OpenRice Index
  
FoodieFC
This is FoodieFC . I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Coffeeshop.
Member 32 First(s)
No. of Review226 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended14 Recommended
Popularity2090 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1293 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant48 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲280 Follower(s)
FoodieFC  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 226 Reviews in Singapore
Yet to be convinced  OK Jan 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Stall / Kiosk | Brunch

Some of us may have heard about Long Ge Snack 龍哥小吃 which serves crispy chicken cutlet. Long Ge Snack opened early this year in Sembawang Shopping Centre.

 

 
Notice the many different choices of dipping sauce for the fries. I heard the special cheese sauce is a must try.

Although their signature dish is Grilled Crispy Chicken, we ordered the Crispy Chicken (non-spicy) as our throat was not too well. There was quite a number of people queuing up at the stall. We waited for close to 15 minutes for our Crispy Chicken. Not necessary a bad thing as the staff only start cooking the chicken when they received customers' orders.

 
The cover of the box containing the Crispy Chicken looks cool! Nice packaging.

 
Weird that there is salad together with the chicken. Looks like a good way to make up for the 'sinfulness'. However, I am not impressed by the salad. The chicken was very crispy, tender and juicy. But somehow in terms of flavour and fragrant, I think it loses out to the likes of Shilin fried chicken.

Well, I have several people raving how good the Grilled Crispy Chicken is. I will have to try it one day to find out the powers of Long Ge.

Detailed Post: http://foodiefc.blogspot.sg/2011/11/long-ge-snack-sembawang-shopping-centre.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not impressed  OK Jan 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Chinese | Restaurant | Chicken Rice | Kids-Friendly

The Hainanese Chicken Rice is a de facto national dish of Singapore. It can be enjoyed in literally any food courts, hawker centres, coffee shops and restaurants. There has been claims that Wee Nam Kee Chicken Rice along with the likes of Tian Tian Hainanese Chicken Rice, Chatterbox and Fook Seng Goldenhill Chicken Rice are favourites among Singaporeans. With this background, FoodieFC set off to check out Wee Nam Kee Chicken Rice!

 
Wee Nam Kee a family-own business in operation since 1982 is well-known as a chicken rice speciality shop. Today, Wee Nam Kee serves a wide range of local favourite dishes including Hainanese Chicken Rice, Curry Fish Head, Cereal Prawn and Roasted Pork. Wee Nam Kee is located opposite Novena MRT Station, along the same road as where Revenue House is.

I visited Wee Nam Kee on a weekday at 11am. Hence, it was not crowded. Customers patronising Wee Nam Kee do not need to queue up to order. Instead, sit down at a vacant table and wait for one of the staff to take your order. Payment can be made at the end of meal at the cashier located in the stall.

 
Some of the must have for chicken rice - e.g. chilli, ginger, sweet sauce, pepper.

 
I ordered the 'White / Steamed Chicken' also known as 白鸡 in Chinese with Chicken Gizzard. 'White' Chicken Rice $4.00 with Gizzard $0.50.

 

 
The chicken rice was fragrant and not oily. Generous portion of Chicken Gizzard was given. However, the main star of this dish was disappointing. The White / Steamed Chicken was a tad too dry and tough. It seems to a certain flavour to give it a certain oomph. Luckily, the chilli help to enhanced the taste and grease the chicken.

I was quite disappointed by this meal at Wee Nam Kee as they are well known for being one of the best chicken rice stall in Singapore.

I noticed from the few tables that were occupied, everyone ordered Roasted Chicken 烧鸡 instead of Steamed Chicken. Maybe I should have ordered that instead.

Detailed review: http://foodiefc.blogspot.sg/2012/02/wee-nam-kee-chicken-rice-novena.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Buffet Lunch!  OK Jan 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

This post is almost 3 months overdue. Went to The Triple Three at Meritus Mandarin for it's International Buffet during December (Christmas Period). With Groupon voucher, it cost just $34 per person.

Just outside The Triple Three, we spotted this!

Made of real Ginger Bread!

 
Part of the restaurant. We came in at 1205pm, as it was still early, it was not very crowded. This place has a very large sitting capacity.

Customers can leave their table to get food being assured that the table is reserved.
Ok, now I shall let the food do the talking! Some images might not be slightly blur.

 

 
Prawns were not fresh.

 
The duck was tough and hard.

 
The Crab Meat Soup taste like Shark's Fin Soup. Starchy, crab meat, egg white. Taste good!

 
The first batch of Black Pepper Crab Claws was delicious! Fresh, firm crab meat that can be easily pulled out of the shell. But after that, the next few batches the Crab Claws was not that fresh and the meat was stuck to the shell.

 

 
Lots of variety of food as seen in the picture. You are basically spoilt for choice. There are also Dim Sum, Pasta sections. Despite the variety, I felt that the quality was lacking. The service staff were very efficient in clearing the dirty plates from the table and refilling the plain water. In terms of ambiance, it was cozy and comfortable. The downside was that it was quite crowded. So be there early!

Detailed review: http://foodiefc.blogspot.sg/2012/02/triple-three-meritus-mandarin.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Generous portions OK Jan 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Seafood | Halal | Kids-Friendly

The Manhattan Fish Market was one of those offering a Buy 1 Get 1 Free Deal called the OOHSOME TWOSOME Deal!

The OOHSOME TWOSOME Deal allows customers to purchase a combination of any 2 dishes (Small Flame and/or Small Grill) for the price of just $19.90++. This deal is only valid till 8 March 2012.

Visited The Manhattan Fish Market outlet at Marina Square to try out this deal.

Large poster outside The Manhattan Fish Market promoting the OOHSOME TWOSOME Deal. Arrived at 530pm on a Saturday and saw a short queue. Luckily, there was plenty of space and we got a table straight away. I was surprised when the waiter gave us the main menu only, had to request for the OOHSOME TWOSOME menu. Guess it was an oversight as the place was packed.

The OOHSOME TWOSOME Deal allows customers to add Soup of the Day and Mocktail (Drink) for an addition fee (of course). We decided to order 1 Small Flame and 1 Small Grill and top up $9.90 for 2 Soup of the Day and 2 Mocktails.

 
The Soup of the Day was Cream of Mushroom Soup. It comes in a very small bowl (wish that more was given). Lots of fragrant mushrooms bits in the soup.

 
The Mocktail which I choose was the Cala Cala which is Sprite with Lime added inside. Very refreshing.

 
The Small Flame consist of the award winning Flaming Prawns, Battered Fillet, Garlic Herb Rice, Crispy Chips (Fries), Broccoli and Carrots.

The Flaming Prawns was delicious, the melted cheese on top was thick and cheesy. In addition, the prawn was fresh, firm and not charred. Battered Fillet was yummy, except that I found it on the oily end. Crispy Chips which was fries. The Broccoli and Carrots are steamed, makes this dish looks bright, cheerful and appetising!

 
The Small Grill consist of grilled Fish Fillet, grilled Calamari, grilled prawns, Garlic Herb Rice, Crispy Chips (Fries), Broccoli and Carrots.

The grilled prawn was good, however I prefer the flaming prawn version. Again, prefer Batter Fillet to Grilled Fillet. The Grilled Calamari was average, I prefer their Fried Calamari which can be ordered in their A La Carte Menu.

Both Small Grill and Small Flame comes with Garlic Herb Rice. They are very generous with the portions especially the Garlic Herb Rice. We were unable to finish our respective orders. If I was to patronise Manhattan Fish Market again, I will order 2 Small Flame instead! This deal is certainty value for money! However, the service could be improved. Many a times, we found it hard to get the attention of the waiter / waitress. When we were leaving at around 630pm, we noticed that there was a long queue outside The Manhattan Fish Market! Luckily we went for an early dinner!

Hurry enjoy the OOHSOME TWOSOME Deal! It is valid till 8 March 2012. Wish that The Manhattan Fish Market and other restaurants can have more of such deals more often!

Detailed review: http://foodiefc.blogspot.sg/2012/02/manhattan-fish-market-marina-square.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fresh and generous serving OK Jan 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

Rasa Sayang Western Food 啦莎沙央西餐 is a Western food stall located at the S11 at Ang Mo Kio Central (next to Jubilee). This western stall is one of the most popular stall in the hawker centre due to its quality, generous portions and affordable prices. It has been around for a long time, since I was studying in junior college, that was at least 10 years ago!

 
It has been at least 2 years since I stepped into the S11 again. With this visit, I knew I had to try the western food. It was good to know that the stall still exists. There was a short queue; customers waiting to order.

 
Once you have ordered, (remember to take note of your table number) you can go back to your seat and order a drink while waiting for the food to arrive.

Despite the many orders in front of me, I got my food within 15 minutes, which was fast! I thought that I would need to wait for at least half an hour.

 
The Chicken Chop with Black Pepper Sauce was served with Garlic Bread, Fries, Baked Beans and Coleslaw. A big, thick, juicy chunk of chicken chop was given. I do vaguely remember the chicken chop given was much bigger last time. But well, I can't complain much as this was still bigger than those served elsewhere at other western stalls. The chicken chop was well-marinated and grilled. I thought that the black pepper sauce was just nice. Not too salty and not overly pepperish.

As for the fries and baked beans, they were normal. The coleslaw deserve a mention, it was fresh and crunchy. Moreover, there was no artificial taste to it. *thumbs up*

Not mind blowing, just an average Chicken Chop with Black Pepper Sauce. The ingredients given were fresh and generous. It used to be better (in taste and portion) last time. Nevertheless, this is still value for money!

Detailed review: http://foodiefc.blogspot.sg/2013/01/rasa-sayang-western-food-ang-mo-kio.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0