OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4653 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 71 to 75 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
CEIL JOVEN
1404 Review(s)
Level 4
The Best Handmade Noodle. Smile Mar 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

$5 Ban Mian.

$5 Ban Mian.

 
This is where i get my fix for a comforting bowl of handmade noodle. The tip is to go early to avoid long waiting time. I usually go before 11 am. The expected waiting time then is about 20 minutes or less. Their consistent efforts in serving one of the better handmade noodle is definitely commendable. I enjoy the tasty broth served with nicely handmade noodle together with fresh tasting ingredients like prawns, minced meat, vegetable and dried ikan belis. The superb spicy chilli complemented the noodle nicely particularly the dry version. If you love their chilli, it is available at $3 per container.
The Stall.

The Stall.

 

The food is good, their service is friendly and that is probably the main factor to get their customers to keep coming back.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 29, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
elden kua
5 Review(s)
Level 2
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Combining the intricacies of sashimi to the theatrical flair of teppanyaki with an innate intuition of local tastes to forge an inimitable identity of their own, Sushi Tei is no ordinary dining restaurant.

We enjoyed ourselves with their assortment of scrumptious and creatively designed Japanese gastronomy - appealing to the delight of aficionados of Japanese cuisine.

With also the modest and unassuming homegrown Japanese Kaiten (conveyor belt) chain, an open-kitchen concept allows us the prerogative to relish the mouth-watering savories amidst the gazing of the culinary skills of their restaurants' chefs.

Be prepared to queue during meal peak hours to get a seat.
Good!

Good!

 
Fresh!

Fresh!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Yuki
182 Review(s)
Level 4
Yong Chai Chicken Rice Smile Sep 26, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Coffeeshop | Roasted Meat

Yong Chai

Yong Chai

 
This shop is actually situated at 5 Coronation Road, beside The Curry Wok, just opposite the Xing Wang restaurant at Coronation Plaza. (That was the address I submitted to Openrice). It has already been in business for many years. The entrance of the eatery was a little narrow, with the dishes displayed on a glass cabinet on the left. There was a small air-condition sitting area at the hindside of the shop. Their signature dish is chicken rice. They have other side dishes like 'Cai Fan'.
This day, I ordered a plate of chicken rice with added bitter gourd and a cup of coffee. Total cost was $4.50. A very elderly man with shaky hand brought me my plate of chicken rice. I was so afraid that he might drop the plate. Then a very elderly woman served me my coffee. To me, the pair looked like the parents of the seller, or might even be the one to pass down the business.
I was so eager to eat my food that I had forgotten to snap a picture of it first. The rice itself was so fragrant and delicious that you could even eat it by itself. By the time I realised that I didn't take a photo, the rice was almost gone, only the chicken and bitter gourd left, as shown on my photo.tongue The gourd was well-cooked, not bitter at all.
Chicken and Gourd left

Chicken and Gourd left

 
Nice Cup

Nice Cup

 
Really delicious, worth a try.smile It could be quite packed during lunch.

 
Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
tanyachloe
163 Review(s)
Level 4
Hokkien Mee for Lunch! Smile Jun 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Noodles

Newton Hokkien Mee in koufu is one of the better Hokkien Mee I've tasted in a food court. It's difficult to miss it, given that the storefront has two large prawns printed on their glass....Yes, it's tacky but it does the trick! The foodcourt is decorated in a sports-stadium style, with basketball hoops and wallpaper resembling stadium stands...A bit strange if not for the fact that it's located right next to the Singapore Indoor Stadium and the to-be sports hub.

 
This stall gets quite busy during the lunchtime so expect a queue to form! The service however, is brisk, so no need to worry that the waiting time will be excruciatingly long. Besides, one can also watch the cook fry the noodles from the glass panels smile

 
Food court's pretty large, and spacious -there are enough seats, and some tables are long/large enough to seat up to around 8. Turnover is high and even if you don't get a seat immediately, tables are usually freed up fast.

This stall specialises in the Hokkien Mee, but they also offer other things like Oyster Omelet, Char Kway Teow and their newest addition, Pork Rib Hokkien Mee (hmm, not too sure how that will pan out!). The noodles go for either $4, $5 or $6 depending on the portion. The $4 portion is definitely substantial enough for one person, though! There is also no extra charges for takeaway smile

 
Although I wouldn't recommend for you to takeaway the noodles as it absorbs all the prawn stock leaving it slightly on the dry side, it isn't all that bad. The noodles are well-immersed in the deliciously rich prawn stock and hence the flavour becomes more intense -overlooking the fact that it's also drier. Pros and cons, I suppose.

 

 
The chilli has a distinct hae bi hiam taste, which is lovely because it ensures that this potent blend of chilli does not fall flat in a disappointing attempt to spice up the dish. The noodles aren't overcooked/soggy even though I had it take-away. The lime also gave the whole dish a nice touch. A good mix of both white bee hoon and yellow mee, this hokkien mee is not only flavoursome, but the tastes also balance out nicely as it wasn't overly salty.

We recommend that if you like your noodles with more stock that you can actually slurp up in a delightful, slippery mess, have your noodles on the spot! Chilli lovers should also ask for extra chilli because I certainly didn't think that that meagre spoonful of sambal was going to be enough! Their Char Kway Teow is not as fantastic as their prawn noodles, so give the prawn mee a go if you can only try one item on their menu.

I might point out that one thing disappointing about my noodles was that there were only 2 prawns in it. I was a bit surprised as I had expected at least 3 given that the price was $4. No matter, it (sort of!) compensated with its sizeable portion of noodles. Filling and delicious.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hokkien Mee
 
Date of Visit: Jun 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
tanyachloe
163 Review(s)
Level 4
Oriole 1 for 1! Smile Jun 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges | Café | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Oriole Cafe at Somerset has been my favourite place in the somerset area for coffee, drinks, mains and even tea. It's a one-stop shop that is a jack of all trades (albeit master of none!), but that doesn't mean that their food & beverages are just mediocre. Believe me when I say that they have certain standards -I've tried this place for lunch, dinner as well as tea.

Their current June 1for1 lunch promo is valid with every purchase of a beverage, and the complimentary dish will be the one of the lower value... Great selection of dishes if you ask mesmile
Ends June :(

Ends June :(

 

 
The cafe has both alfresco and indoor seating, and the indoor seating has a bar top counter overlooking the main pathway so one can people watch. The lighting isn't too dim nor is it excessively bright so its really comfortable to chill.

We ordered Chicken Quesadillas, Bangers & Mash (both $18 each) as well as a Caffe Latte ($5.50).
Chicken Quesadilla

Chicken Quesadilla

 
The Chicken Quesadilla was complemented with potato wedges, salsa and a lovely salad (with balsamic vinegar dressing). The quesadilla was delicious -not too salty, and the cheese was still stringy. The grilled chicken had enough flavour and the the pocket was lightly toasted -delicious! My dining companion preferred it slightly more seasoned though, but in my opinion it wasnt overly salty. The wedges were crisp on the outside, yet the potato was so fluffy and soft. Eaten with the salsa, which had bits of diced tomatoes and onions, the taste was absolutely perfect! The salsa wasn't overly sour, great for those who are adverse to super-tangy sauces.
Bangers & Mash

Bangers & Mash

 
The Bangers & Mash were slightly more disappointing. While the pork sausages had a delicious herb-y fragrance, its flavour fell a bit flat. I exceptionally liked the mash and gravy, which went deliciously together (I COULD HAVE IT ALONE!). The mash was slightly sweet on its own, and its oh-so-fluffy texture wasn't overly whipped such that it had lost its original potato texture. I also liked the onion gravy -it wasn't too thick and starchy and had a pleasant savouriness. I wish there was more gravy though!

ps. another grouse -my dining companion also felt that 3 sausages instead of 2 would have given him a better run for his money!
Caffe Latte

Caffe Latte

 
This Latte is honestly one of the best lattes I've ever drunk!! The milk is steamed to perfection and the coffee goes down wonderfully smoothly. You can add your own sugar and customise the sweetness and i find that 1.5 sugars work perfectly for me. This small cup is really worth $5.50 -the taste is just gorgeous. Not too bitter nor acidic and the temperature + flavours all harmonisedsmilesmile

Oriole also has standard happy hours for drinks, as well as tea time promos such as waffles + ice cream & tea for $12-13. The service is earnest and the food is delicious too -will definitely be back. If you're here for desserts, we recommend the peanut butter crumble -its the ultimate sin in a cup!! Sticky date pudding is strong on the rum so if you're adverse to alcohol, steer clear of their rendition of this dish!

The coffee is surprisingly, stellar. Go for their latte, and anything with steamed milk. I promise you won't regret it.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Caffe Latte,Chicken Quesadilla
 
Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $14(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend