles for $40; Corona at 5 bottles for $45, and Kronenbourg 1664 at 5 bottles for $35! Guinness Draught goes at $14/bottle and $24/2 bottles. This is much cheaper than most bars! There are also other alcohols available.

 
Onto the food menu! The first dish was the enticing Prawn Alioli with Homegrown Lemongrass & Coriander ($9.80), lightly stirred in garlic and oil. This dish is said to be the top-favourite of the bar, and I could understand why! The prawns are juicy, springy and fresh - really addictive. The best part is that the herbs used are entirely grown and harvested in the agricultural farm near the bar, which means that there are no preservatives used at all.

 
The next dish served was the Stir-Fry Button Mushrooms with Homegrown Kaffir Leaf, Shallots and White Wine ($8.50). This dish was very mouth-watering as the kaffir leaves jazzed up the taste and made an otherwise ordinary dish more interesting. Nevertheless, I couldn't taste the white wine at all and this dish could also be taken to the next level by adding different types of mushrooms like portobello.

 
The third dish was the Fries Addiction ($6) which tasted more like McDonalds shaker fries with overly piquant chilli seasoning - it can potentially cause a sore throat when eaten in excess. It might be better to offer thick-cut truffle fries on the menu instead which would be more popular with the mainstream crowd.

 

 
These little triangular-shaped tapas are the Chicken Quesadilla with Homemade Salsa ($10). Normally served with tomato salsa and sour cream dip, these quesadillas are stuffed with chicken breast meat seasoned with pepper and salt. I found this quite tasty but it would better if the fillings are more generous.

 
Kakis Bistro Bar also has their version of Traditional Fish & Chips ($17) - a dish I was truly quite impressed with. I've had a fair share of eating lackluster fish & chips, but this is on a league of its own. The fish is very tender on the inside, only possible if it was fresh. The crispy batter on the outside was also perfectly done and really enjoyable to eat! The coleslaw on the side was also chilled and delicious to have. This is the one dish I'll definitely recommend on the menu.

 
Another dish that was more memorable from the line-up was the pasta selection Alio Olio Peperoncino with Homegrown Kaffir Leaf ($16). The spiciness just danced about my tongue instead of piercing through like many alio olio pasta, which meant that it will be suitable for a larger proportion of dining audience. The pasta was also cooked al dente and evenly mixed with the garlic sauce tinted with the taste of kaffir leaf. The prawns were also icing on the cake - don't we all love prawns?

 
Desserts to top off the night - Red Velvet Cake ($9.50/slice) - but I wasn't much excited about it after the first mouthful because somehow it was rather flat and drier than I wished it was. There was also almost no cocoa taste and some potential textures of the English carrot cake, and hence it didn't give me the impression of Red Velvet. They also offer Chocolate Lava Cakes at $8.50 a slice here.

For full menu and ambience pictures: http://www.amiehu.com/2014/05/sponsored-kakis-bistro-bar.html#more
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 24, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
jiaksimipng
271 Review(s)
Level 4
Cafe within a wine academy Smile Apr 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

We were just browsing around Facebook and found out another new cafe that just recently popped up around the private estate of Binjai Park in Bukit Timah which operates around the same basis, and decided to check them out. Taking the space of Taberna Wine Academy, it operates from 9am to 5pm in the day before the wine academy takes over at night. It is interesting to note that this however would be a temporary location, and they would relocate after the barista training is over and a new location for the cafe is being sourced.

 
The Flat White ($5.50) I had was one made of a blend of Brazilian and Sumatran beans. It exudes a milky taste along with the signature acidity of Sumatran blends for it’s body, and that earthy tone Brazilian beans are known for at the end.

 
Each coffee comes with a free croissant, but I was not too keen on it and decided to go for the Chocolate Danish ($2.80) instead at normal prices. Supplied from an unnamed supplier, it was flaky and carried just enough chocolate to taste, which was just sweet enough. The bread itself was alright; not too buttery.

For the full review and more photos, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/three-hands-coffee-binjai-park/

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Flat White
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $8(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend