OpenRice Index
  
slyrhimura
This is slyrhimura living in Ang Mo Kio. I am a writerI like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Orchard. Filipino, Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Desserts and Cakes, Pasta, Ramen.
Member 35 First(s)
No. of Review189 Review(s)
編輯推介數目12 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity3978 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos296 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant18 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲71 Follower(s)
slyrhimura  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 189 Reviews in Singapore
Average Lah OK Jan 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : International

Chose Spuds & Aprons for my birthday dinner because of two reasons:

1. The location, which is atop Mount Faber, is just spectacular
2. It's new so I was curious what the food was like there

So going there, had to take a cab up to the Mount Faber. When my friends and I arrived at the restaurant, we were quite impressed. It was like a tree house and the floor was made out of wood planks. There were also real trees which add to this ambiance. Anyway, I made reservations so we got seated right away.

What we ordered were:
1. Wicked Fries for sharing
2. Pasta Vongole - for long life
3. Oven-roasted Marinated Mustard Chicken
4. BBQ Baby Back Ribs
5. Crispy Pork Belly
6. Grilled Char Siew Lamb Rack

There were nothing stellar about the dishes. All of them were just plain average and didn't wow my palate. The fries were thick cut and were drenched with BBQ sauce and Cheese. It wouldve been better if maybe the sauce was separate so at least the fries were crispy.

 

 

 
The Vongole was just plain simple. Nothing to shout about. The mustard chicken was very light and passable. The BBQ Baby Back ribs were the best one for me. The ribs were richly drenched in the sauce and there was a lot of meat in the bones.

The Pork belly was good too, the skin was very crispy and it was the first thing which everyone went for.. since all of us shared the dishes. The lamb was a bit gamy so I didn't even finish my share.

We had these dishes with beer. There was a 1-for-1 promotion until 8pm and we were there at 730pm, Just in time!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Belly
 
Date of Visit: Jan 24, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Plaza Brasserie CNY Offerings Smile Jan 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : International | Hotel | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

Plaza Brasserie is one of the few buffet restaurants I keep going back to. The reason is their three-tiered chocolate cake (in the dessert section) which I can't get enough of.

So last week, I was there again for lunch! That time was the first day of their CNY promotion. And you could easily feel it in the air with all the red decors and lanterns decorating the buffet area. They re-arranged the dishes too, dedicating a whole counter for their CNY dishes. There was quite a lot to choose from that I had a hard time deciding.

So while I was contemplating, I started with the seafood broth first. It was quite savoury and you could taste the seafood in the soup itself. I can get full just with the soup itself. Then, I tried a bit of everything - the soft shell crab, fried pork, braised duck, and some veggies. They were quite filling that I wasn't able to go back for more. I tried a bit of yu Sheng too, and it was quite refreshing.... the salmon slices tasted very fresh. I ended my meal there with tuna and salmon sashimi.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Three-tiered chocolate cake
 
Date of Visit: Jan 17, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

So Overrated OK Jan 15, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Ramen

I've heard about this ramen place in Tanjong Pagar.. that people queue for hours just to have a taste of its famous offering. And from hearsay, I had wanted to try it for myself to see if it's as good as most people say. I got the chance yesterday when my colleagues and I ended up in this area (after our original plan of eating somewhere else).

It was about 1pm when we had our lunch, and there was no queue. I was a bit surprised because I actually expected to wait for about an hour just to get a table inside the very small resto space. Once you enter, it will seem like a different era with Japanese songs being played over and over, Japanese calligraphy, newspaper clippings posted on the walls.

 
We were given papers where we could customise our orders. I chose the spicy ramen with all toppings (egg, fungus, etc). Orders arrived within 15 minutes, which was a good thing. I didnt realise till I sat inside that I was starving. Anyway on first sip, the soup was all spice without any hint of pork broth for me. It was rather disappointing.

There was a generous chunk of beef slices and noodles. But the soup was the most important thing for me. Maybe my expectations were so high that my ramen experience was just meh.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Spicy Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant

 
Over the holidays, I tagged along when my sister brought her kids (aged 5 and 2) to Sentosa's Port of Lost Wonder. We arrived there a little past lunch time and we were just starving. So, before the kiddos could go and swim, we went to Port Belly for a late grub.

The menu was really designed for kids -pizza, pasta, fries, etc. The day we went there, they had this fantastic promotion where you could get one whole margheritapizza, fries, platter of munchies, and three dips.

The food wasn't that impressive, and I assume it's because the food is prepared to cater to the kid's palate. It tasted very fastfood. The pizza was very plain, the fries were served a bit cold, the platter was pretty average. But it was the best one of the lot.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 28, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Burger Smile Dec 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Restaurant | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

At last, I finally tried Charlie & Co. Ive passed this restaurant at the ION Basement so many times, but the price tag always changes my mind. 15 bucks for a normal lunch is too much for me. Haha! Anyway, I decided to splurge one day and tried what this fairly new place has to offer.

 
I chose the Charlie Classic Burger. If I remember correctly, it was 12 bucks? When you add truffle fries, it's about 6 dollars. The patty was quite thick and tasty. And the veggies added to it was quite fresh. the bun wasn't thick as i would have liked it, but it was still pretty good and slightly toasted.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Charlie Classic Burger
 
Date of Visit: Dec 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0