OpenRice Index
  
Buffy
Member 5 First(s)
No. of Review13 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended13 Recommended
Popularity120 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos6 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews13 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant51 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
Buffy  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 6 to 10 of 13 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Very so so beef noodle OK Aug 17, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Noodles

I mentioned in another of my review that the same brand in the shrimp noodle shop (Le Shrimp Noodle) is very good.  So I start to get attention to this brand.  With such expectation in mind, I can't say how disappointed we were.  
First, the essence of beef noodle (which is a traditional food from Taiwan) is the SOUP.  And sorry, the soup here is no taste.  This was a sharp contrast to the good taste shrimp soup in their another brand.
Moreover very typically, Taiwanese noodle should come with some preserved sour vegetable.  There was none here, which tells me this is not a very authentic Taiwanese style shop.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
So so buffet OK Aug 18, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Buffet

From the decor and management, even though I am NOT a buffet person, but seeing it looks like a decent Japanese restaurant, I gave it a try.  We tried the family package with 2 adults 1 child.
I would say nothing special, though it is not bad, but definitely not good.
Salad - ok.
Summer special - to be honest I didn't try any as it did not look attractive.
Seafood - unlimited supply of crab leg - this is the main attraction, every table just grabbed whole lots of them.  It is not good in quality, but I suspect this is the item with the best value for your price.
Paper hot pot - the choice is limited, one good choice is to add the beef.
The other foods are so-so - curry, tempura (only shrimp), cold noodle.
In conclusion - come here only for the crab leg.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2019 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Not the quality I am expecting OK Aug 17, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

I always love Paradise's food and Xiao Long Bao, more than DTF and CJ, since I first tried in Hong Kong Lee Theatre.
Today, we were offered a table near the Fountain and next to the queue. AC not strong enough, disturbance from queue was annoying.  The staff was kind but looked helpless (or did not care!?) to our dissatisfaction.  
Maybe the seating and staff altitude gave us some discount to the mood, we felt all the food quality was not as good as we were expecting.  
Definitely will not come back for this same branch again (especially there was a lot lot of choices in Suntec City).  
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 30, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Very delicious shrimp soup Smile Jun 07, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Fusion | Restaurant | Ramen

As I mentioned in my other reviews, I am slowly switching from another F&B group to this Paradise group as I found their food is much better.  I didn't know they have shrimp noodle, and I find this 'innovative' as each country has its own special noodle soup base (Japan - Shoyu, Miso, Tonkotsu; Taiwan is beef) and then for shrimp - it is mostly from China Canton (for wanton noodle) and Malay/Singapore (the prawn mee).
Well, also I am not one amateur foodie but mostly respecting Japanese food philosophy which one restaurant should only limit their menu to a few of their expertise items.  
Le Shrimp Ramen focuses on shrimp soup noodle, and I must say, their soup is warranted with the signature.  In general, I will classify them as Taiwanese restaurant since they service like fried chicken steak rice, marinated tofu etc. (But Taiwanese noodle do not have shrimp soup though).  Also, a lot of the items are imported from Taiwan (e.g. soy bean milk, fruit vinegar).  
All the food, in general, is good, and in specific the shrimp soup is a must-try.
Last on service, nothing wrong, good, polite, but when I was ordering I told the waitress to give me only one glass with ice and the other without.  She just still gave me two glasses with ice.  This was actually very common in Singapore that waiter/waitress politely nodded to you but just ignoring your message 1 minute later.  

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 25, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Deteriorating quality, not price OK Jun 05, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese

My first experience with Crystal Jade was in Hong Kong, Taikoo Shing, almost 20 years ago, the first time they opened up a shop.  I was very impressed by the quality of the noodle and Xiao Long Bao.  For 20 years I can see its success, expansion, acquisition by LVMH, Michelin.  But I also see the fast deterioration of the quality.  

First the Xiao Lung Bao, it is perhaps the second best in the past behind Din Tai Feng.  Now now the skin is no longer non-burstable.
Dan Dan noodle is also my favorite, the noodle is still hand-made, I believe, but the soup is just not 'elegant' no more.  In the past, the balance of sesame paste, vinegar, and chili oil is in good balance.  Now?  either too thick or too something.....no longer in balance.

I must say I am no longer a fan of Crystal Jade and indeed I will avoid it if possible.

There is another good similar restaurant serving similar noodle and Xiao Lung Bao, and this becomes my second best Xiao Lung Bao after Din Tai Feng........
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend