OpenRice Index
  
redarmy
This is redarmy living in Sengkang. I am a snr sales exec, work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Bugis, Orchard, Katong. Korean, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and BBQ, Buffet , Burgers and Sandwiches.
Member 12 First(s)
No. of Review64 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity403 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos67 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲28 Follower(s)
redarmy  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 64 Reviews in Singapore
Fast filling lunch Cry Jul 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges

Jamboree Bar is nestled on the 2nd floor of Orchard Towers. Country music lovers would be pleased to hear old school country music from the likes of Johnny Cash and George Strait. I spent my lunch here as it is near my office one afternoon.I haven't tried many things on the menu, but the classic fish and chip. My co-worker order something else from the set lunch - club sandwich, chicken chop, although I secretly think most of them forced themselves to order only because our boss bring us to this place, LOL! Prices are on the high side, food is average. The Café is always clean and neatly organized. Customer service really depends on who is working. About the food, the cod fish n chips was soggy and the fries equally so. The layers between the breading and the fish would have been a little less mushy. You could get a better fish n chips at a hawker center. If one has a hankerin' for some pretty traditional fish 'n chips, i wont recommend here but on a plus side. It makes for a fast, filling lunch and 1 point up for deco.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

standard dropping Cry Jun 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Roasted Meat

 


I used to frequent this hawker center stall. It was really good. After a long period of absence was hoping to experience the nostalgic taste of Ming Ji's duck rice. To my disappointment, the standard has dropped. The rice was hard and the meat was stiff. If this is thenew standard, I doubt it will be able to survive the keen competition at Whampoa Hawker Centre. Other popular stalls, eg. the Hoover, are still excellent.

The duck here is actually not enjoyable. The meat was dry and hard and the unique, sweet vinegar chilli that used to be the perfect accompaniment for the duck was gone. It was actually quite shocking! 0.5/5 for me huffy
 
Date of Visit: Jun 04, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

over exposed nasi lemak Cry Jun 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

I'm going to write this review without excessive philosophizing, ranting or use of the "I" word. There will be no lengthy back story. I wouldn't be saying anything new anyway, since Selera Rasa has been on TV, blogged about and reviewed. Little wonder why, since this is arguably Singapore's best nasi lemak.

Imagine a simple 3 ingredient high. The rich fragrance of basmati rice simmered and steamed in coconut milk and pandan leaves, the abrupt spicy heat of a sweet chili pepper coulis, and the savory comfort of a curry-fried chicken wing. There are other condiments, a fried egg, cucumber slices and ikan bills, the ubiquitous accompaniment to any self-respecting nasi lemak, but your brain is past caring about these other players on the plate and your eyes struggle to focus on what it is exactly that you've put in your mouth that still has you reeling. It's the triumvirate of chili, rice and curried chicken wing....trust me.

I'd like to think I know a thing or two about nasi lemak, having had it just about every Saturday for tea since I was knee high to a cicak. So I think I speak with some personal authority on the matter of whether Selera Rasa is a worthy nasi lemak hall-of-famer. I think it is. I also think that Selera Rasa is a victim of it's own fame. All the media coverage creates unrealistic expectations in diners who flock here only to be disappointed when angels don't appear and next week's 4D numbers fail to materialize in the basmati. Don't expect too much, come with an open mind and set your senses free to explore and you will come away satisfied, if not pleasant surprised.

It really is just honest to goodness solid quotidian fare. Look beyond the bull-@$!# that's been piled on these guys by the media and see it for the single specialty master hawker stall that it is and you'll see what all the fuss is about. It's just a local stall that serves good honest nasi lemak. No gimmicks. No fancy service. Just think of all the superlatives that pepper reviews of the latest French restaurant, Italian joint or Spanish tapas place; why don't those same superlatives apply here? Based on flavor alone, I see no reasonable explanation why not...unless it's the bull-@#$% these places are throwing in your eyes.

Get real, get local, hug your local hawker today and tell him or her that you deserve better

 
.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

no mee for busy people Cry Mar 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

This food stall is busy! They get more phone calls for pick-up orders than phone calls that are being made by telemarketers. As such, expect a little bit of a wait as there is only one guy in the back working tirelessly on a massive wok to make some good and inexpensive food. It really was worth the wait. Really good wok stir-fried noodles. The accompanying condiments of fish sauce, chilies, and lime also went well really with the noodles and seafood.

 
tongue
 
Date of Visit: Mar 20, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

They used to be much better. Service levels have gone down while price has gone up.

Focusing on the Laksa, I'm not very discerning but I would say they are definitely one of the better stalls in Singapore, the coconut (santan) is very thick and you can add in as much sambal as you want to make the dish spicy (but don't add too much, you'll only kill your tongue). Get the otah to go with the laksa.

Laksa + Otah + drink (you'll definitely need it) will cost you around 6 bucks.

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 13, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0