OpenRice Index
  
jerjerjer
This is jerjerjer living in Dover. I am a Gamer, work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Dover. Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes.
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review179 Review(s)
編輯推介數目23 Editor's Choice
Recommended11 Recommended
Popularity1709 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos300 Photo(s)
Upload Videos2 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews15 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant32 My Restaurant(s)
Follow169 Following
粉絲250 Follower(s)
jerjerjer  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice   Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score 
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 15 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
happytummy dumpty
92 Review(s)
Level 3
Left with disappointment >< Cry Oct 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Chinese Soup | Burgers and Sandwiches

I am all along a Soup Spoon fan. I love their beef rendition, Simon Chic Garfunkel, mushroom and tomato soup. Thus, I have naturally high expectations about this new establishment. Headed down to try out their new Brunch menu but aww what a let down sad

Had the Union's SouperBreakfast ($16.50) with sous-vide eggs and the Chicken Pho ($7.50). I like that the sausage tasted spicy, otherwise it was quite ordinary. Small portion and pricey, I could have a better breakfast set elsewhere and pay less even.
Union's SouperBreakfast

Union's SouperBreakfast

 


Adding on to that, the ultimate disappointment was with the Chicken Pho. The soup was plain, nothing whatsoever was nice about it. Had the hot Vietnamese Drip coffee add-on with the noodles, again, it was a disappointment too. The coffee was not strong at all. The cup looked cute, but the coffee was a no-no. I rather spend on buying kopi from Yakun.
Chicken Pho

Chicken Pho

 
Vietnamese Drip Coffee

Vietnamese Drip Coffee

 
In conclusion, I am disappointed with the new Farmer's Brunch menu. I don't think I would want to try the other food items in the menu anymore although my sweet tooth is calling me to try out the RedVelvet Waffles. I guess it would be better to just stick with the soups instead.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
jerjerjer
179 Review(s)
Level 4
Not so Flavourful Dim Sum Cry Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood | Fine Dining

Yan Ting @ St Regis

Yan Ting @ St Regis

 
This was my very first visit to Yan Ting at St Regis and it will probably be my last visit for a very long time to come (unless they come up with something new / special). We were there on a weekday lunch and the restaurant was not that crowded, with only a few pockets of people chowing on dim sum. Comfy sofa seats, mood lighting and impeccably polite service sets the mood for this posh Chinese restaurant. The food, however, was quite a letdown.
Pork & Century Egg Porridge 皮蛋瘦肉粥

Pork & Century Egg Porridge 皮蛋瘦肉粥

 
Let's start with some of the good ones first - Pork & Century Egg Porridge 皮蛋瘦肉粥 ($9.00) was tasty and smooth, and reminded me of the kind of congee you get in Hong Kong. The pork slices were also very tender even though they were quite thick.
Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃

Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃

 
Another dim sum item I thought was quite good was the Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃 ($6.80). Its skin was thin and moist and the prawns were fresh and crunchy. However, considering the price that you are paying here, I could easily find a cheaper (and equally delicious) alternative.
Siew Mai 燒賣

Siew Mai 燒賣

 
The Siew Mai 燒賣 ($6.80) however, was suprisingly bland. It's very seldom that I taste bland siew mai, but I guess they were going for the more 'health conscious' palate because this siew mai really did not have much of a taste to it.
‘Xiao Long Bao’ 小笼包

‘Xiao Long Bao’ 小笼包

 
I was drawn in by the novelty of charging Xiao Long Bao by the piece and decided to order one 小笼包 ($4.00 for 1 piece) to try. Encased in an individual basket, the 小笼包 looked just like your regular sized dumpling and wasn't particularly huge or anything. Biting in, I found that it didn't have much soup inside either which was pretty disappointing. The meat tasted healthy and overall had very plain, natural flavours with hardly any seasoning.
Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥

Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥

 
Char Siew Pau 叉燒包

Char Siew Pau 叉燒包

 
Both the Char Siew Pau 叉燒包 ($5.00) and Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥 ($6.00) tasted quite normal too since they both make use of the same char siew filling. The good thing about the 叉燒酥 was that the pastry was very crumbly as it should be but the steamed pau was not as fluffy as the menu pointed it out to be.
Salted Egg Custard Bun 流沙包

