OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4652 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲727 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 36 to 40 of 132 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
FoodieFC
226 Review(s)
Level 4
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Coffeeshop

I have been wanting to patronise Fei Kee Claypot Chicken Rice for a long time. Have heard several reviews about this place which dishes out delicious Claypot Chicken Rice.

 
Fei Kee Claypot Chicken Rice is located at Luk Luk Eating House which is an old coffee shop. Dirty walls, dirty flooring that was cracked and olden days shutters. With a very clean signboard! It is between Beach Road and Aliwal Street near Bugis and Lavendar. There are three MRT stations nearby namely; Bugis, Nicoll Highway and Lavendar.

 
The signboard states clearly that there is at least a waiting time of 15minutes. On the signboard there is a telephone number on it (8222 6360) and if you notice in the above picture, the 'chef' has a ear piece to his ear. The reason for this is so that customers can order before hand.

 
Wow, look at the number of claypot he is handling at any one time during peak hours. And to the bottom left of the picture, he has a big bowl of uncooked rice ready. It is comforting to know that the rice is cooked in the claypot itself and no short cut was taken.

 
Since there was two of us, naturally, we ordered the Claypot Chicken Rice for 2 person. I can't remember how long we waited, but it should be close to 15 minutes. The Claypot Chicken Rice arrived covered in black sauce, cabbage and ikan bilis.

 

 
After mixing it, it is ready to be scooped into smaller bowl. The cabbage was fresh and crunchy providing a fresh and sweet flavour. At the sides of the claypot, surprisingly there was virtually no charred rice which I somehow missed. The rice was not dry unlike other claypot rice, it was slightly moist. However, it was not as fragrance as there was no salted fish was added. The star is its 'Grade A' Boneless Chicken Thigh Meat. The chicken meat was juicy, tender and boneless which is a big plus.

Certainly, I will be back to try it again.

Detailed review: http://foodiefc.blogspot.sg/2011/10/fei-kee-claypot-chicken-rice.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
CherylFlavour
47 Review(s)
Level 3
Sichuan Cold Noodles Smile Jun 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Sichuan | Chinese | Salads/ Acai Bowl

 
Let's Toss is a Sichuan Salad Bar style stall and it's becoming 1 of my favourite place to eat!

The place is clean and there's a small counter (approximately seating space for 6 pax) in the shop where you can dine in.

 

 
They sell vegetables and meat by weight. You can choose as many selection as you want, and they will portion it according to the weight you order.. Default is 200g for $5.

For me, I like to have their cold noodles set. $5 for cold noodles, 30g of meat and a cup of ice lemon tea.

 
For the cold noodles, they will mix spaghetti like noodles with cucumber, beansprout, peanuts, chili and some condiments with the meat you choose.. tossing them together in a metal bowl before serving to you in a cardboard box.

Portion is usually quite big and filling. Especially love the crunchiness of the cucumber and beansprouts with the tangy noodles!

This place makes me come back again & again even though the location is not very convenient for me. (at Aljunied MRT station) Definitely recommended to everyone!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cold noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jun 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
vnuss147
412 Review(s)
Level 4
Taiwanese flavours Smile Jan 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

We always trying to order different dishes everytime when we visit Shin Yeh. This time round, we had the whole Pomfret with garlic ($48). It might be slightly pricy, but I reckon it worths the price. The fish is quite big, and it tastes good. The pomfret is seasoned with salt and pepper before deep-fried to crisp. It's very crispy outside, yet the meat still maintain the tenderness. And those garlic slices definitely adds lots of flavours to it.

 
Prawn roll with yam ($8) serves a good snack. The crispy roll has the yam and prawn filling, just the right seasoning, and not greasy at all.

 
Sauteed prawns with pineapples ($20) is appetizing. The prawns are sauteed with mayonnaise sauce and heaps of pineapples chuncks. The sourness of pineapples balances the creamy of mayonnaise. Quite nice.

 
Fried rice with pork ($14) is ordinary. The fragrant is good, but nothing too special. However, it could be a good replacement for white rice, to go along with other dishes.

 
Stir-fried mustard heart ($16) with dried scallop is pretty good, in which the bitterness is sort of being reduced to minimum. If you are not a big fans of this vegetables, do give it a try at Shin Yeh. you might change your mind.

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 28, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
vnuss147
412 Review(s)
Level 4
Good Taiwanese Food Smile Dec 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

Shin Yeh Restaurant offers a wide range of authentic Taiwanese dishes. It's a good dining place for family gathering or business discussion as they do offer private dining room too. Appetizer ($3) is the marinated cucumber, cold and slightly sweet and sour with a hint of saltiness, complex flavours but appetizing!

 
We had the Shin Yeh special combination ($38) which consists of four signature dishes, namely deep-fried pork, crispy-fried fresh oyster served with dip, deep-fried lean pork coated with red fermented rice paste, as well as oyster mushroom with herbal sauce. Of the four, my favourite has to be the deep-fried meat coated with red fermented rice paste. It's very crispy outside, and the flavour just burst in your mouth!

 

Sauteed sea clam with ginger ($18) is quite a traditional dish. The clams are fresh and big, I personally like the ginder and basil fragrant very much.

 
Sauteed fresh oyster with scallions and garlic ($14) is a dish that goes very well with either rice or porridge because of its rich bean paste flavour. There are plentiful of fat and fresh oysters too!

 
Lean pork with soya sauce ($10) is pork stew sauteed in rich dark and light soy sauce. The sauce is slightly sweet, and although the meat is quite lean, the fat and skin layers still melted in my mouth. Yummy!

 
We also tried the Taiwanese-style rice with soya sauce lean pork ($5). It's pretty ordinary, but I like the way it is served with preserved vegetables. Quite nice as a whole!

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
tanyachloe
163 Review(s)
Level 4
Drinks, great food and company! Smile Jul 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges

Switch is known for its billingual live band -singing crowd-pleasing mandarin and chinese songs. Switch by Timbre also serves up similar food as their sister branch, including the signature duck pizza, with duck, hoisin sauce and crispy crackers topping the sinful pizza. Switch is also conveniently located next to SAM, which is just right outside of bras basah MRT, making this more accessible than timbre where it can be quite tricky to find!!

Happy hour is from 6pm to 9pm, and first order of drink applies. They accept all major credit cards and water is self-service from the bar. Ordering is via their iPad, and the food gets served to you!

We ordered a Smoked Salmon Pizza ($18) [a welcome change from the usual duck pizza], Chicken Wings ($12), Fusili with sausage ($18) for dinner.

Food
Salmon Pizza

Salmon Pizza

 
For $18, this smoked salmon pizza is perfect for sharing between 2-3 people (it depends on how big of a eater you are haha), plus a side dish to complement it. The smoked salmon gave the pizza an extraordinarily savoury taste, heaped with the mozarella. However, I really liked that raw onions were also thrown in. The onion really brought this dish to the next level and it prevented the monotony of the salty fish. The pizza is thin crusted and we'd say that if you're seeking out something new to try and you don't mind smoked salmon -this pizza is worth a shot!
Fusilli

Fusilli

 
The sausage fusilli wasn't exactly the best pasta, but it was decent. The fusilli wasn't overcooked, the pasta sauce had chunky bits of tomato in it, together with capsicum and onions. It's a very chunky pasta that is chock-full of the vegetables as well as sausage. The sausage wasn't particularly tasty, but the tomato sauce made this dish very appetising.
Wings!

Wings!

 
The wings were surprisingly good! There were both drumsticks and wings so if you're either a wing/drumstick person you won't be left out! It was fried to this crispy perfection in this batter that I know not of, but I will return for more. It wasn't overly salty, and the aroma is just so appetising! It makes you want to sink your teeth into just..one..more....But each is never your last until you've polished off the whole plate.

Drinks

We ordered 2 alcoholic and 2 non-alcoholic drinks, all $10 during happy hour -Virgin Mojito, Shirley Temple, Havana Club Rum with Tonic and a Chivas w Ginger Ale.
Virgin Mojito

Virgin Mojito

 
The Virgin Mojito is by far the best non-alcoholic drink here! It's wonderfully icy -perfect for cooling off on a hot day, with bits of lime sprigs. it's wonderfully refreshing and reminds us of good summer days by the beach! It wasn't overly sour/sweet eithersmile Perfect.
Chivas w Ale

Chivas w Ale

 
Chivas is one of the more common housepour drinks during happy hour, and $10 gives you a glass of chivas either on the rocks, neat or with your choice of mixer. This one is with ginger ale, and the mix was delicious -not too strong and the oaky, slight vanilla frutiness of the Chivas is rounded off nicely with the sweetness of the ginger ale.
Rum & Tonic

Rum & Tonic

 
The rum & tonic was stronger and I decided to go for tonic because I felt like having tonic water -it was an odd combination though, rarely heard of but it was decent. The rum used in their house spirits is Havana Club.
Shirley Temple

Shirley Temple

 
The Shirley Temple was a little too sweet for me -it tasted a bit like fruit punch and cherry cordial. Not really my kind of drink but if you need something sweet -this is it!

 
Tuesdays and Thursdays are when the bilingual liveband (kexin & alfred) performs. They are really a crowd-pleaser and dedications can be sent in. We were very amazed and impressed by how they could easily play and sing any song, both English and Chinese. It's really entertaining and great to just chill out with a few friends and good company.

Service wise, I was slightly disappointed. Switch requires you to give your credit card to hold on tab when you first order, and even though I explicitly told them not to charge to this card both before ordering AND when asking for the bill, (a friend gave hers when we were paying), they charged to my card instead of my friend's. I was quite disappointed with this because I had told the same staffperson who served me not to charge to my card. It's not a big deal but I wish that they could have paid more attention to details like this because in the service industry, it's the small things that matter. huffysad

Other than that, Switch is a fantastic place for food and drinks, entertaining and having a great time. Weekdays are relatively quiet so walk-ins are fine, it starts to get crowded around 7+ or 8, and during Fridays, Eve of PH and PHs/Saturdays, it gets really crazy so reservations are advised. Be warned though that they only designate 50% of their seating to reservation, the other 50% is for walk in!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Wings,Smoked Salmon Pizza
 
Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $32(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend