OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4652 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 26 to 30 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
wenxi
1744 Review(s)
Level 4
Ice Cream! Smile Dec 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Singaporean Western | Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

"The Simple Cravings in life", well said from their business tagline. It did really match how I felt after craving for days since I last went there on Monday and they were closed.
Beans & Creams

Beans & Creams

 
The shop was relatively new in the area and only accept cash or EZ Link payment. For patrons who are looking for ATM, the nearest will be at Bukit Gombak MRT Station. The shop was compact and space was rather limited. Manned by a humble couple, their service were generous.

All Flavours from Beans&Creams were home-made. Be most welcome to request for any Ice Cream Flavour try out before purchasing them.

The couple were polite with service above average. Price of the Ice Cream were clearing indicated in the price list plastered on the wall.
Shop Interior

Shop Interior

 
Besides helping ourselves with the free flow of ice water by the side of the counters, these flower biscuits are complimentary for the dine in customers but it is limited to 1 scoop per dine in customer, remember smile
Complimentary Flower Biscuits

Complimentary Flower Biscuits

 
A moment of insanity, we had kept their waffles machine from going hot with 4 plates of waffles. Ice Cream to me is just insatiable especially when it comes to pairing with these waffles.

Waffles with Ice Cream costs $6.50 but with premium Ice Cream ordered, an additional of 80cents is required. Vanilla is one of the premium flavours, their ice cream was creamy with visible Vanilla Bean Specks which consists a pleasant faint vanilla scent.



The presentation looks yummy with the scoop of vanilla ice cream topped the stacking waffles with chocolate and maple syrup over the plate. They were sweet but not cloying. The drizzle of flour powder over the waffle was used sparingly giving a perfect final touch to the savoury dessert.
Waffle with Ice Cream - $6.50   $0.80 (Premium Ice Cream - Vanilla)

Waffle with Ice Cream - $6.50 $0.80 (Premium Ice Cream - Vanilla)

 
Scattered among the classic flavors, Rum and Rasins were more towards the unique tastes with alcohol filled. It looks pretty divine with its rum soaked raisins diffused through the creamy, smooth ice cream but still a little sweet for me. Well, I guess the local ice cream chains has a challenger here.
Waffle with Rum & Rasins - $6.50

Waffle with Rum & Rasins - $6.50

 
Bitter sweet tasting ice-cream, dark chocolate, it is! As creamy as it was taken, are you shaken by these two yummy-licious scoops of sweet flavours? For the sweet tooth, Cookies and Creams is a good bet. Enjoy the roughness over the smooth creamy white cream from the crushed cookies. smile
Waffle with Dark Chocolate, Cookies & Cream - $9

Waffle with Dark Chocolate, Cookies & Cream - $9

 
While waffles do taste delicious plain, these sweet nibbles were perfect with Pistachio and Earl Grey. Its thickened size was cripsy and soft at the same time. Yums! Pistachio and Earl Grey fans, this cant be missed. Each mouthful of pistachio was burst full of nutty flavour, driving me nuts. While the Earl Grey was light, infused with sweet scent nature from the tea.
Waffles with Pistachios & Earl Grey - $9.80

Waffles with Pistachios & Earl Grey - $9.80

 
I'm please after trying out a number of their flavours, satisfying my crave. Overall, I find that their ice cream were decent but not to die for. But frankly speaking, I love their instant production of waffles. they were outstanding.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Waffle Ice Cream!
 
Date of Visit: Dec 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $9(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
wallychel
484 Review(s)
Level 4
International Asian Buffet OK Nov 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | High Tea | Halal | Buffet

1 Market is a halal buffet restaurant opened by the famous Chef Wan, which attracted a lot of media and hype when it first opened! I met up with two of my friends to try the lunch buffet here ^^
Sashimi Section

Sashimi Section

 

 
The first stop I went for is the Japanese section! I love sashimi which I happily spam those on my plate! The soba noodles are not bad!

 

 

 
Black Pepper Prawns!

Black Pepper Prawns!

 
Some of the food from the Thai, Viet and Indo sections. The charcoal black pepper prawns are a must-try!
Wide range of Sauces

Wide range of Sauces

 
After sometime, I realize they have a pretty wide range of sauces available!
Kueh Pie Tee

Kueh Pie Tee

 
These are surprisingly tasty!
Satay

Satay

 
There is a long queue for the satays and after getting a plate, we found it to be nothing fantastic and definitely not worth queuing for.
Laksa!

Laksa!

 
I was already pretty full but I saw this laksa station and decided to try this last item! Lucky I ordered as it was surprisingly good and I finished the whole bowl!
Waffles. Choc/Vanilla Icecream. Choc/Strawberry sauce.

Waffles. Choc/Vanilla Icecream. Choc/Strawberry sauce.

 
Moving on to the desserts, there is an especially long queue for the waffles! I think we waited around 10 minutes for our turn. I had the chocolate ice-cream on my waffles and drizzled it with strawberry sauce tongue I like that the waffles are crispy and it was worth queuing!
Desserts!

Desserts!

 
There is a range of kuehs, tarts and pastries at the dessert section and these are just some of it! There is also a ice kachang machine! Overall, I find that the buffet spread didn't have much variety but considering the price, it is reasonable ;)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Pepper Prawns,Laksa,Waffles
 
Date of Visit: Nov 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
rachelays
1063 Review(s)
Level 4
Overrated  OK Dec 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

Thai cuisine is so popular in Singapore that recently many popular restaurants from Thailand has opened overseas outlets here.

Nara Thai Cuisine was voted as Thailand's best restaurants from 2007 till 2013. There were many features on Nara Thai too. Not too long ago, I had seen a magazine write-up on the 50 must-eat food in Singapore (whut), one of which was Nara Thai's yellow curry soft shell crab. As an avid lover of Thai food and after reading that article, I decided to waste no more time to try out Nara Thai.

 
At first glance, this looks like a posh restaurant relative to the other restaurants on that level. However, we were seated near the kitchen area where there was a section dedicated to collector cart trolleys which was not very sightly and did not quite fit in with the classy look that the restaurant was going for.

The food that Nara Thai has to offer is not very extensive, but enough to capture the focus of authentic Thai cuisine.

 
Thai Iced Tea $5+?
This was really good! Most thai iced tea that I have tried are quite sweet but the level of sweetness for this was just right for me. It was also distinctly Thai in taste, making me want to have more with every sip.

 
Deep fried chicken in traditional thai shrimp paste $9.90
They could have done a better job at cleaning the plate before serving this to us. There were only a few small pieces of chicken that barely filled up half of the plate. The taste of the chicken was good though. They were well marinated in the thai shrimp paste and chicken was quite tender. The powdery condiment (not sure what it was) served separately at the side did not go well with the chicken and had a really weird taste.

 
Stir-fried Soft Shell Crab with Yellow Curry $18.90
Here's the dish that we were looking forward to because it was (claimed) to be the top 50 food items you must try in Singapore as mentioned above. The yellow curry was barely warm and it was not very nice to eat after it turned cold halfway through our meal. There was nothing fanciful about the soft shell crab but I am guessing that the yellow curry would have tasted really good if it was served hot. The taste of the curry was rich and sweet and could easily go well with white rice ($2).

 
Tom Yum Kung $19.90
There were only 2 big prawns and 1 mushroom in it. I don't think I will be willing to pay for a small pot of tom yum soup with only 2 king prawns and a small mushroom for such a price. The spiciness was there but there was nothing fantastic about the taste. It was too milky for my liking. The best part of the soup was that the prawns were really big and fresh and the superb freshness of the prawns lingered in the soup. They certainly can do better by offering more (at least 2 mushrooms hah) at such a price.

Overall, the portions were too stingy and the taste of the food did not quite justify for the hefty price. I understand that they are located in a prime location like Ion and they certainly have to mark up the prices to cover for rental costs and other expenses. I am willing to pay a premium for good food but I don't think Nara Thai is worth the money.

Visit http://rachelays.blogspot.com for more food reviews smile
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
spherepiece
422 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hakka | Coffeeshop

My friend introduced me to this yong tau foo place at Lucky Plaza, and oh my, I never looked back at other yong tau foo anymore. My Favourite Café is hidden at the top floor of Lucky Plaza next to Jollibee, and enjoys quite a fair share of patrons especially during lunch hours. You will need to queue for about 10 minutes before you get a space, but it sure is worth a wait.

 
Look at how everyone is digging in like mad. Yummy yummy lol

 
Huge selection of things to put in your bowl: you can choose 5 items and one noodle type for only $3.50! I love the mushrooms - so huge and juicy and I can't get enough of it! I wanted to just grab like 3 mushrooms but that would be a little obsessive and a lack of variety. So.. I shall do that the next time ;D

 

 
After you finish choosing what you want, there are five noodle types that you can choose: mee, mee kia, mee pok, etc. Usually I just buy the mee pok smile

 
It's super nice. Trust me. When I'm looking at this picture, I can taste the godliness of this bowl of yong tau foo. Especially the juicy mushrooms and the meatballs. The more I look at this picture... the more I'm making plans to go grab this next week again.

 
There's the sauces provided but I don't really like/need them, so I just left it alone after trying a bit of each. The soup itself is flavourful enough, so I think there's no need for the extra sauces. smile

 
It might get a little squeezy because you have to share tables with strangers, but anyway you'll be busy stuffing yourself with the food to be uncomfortable with that!

Tip: Go in pairs to get a seat faster.

 
 
Date of Visit: May 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
1 Review(s)
Level 1
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

Astelle and I were really lucky to be selected as one of the 6 couples for the OpenRice and Between* event on 17 Nov 13. Venue was Supply and Demand.

It was our first time there and honestly we did not know what to expect. Personally I read up on the restaurant and the general comment was Italian and Peruvian so I didn't really know what to expect. Making this all a bit exciting.

We spent some time searching for the restaurant, as we were not too familiar with the esplanade grounds. Although located slightly away from the main area at Esplanade (i.e. Harry's bar etc) it was very easy to locate the restaurant due to the décor placed just outside the restaurant.

 
Supply and Demand

 
Ornaments and Menu just outside the restaurant

OpenRice and Between* kindly put together the following dinner menu for our consideration:

Appetizers (To share):
- Shrimp and Avocado Salad
- Fries with a Side of Guilt

Choice of Mains:
9' inch Pizza from the menu selection

Pasta (Spaghetti or Penne)
- All' Arrabbiata
- Ragu Di Maiale
- Carbonara Classic
- Maiale Orientale

Dessers (1 of the following)
- Italian Style Tiramisu
- Molton Chocolate Cake
- Textured Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel

and Drinks.

After much thought and debate, Astelle and I decided on the following items:

Maiale Orientale Pasta

 
Jeremy from OpenRice mentioned that this is a very peruvian style of cooking pasta. I feel that there was also a Asian style fused into it. The dish reminded me of Thai Basil Leaf Minced Pork (Pa Ka Prow Moo) with Pasta. Just less spicy and with a more fragrant herb taste. This is good for adventurous eaters who are on the look out for new tastes.

Carbonara Classic

 
I have always always always liked to eat CARBONARA since I was a kid and I am constantly on the look out for good Carbonaras. The Carbonara served at Supply and Demand ranks in my top 5 Carbonaras in Singapore. I usually prefer to have my Carbonara with more sauce (e.g. Yomenya Goemon). However, the amount of sauce and portion of pasta in the Carbonara Classic was just right due to its rich taste. I particularly like the cheesy flavour of the Carbonara Classic.

Tiramisu

 
The tiramisu came in a glass jar (similar in size to the one served at Poulèt). It comes in a generous serving that is enough for two persons to share. The Tiramisu is creamy and not too sweet. The lady fingers are thoroughly soaked with coffee and you can taste it in every mouthful of Tiramisu that you take. We shared our Tiramisu with Between* Co-founder Jake, who also thought it was wonderful.

Fries with a Side of Guilt
(Apologies we can only post 8 photos ): )

Very good side dish. We were very impressed that the fries are not the pre-packed kind and are probably cut by the restaurant. They are thick slices of potato, come dipped in cheese sauce with an option to dip into the 'Guilt' sauce (which resembles barbecue sauce). Despite the fries being thick, the texture of the fries is just right and not over nor under cooked.

Maybe this won't strike you at first but the décor inside the restaurant is unassuming and comfortable. The lighting and music further enhanced the atmosphere making it an ideal place for any get togethers, be it with friends or for a romantic night out.

 
A unique collection of items at the counter greets you as you walk into the restaurant

 
Homely and warm design

 
Creative use of space to create a more homely atmosphere in the form of a library/study on the stairs. You can even borrow the books to read in the restaurant! (We think (: )

The stairs leads to a nice rooftop bar with a nice cosy corners where you can relax and catch activities on going in the bay. You can adjourn there for drinks after dinner and chill.

If you are looking for a restaurant with delicious food and great ambience, Supply & Demand is definitely a place you should check out (:
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cabonara Classic,Tiramisu,Fries with Sinful Dips
 
Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend