OpenRice Index
  
redarmy
This is redarmy living in Sengkang. I am a snr sales exec, work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Bugis, Orchard, Katong. Korean, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and BBQ, Buffet , Burgers and Sandwiches.
Member 12 First(s)
No. of Review64 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity403 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos67 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲28 Follower(s)
redarmy  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 64 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

There is both seating indoors and outdoors, and parking is ample next door. The only problem is the far flung location in the east of Singapore.it give us a feeling of escaping the crowd in a relaxed cafe atmosphere.My friends and I are a little enthusiastic about coffee. We tried their flat white, it had a flat bold bitter taste.

The buttermilk waffles served with mangoes on top had a dry texture to it. It was kinda chewy, my friend didn't like it but I was ok with it.

 
I ordered the Swiss breakfast that comes with sauté mushrooms served on rosti with 2 cheese sausages and scrambled eggs. The mushrooms had a slightly burned taste, rosti was bland but it went well with the sausages splashed with a little sour cream. The eggs were nice, moist and fluffy. I enjoyed this dish. Then again we didn't really specify.

The ice chocolate was delicious.

Atmosphere was pleasant and the staff were all pretty nice.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 29, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

standard dropping Cry Jun 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Roasted Meat

 


I used to frequent this hawker center stall. It was really good. After a long period of absence was hoping to experience the nostalgic taste of Ming Ji's duck rice. To my disappointment, the standard has dropped. The rice was hard and the meat was stiff. If this is thenew standard, I doubt it will be able to survive the keen competition at Whampoa Hawker Centre. Other popular stalls, eg. the Hoover, are still excellent.

The duck here is actually not enjoyable. The meat was dry and hard and the unique, sweet vinegar chilli that used to be the perfect accompaniment for the duck was gone. It was actually quite shocking! 0.5/5 for me huffy
 
Date of Visit: Jun 04, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

over exposed nasi lemak Cry Jun 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

I'm going to write this review without excessive philosophizing, ranting or use of the "I" word. There will be no lengthy back story. I wouldn't be saying anything new anyway, since Selera Rasa has been on TV, blogged about and reviewed. Little wonder why, since this is arguably Singapore's best nasi lemak.

Imagine a simple 3 ingredient high. The rich fragrance of basmati rice simmered and steamed in coconut milk and pandan leaves, the abrupt spicy heat of a sweet chili pepper coulis, and the savory comfort of a curry-fried chicken wing. There are other condiments, a fried egg, cucumber slices and ikan bills, the ubiquitous accompaniment to any self-respecting nasi lemak, but your brain is past caring about these other players on the plate and your eyes struggle to focus on what it is exactly that you've put in your mouth that still has you reeling. It's the triumvirate of chili, rice and curried chicken wing....trust me.

I'd like to think I know a thing or two about nasi lemak, having had it just about every Saturday for tea since I was knee high to a cicak. So I think I speak with some personal authority on the matter of whether Selera Rasa is a worthy nasi lemak hall-of-famer. I think it is. I also think that Selera Rasa is a victim of it's own fame. All the media coverage creates unrealistic expectations in diners who flock here only to be disappointed when angels don't appear and next week's 4D numbers fail to materialize in the basmati. Don't expect too much, come with an open mind and set your senses free to explore and you will come away satisfied, if not pleasant surprised.

It really is just honest to goodness solid quotidian fare. Look beyond the bull-@$!# that's been piled on these guys by the media and see it for the single specialty master hawker stall that it is and you'll see what all the fuss is about. It's just a local stall that serves good honest nasi lemak. No gimmicks. No fancy service. Just think of all the superlatives that pepper reviews of the latest French restaurant, Italian joint or Spanish tapas place; why don't those same superlatives apply here? Based on flavor alone, I see no reasonable explanation why not...unless it's the bull-@#$% these places are throwing in your eyes.

Get real, get local, hug your local hawker today and tell him or her that you deserve better

 
.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

gem find in ghost town OK Apr 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre | Seafood | Zi Char | BBQ

Seafood stalls/restaurants in Singapore = crowd magnets. Some with significantly stronger magnetic waves than others. It is common sight to see groups crowding the larger tables (or filling up the whole establishment) and ordering a sumptuous feast enough to feed the continent of Africa (or in some cases, appease the hunger or photo needs of any single ).

So when I first walked past "The Meeting Place" after having read a review about it some time ago when searching around Clementi...I was surprised to see the tables in front of it...empty on a weekend (then again, the little food centre is a ghost town).

I walked straight up to the stall and was greeted by an uncle who stopped his conversation with another uncle to ask if I was interested in anything. I guess I am interested...no line...great previous review...and a seriously hungry skinny glutton. Perfect combination.

ROUND #1:

BBQ Sotong $10 - great sambal flavor, fresh squid, cooked just right

 
Kang Kong $4 - flavorful, once again cooked perfectly

 
Cockles $3 - asked for well-done

 
2 plain rice $1 - rice was exactly the way I'd make it (slightly dry for a firmer texture)...after the first bite, i asked for another one

ROUND #2 (loved it, came back the next day):

BBQ Stingray $10 - luscious succulent awesomeness

 
Pak Choi $4 - omgosh, I'm in love with this dish. My favorite style of cooking this particular
vegetable to date.

 
2 plain rice $1

VERDICT:

The portions are TINY (especially with vegetables) but the flavors and food quality definitely make up for it. The people working there are also very friendly. I would definitely eat here whenever I'm in the area.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

new prata king in sin ming OK Apr 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian

Move over Prata House, this place gives u a run for your money! This place is just a mere 2 or 3 blocks away from Prata House and I'm surprised not many people have talked about this place.

Ok, the prata IS a bit smaller BUT it's fatter and tastier than Prata House IMO. The curry? The bomb! I had regular curry, so if you're wondering about the fish or chicken curries, I don't know. But I've heard that the fish curry there is good, even for people that don't enjoy fish.

Oh, did I mention it's cheaper than Prata House?! Because it is! I got 1 egg & onion prata w/ regular curry for $1.80.

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 04, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0