Salted Egg Custard Bun 流沙包

 
Their Salted Egg Custard Bun 流沙包 ($5.80) looks really good with the slightly orange colored skin but inside, the lava was a little too diluted and light, not the rich, thick flowy salted egg yolk that you would expect for the price.
Scallop Chee Cheong Fun 猪肠粉

Scallop Chee Cheong Fun 猪肠粉

 
Finally, we couldn't leave here without having tried their legendary Chee Cheong Fun 猪肠粉 ($10.00) which costs 10 bucks no matter what filling you choose - we picked the scallop one since it seemed like the most "value-for-money" option. Turns out, it wasn't as legendary as we had expected it to be. The rice roll was a bit too thick and it wasn't as silky smooth as it should be.

Overall, if you're looking for a healthier Dim Sum choice, then Yan Ting would probably be your best bet because I have personally not eaten such plain and bland dim sum before. It will probably suit the palate of the older generation but adventurous foodies like me, really get no kick out of dim sum like this.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
jerjerjer
179 Review(s)
Level 4
Dim Sum Fit for a King? Smile Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood

Royal China Dim Sum

Royal China Dim Sum

 
Decked out in Tiffany blue, Royal China at Raffles Hotel exudes an aura of grandeur and elegance. I love how the restaurant has a high ceiling with large windows from the floor up, letting lots of natural light fill up the space. It was surprisingly packed for a weekday lunch; the main dining hall was full so we were ushered to the separate dining area at the back instead.
Royal China at Raffles Hotel

Royal China at Raffles Hotel

 
This area is probably more suitable for private dining parties and dinners, and unfortunately we were seated right at the corner where it was difficult to get the attention of the staff. Although it was a pretty nice and quiet environment to enjoy a relaxing meal. =]
Pan-fried Carrot Cake 香煎萝卜糕

Pan-fried Carrot Cake 香煎萝卜糕

 
First up we tried the Pan-fried Carrot Cake 香煎萝卜糕 ($4.00) which looked fantastic but tasted pretty normal. It was good that it had some turnip slices in the 'cake' to give it a varied texture.
Steamed Pork Bun 叉燒包

Steamed Pork Bun 叉燒包

 
We also ordered the Steamed BBQ Pork Bun 叉燒包 ($3.60). I thought the char siew filling wasn't as tasty as the I had at Imperial Treasure Nan Bei. It still had the rice wine taste to it, but it wasn't as prominent. Good thing that the skin of the pau was oh-so-fluffy! =D
Steamed Pork Dumpling ‘Siew Mai’ 燒賣

Steamed Pork Dumpling ‘Siew Mai’ 燒賣

 
Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃

Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃

 
And of course, I never miss a dim sum without ordering the usual Steamed Pork Dumpling ‘Siew Mai’ 燒賣 ($4.80) and Steamed Prawn Dumpling ‘Har Gow’ 蝦餃 ($4.80). The siew mai here comes with a wolfberry on top, instead of the usual fish roe and had a slight mushroom taste to it which was rather refreshing. The skin of the Har Gow was paper thin and jammed packed with crunchy fresh prawns.
Steamed Rice Roll ‘Chee Cheong Fun’ 猪肠粉

Steamed Rice Roll ‘Chee Cheong Fun’ 猪肠粉

 
While it's totally understandable that the restaurant is crowded and they are short on staff, it was disappointing that they got our order wrong. We actually ordered their specialty 3-in-1 Chee Cheong Fun (BBQ Pork, Prawn, Scallop) but only got the BBQ Pork Chee Cheong Fun 猪肠粉 ($4.80).

Even after we highlighted the mistake to the staff, they brought the plate of chee cheong fun back to the kitchen, only to serve us with the same thing again (*rolls eyes*). The rice roll was pretty silk and moist and the meat was good too, so it was a pity that we didn't get to try the other fillings.
Deep Fried Beancurd Skin with Prawn 鮮蝦付皮卷

Deep Fried Beancurd Skin with Prawn 鮮蝦付皮卷

 
They also got quite a few of our other orders wrong - starting with the Deep Fried Beancurd Skin with Prawn 鮮蝦付皮卷 ($5.60) which took a very long time to be served and we even had to remind them twice. The only saving grace was that the food is good. The deep-fried beancurd skin was extra crispy and hot, and also very tasty.
Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥

Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥

 
The Baked BBQ Pork Pastry 叉燒酥 ($4.00) was another item we ordered that they forgot to serve - really not a good idea to sit in such a desolated corner. One bite and the pastry was crumbling all over the place, which is a mark of a good 叉燒酥.
Steamed Custard Bun 流沙包

Steamed Custard Bun 流沙包

 
This Steamed Custard Bun 流沙包 ($4.00) is quite interesting. Unlike the usual rich and flowy salted egg lava, this 流沙包 had a fruity note to it and I found out later that they had actually added mango juice to it which gives it a deep orange color. It was also more liquefied that normal. But overall, still equally yummy!
Baked Egg Tart 蛋挞

Baked Egg Tart 蛋挞

 
To end off our very long lunch, we had some Baked Egg Tarts 蛋挞 ($4.90)! They were quite tiny and I easily finished mine in one bite. =D

Overall, although the service wasn't top-notch, I felt that the quality of food made up for it. Plus, the dim sum at Royal China was surprisingly affordable and not as expensive as I had expected. It would probably be better to make a reservation beforehand so that you don't get stuck in a corner where they will forget about you. I will definitely be back for more! lol
 
Recommended Dish(es):  流沙包
 
Date of Visit: Sep 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Titania
138 Review(s)
Level 4
MAD for food!  Smile Sep 02, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant

Came to MAD for a team lunch and from the moment you walk in, you will see a display of furniture, books and other items that will make you think you've walked into a modern furniture stall instead! Very nice concept as it made me curious to venture in further.

 
Check out the interior. They use a very pleasing color scheme of soft blue, vibrant red and black. I really do feel like I'm in a modern arts display area! It did worry me that this place would fare better in the decor than the food but will find out when the food arrives.

 
There are more private seating areas along the side of the restaurant. I like the whole curtain decoration which makes it look like one of those private areas at opera houses and the red wall gives it a very sexy feel. Like a setting for one of those secret rendezvous meeting between lovers at a ritzy opera. Hehe!

 
The iconic symbol of MAD is the Chinese Opera face as seen on their napkin. I guess the juxtaposition of a traditional image like the Chinese Opera in a modern layout is to show the concept of mixing the contemporary and the old school style.

 
More images of the Chinese Opera face on coasters but in vibrant pops of color! I really love this kind of Andy Warhol design.

 
Our first dish is the Deep-Fried Liu Sha Bao ($4.80). Now the Liu Sha Bao I've usually had are the steamed and soft variety. This deep fried version has a harder crust but the inside has the usual oozy salted egg yolk. Honestly, I still prefer the steamed version but after a few bites, it does grow on you. Think of it as deep fried man tou dipped in salted egg yolk.

 
Next dish is the Black Angus Siew Mai ($6.20) and unfortunately I do not fancy this dish much. The beef is quite tough and didn't carry much flavour. My idea of black angus beef was it to be tender soft and juicy, but alas the siew mai turned out quite dry.

 
From this cross section, you can see how "compact" the beef is and how dry it is. I had to dip it generously in chili sauce to get some extra flavour to it.

 
Now comes my main dish - the Josper-grilled Wagyu Beef Claypot Rice ($26). This wonderful claypot creation comes with one damn sexy hot spring egg and is drizzled with aromatic truffle dressing. I cannot tell you how exquisite this decadent dish is. It's so good I had to bold the name. Tender slices of Wagyu feed cooked to medium rare perfection, the large onsen egg, the smell of truffle oil... I was in food heaven. Crack the egg and mix it with the rice and tender beef, then just dig in. It was silky, savory and I love every morsel of it. The beef was really good (I wish there were more slices!) and that egg gives me a Japanese feel as people in Japan likes to mix raw eggs to coat their rice to be sticky. Believe me, you will be scrapping the bottom of the claypot as this is super good!

 
To end the meal, I had one of their signature cocktails - The Strawberry Shortcake ($14). This drink is mildly sweet, only a slight bite of alcohol and comes with a shortbread biscuit. The color is very pretty and girl. I find it refreshing and a good beverage to have on a hot sunny day!

The menu could be a hit and miss so I would say go for their wagyu beef series!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Josper-grilled Wagyu Beef Claypot Rice
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
jerjerjer
179 Review(s)
Level 4
Going MAD For Food Smile Aug 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant

MAD - Modern Asian Diner

MAD - Modern Asian Diner

 
Part of the Tung Lok Group of restaurants, and fronted by celebrity singer/songwriter Dick Lee, MAD: Modern Asian Diner is one of those restaurants you definitely would not want to miss out on. Cast in soft warm lighting, stepping into this restaurant at The Grandstand is like walking into an art gallery of sorts. Decked out in bold bright colours, the decor is definitely befitting of Dick Lee’s eclectic and flamboyant sense of style.

Marrying the best of both Asian and Western cuisine, MAD serves up a good variety of Chinese dim sum and also some Spanish tapas. And if you’re ever in need of a potent drink any time of the day just head on down to their bar counter, helmed by mixologist Kino Soh, for a cocktail or two. =D
Pink Thyme Lemonade ($4)

Pink Thyme Lemonade ($4)

 
Well, I’m not exactly a teetotaler but I seldom drink alcoholic beverages in mid-day unless I’m on holiday lounging on the beaches of the Caribbean or something. So I decided to go for a kiddie mocktail instead – Pink Thyme Lemonade($4), which looks equally pretty but without the alcoholic kick. =P You can really taste the crushed up herbs in the drink and it makes for a refreshing beverage to chill down on a hot day.
Black Angus Siew Mai ($6.80)

Black Angus Siew Mai ($6.80)

 
One of the interesting dim sum that caught my eye was the Black Angus Siew Mai 黑安格斯烧卖 ($6.20). Sadly, the novelty of putting black angus beef into a siew mai did not translate into a palate-pleasing dish. Its chewy and springy texture was quite an interesting take on a siew mai, but it was a little bit on the dry side.

 
Deep Fried Liu Sha Bao ($4.80)

Deep Fried Liu Sha Bao ($4.80)

 
Is it just me being ignorant? But I seldom come across Deep-Fried Liu Sha Bao 炸流沙包 ($4.80). In fact, this was my first time trying a liu sha bao that has been deep fried instead of the usual steamed version. And I must say that it is OH-SO-GOOD! The fluffy insides encased in a crispy skin and oozing golden salted egg yolk lava was simply divine. Well, it was a little on the oily side, but there’s no harm in indulging in a sinful treat once in a while. =D
Lobster Crispy Noodle ($32)

Lobster Crispy Noodle ($32)

 
Everyone has been raving about how good the Wagyu Beef Claypot Rice is, but I decided to try the Lobster Crispy Noodle 龙虾面 ($32) instead. The noodles were deep fried to a crisp and there is this distinct smokey and burnt flavour to it even though it doesn’t look burnt. Plus, the lobster meat was really fresh and prepared skillfully such that the meat is springy and just about right, not at all overcooked. My only gripe is that the gravy was way too salty and the noodles were a bit difficult to eat since it was displayed in a standing tower of sorts. They also threw in some seaweed on the side which adds a splendid “oceanic” tone to the dish.
Open kitchen concept

Open kitchen concept

 
Overall my experience at MAD: Modern Asian Diner was a pretty good one. What’s not to like about a chic ambiance, fuss-free ordering via iPads and all that good booze? The service staff were also pretty friendly and showed us how to make our orders via the iPad step by step – he even brought over an additional iPad instead of having the 4 of us share just one single device. I would probably pop by again for happy hour if I get the chance!

For more food reviews, check out my blog at www.jerjerjer.com!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Deep Fried Liu Sha Bao
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend