OpenRice Index
  
jerjerjer
This is jerjerjer living in Dover. I am a Gamer, work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Dover. Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes.
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review179 Review(s)
編輯推介數目23 Editor's Choice
Recommended10 Recommended
Popularity1678 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos300 Photo(s)
Upload Videos2 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews15 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant32 My Restaurant(s)
Follow169 Following
粉絲250 Follower(s)
jerjerjer  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 15 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
jerjerjer
179 Review(s)
Level 4
Not so Flavourful Dim Sum Cry Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood | Fine Dining

Yan Ting @ St Regis

Yan Ting @ St Regis

 
This was my very first visit to Yan Ting at St Regis and it will probably be my last visit for a very long time to come (unless they come up with something new / special). We were there on a weekday lunch and the restaurant was not that crowded, with only a few pockets of people chowing on dim sum. Comfy sofa seats, mood lighting and impeccably polite service sets the mood for this posh Chinese restaurant. The food, however, was quite a letdown.
Pork & Century Egg Porridge 皮蛋瘦肉粥

Pork & Century Egg Porridge 皮蛋瘦肉粥

 
Let's start with some of the good ones first - Pork & Century Egg Porridge 皮蛋瘦肉粥 ($9.00) was tasty and smooth, and reminded me of the kind of congee you get in Hong Kong. The pork slices were also very tender even though they were quite thick.
Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃

Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃

 
Another dim sum item I thought was quite good was the Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃 ($6.80). Its skin was thin and moist and the prawns were fresh and crunchy. However, considering the price that you are paying here, I could easily find a cheaper (and equally delicious) alternative.
Siew Mai 燒賣

Siew Mai 燒賣

 
The Siew Mai 燒賣 ($6.80) however, was suprisingly bland. It's very seldom that I taste bland siew mai, but I guess they were going for the more 'health conscious' palate because this siew mai really did not have much of a taste to it.
‘Xiao Long Bao’ 小笼包

‘Xiao Long Bao’ 小笼包

 
I was drawn in by the novelty of charging Xiao Long Bao by the piece and decided to order one 小笼包 ($4.00 for 1 piece) to try. Encased in an individual basket, the 小笼包 looked just like your regular sized dumpling and wasn't particularly huge or anything. Biting in, I found that it didn't have much soup inside either which was pretty disappointing. The meat tasted healthy and overall had very plain, natural flavours with hardly any seasoning.
Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥

Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥

 
Char Siew Pau 叉燒包

Char Siew Pau 叉燒包

 
Both the Char Siew Pau 叉燒包 ($5.00) and Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥 ($6.00) tasted quite normal too since they both make use of the same char siew filling. The good thing about the 叉燒酥 was that the pastry was very crumbly as it should be but the steamed pau was not as fluffy as the menu pointed it out to be.
Salted Egg Custard Bun 流沙包

Salted Egg Custard Bun 流沙包

 
Their Salted Egg Custard Bun 流沙包 ($5.80) looks really good with the slightly orange colored skin but inside, the lava was a little too diluted and light, not the rich, thick flowy salted egg yolk that you would expect for the price.
Scallop Chee Cheong Fun 猪肠粉

Scallop Chee Cheong Fun 猪肠粉

 
Finally, we couldn't leave here without having tried their legendary Chee Cheong Fun 猪肠粉 ($10.00) which costs 10 bucks no matter what filling you choose - we picked the scallop one since it seemed like the most "value-for-money" option. Turns out, it wasn't as legendary as we had expected it to be. The rice roll was a bit too thick and it wasn't as silky smooth as it should be.

Overall, if you're looking for a healthier Dim Sum choice, then Yan Ting would probably be your best bet because I have personally not eaten such plain and bland dim sum before. It will probably suit the palate of the older generation but adventurous foodies like me, really get no kick out of dim sum like this.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
CEIL JOVEN
1404 Review(s)
Level 4
Roti Prata. OK Dec 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Coffeeshop

Roti Prata is amongst my usual options for a simple breakfast. This prata stall replaced a Malay stall that moved away. That Malay stall used to serve nice prata and curry puffs that i still miss quite a bit.

It was one of those mornings that i do not know what to eat so i decided to give this new stall a go.

 
I ordered 2 pieces of plain prata to take away. Those prata have already pre-prepared and stacked up by the side. Upon order, they threw it back to the pan and heat it up a little. When it was ready to serve, the stall assistant slapped it a little using bare hands to loosen its texture before placed them on the brown paper to wrap it up. He was using the same hands to handle cash when i paid him later.

Honestly, i was a little uncomfortable when taken the hygiene issue into consideration. Do you find this to be acceptable?

 
Though effort has been made to heat up the prata to give it the slight warmth but it still did not taste as crispy as expected. Perhaps it might fared better if i eat it right there. Apart from greasiness, the texture of the prata was rather light and fluffy. It actually tasted quite nice. It might even be better if i did not witness he handled it with bare hands.

 
The curry sauce that accompanied it was quite good. It has got an aromatic curry taste and rather thick in texture with a comforting level of spiciness.

Though it tasted better than expected but i am not too sure whether would i go back again.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
yummymich
118 Review(s)
Level 4
Dim sum... Smile Nov 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Dim sum price is reasonable. It is generally slightly cheaper than Crystal Jade Palace and Crystal Jade Golden Palace... Even though, it is in raffles hotel, the price quite competitive... But in term of quality... I still prefer the dim sum from crystal jade Palace/Golden Palace.. even though it fetch a slightly higher price .

Forgotten to take photo for the red bean pancake. Haha.. Sueprisingly quite a big plate..cost $10...quite expensive I think... I didnt eat it la.. cos already quite full, and I don't like pastry..

Btw, we also ordered liu sha bao . not bad..but actually I don't really like salted egg yolk bun... But this one I can accept..as the taste of egg yolk not too strong.. $4++... As for their BBQ Pork Bun... hmm..quite dry... not juicy la... I can't finish it...cos I think it is not tasty!

Service is not really efficient in Royal China! I am a impatient customer.. eg, they served the ice water very slowly..and when it came, they gave me warm water... But actually I want ice water... And even I raise up my hand, to ask for soya sauce, also must wait for quite some time..... Slow service..

Here come the dim sum! $4.80++ succulent prawn! But the skin is slightly too thick Chive Dumpling with prawn. $4 ++ ... not bad... but I think the chive can have more la..I love chive!Siew Mai.. with prawn content more than pork... Scallop dumpling $4.80++... I like this hehe The scallop taste pretty good...

Seafood Congee Hmm..very little seafood inside..you can count, 1 prawn, 1 scallop... and 1 or 2 slice of fish (hmm got fish inside ma...I also not very sure).... Taste very average..not worth it! I LOVE their prawn chee cheong fun! Very yummy! This is one of the best rice roll I had.. The prawn is quite big and fresh..and the skin is smooth... STRONGLY RECOMMENDED!! Fresh and hot! Prawn dumpling...But taste okay only la...
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn Chee Cheong Fun
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
wenxi
1728 Review(s)
Level 4
Dome... OK Jun 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Burgers and Sandwiches

This was my 2nd visit to dome.

Food
Onion Rings - S$5.90. Uniquely Dome's. Comes in special sizes and non-breaded outlook. Onion rings are thinly cut and found within the golden crisp batter. However I find that the saucer was too small for us to dip the entire ring into it.
Onion Rings

Onion Rings

 
Soup of the day - Cheesy pumpkin! S$6.50. Hits me right on the spot! Comes with a small piece of garlic toast to pair with. Sprinkling of green parsley has lited up the bright orange yellow soup. Slurps!
Cheesy Pumpkin Soup

Cheesy Pumpkin Soup

 
Black Pepper Chicken, S$15.90. Succulent flesh coated with abundance of black pepper sauce with crispy skin paired with cauliflower and crunchy peas.
Black Pepper Chicken

Black Pepper Chicken

 
Lobster Thermido S$26.90. Lovely lobster gratin with cheese, garlic cream and mushroom. Served with caesar salad and spaghetti in tomato sauce.
Lobster Thermido

Lobster Thermido

 
The side views of the halved lobster, looks thorny.
Side View of Lobster

Side View of Lobster

 
Service
Service was better than average. They "catches" the timing well. Food comes in order, with sides and drinks as first and the main as last. Plates were cleared up promptly before any new serving.

Ambience
A "peaceful" environment for a Thursday night. Environment makes customer feels relax and away from the bustling town life.

 
Price
Price is within the "ok" range considering I was dining in the orchard areas.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cheesy pumpkin soup
 
Date of Visit: Jun 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
blessedbabyhannah
103 Review(s)
Level 4
Great tea time promotion OK Nov 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

I was catching up with a friend in town and we have decided to go NYDC at wheelock as the place is rather quiet during the afternoon. On top of that, food at this outlet is relatively alright.
We ordered 2 tea set ($7.90 each) which consist of a choice of a cake and a hot coffee. Thus we had 1 boo boo cake , 1 pick me up and 2 cuppuccino. I would say that the set is really value for money. Personally I find that pick me up has too thick a layer of chocolate powder dusted on top thus making us "coughing" with the powder. However the boo boo cake was ok. Not too sweet and is very chocolatey.

 

 

 
After that, we also ordered an aioli fries ($5.80) to munch while we continue for our little catch up. The fries was rather ordinary but no complain about it. =)

 
Overall, it was a good tea session over at NYDC as the tea set is really value for money and the restaurant is relatively quiet and suitable for catching up session. However the service here can still be improved. =)
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend