OpenRice Index
  
redarmy
This is redarmy living in Sengkang. I am a snr sales exec, work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Bugis, Orchard, Katong. Korean, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and BBQ, Buffet , Burgers and Sandwiches.
Member 12 First(s)
No. of Review64 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity403 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos67 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲28 Follower(s)
redarmy  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 64 Reviews in Singapore
cheap western in AMK OK Jan 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

Before Botak Jones, Rasa Sayang Western food in S11 Ang Mo Kio is known to have one of the bigger portions of western food in Singapore.

 
While the price is a tad more expensive than the average western food stall in Singapore, Rasa Sayang makes up for it with quantity in their portion of meat. A single portion of chicken chop goes for $5.80. This includes coleslaw, fries and baked beans.

Despite the large quantity, I find that the quality is just slightly better than average. Rasa Sayang is most famous among students for their humongous chicken cutlet, spanning nearly 1/3 the area of their plate.

Personally, I feel that at their price point, it is comparable to that of the western food found in air-conditioned food courts in Singapore but with much more quantity. I recommend this stall to hungry fans of western food looking for large portions.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 09, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

stardard chicken rice OK Jan 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chicken Rice

Located in Kim San Leng hawker center near Junction 8, Ming Kee Chicken Rice never fails to attract large crowds during meal times. One doesn't need to worry as their service is relatively fast unless there are office workers who are ordering huge takeaways for their colleagues.
Personally, I waited for 10 minutes during lunch at 1.00pm and I would estimate that one would be served from anywhere between 10 to 20 minutes during peak periods.

Ming Kee chicken rice stall serves steamed chicken only and they do it in the different ways most Singaporean hawkers do. One can have the standard chicken rice and chicken, or order half a / full chickens for sharing.

I ordered the standard plate of chicken rice with breast meat and extra rice at $3.30. It is nice to note that they do fulfill one's preferences of chicken parts such as breast meat, thigh meat etc. at no extra charge. Their rice was not oily, while the breast meat was a bit too dry for my taste. However, Ming Kee's chicken rice still stands out from many other chicken rice stalls due to their unique rice texture and flavoring as well as their large sized portion of chicken meat.

Lastly, while many Singaporean hawkers rise and fall with their chili sauce, Ming Kee's chili sauce was not spectacular but good enough for one's meal with the chicken rice. This is definitely one of the must try chicken rice outlets in Singapore.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 09, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

standard dropping mee Cry Jan 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

Fei Fei Wanton Mee used to be good. As in really good. However, the standards have dropped, or more accurately, been dropping since 2 years ago.
Being 24 hours makes them the place of choice for many night owls, and since there's ample parking, you'll find a lot of foodies and pub crawlers there after 2am. The crowds are generally subdued and its very much quiet most of the time.
Famous for their hand made noodles which are pretty tiny, so you have

 
to order a bigger bowl. The wantans are a little too salty and small and the char siew sliced too thinly to appreciate. Their chicken leg noodles on the other hand, is nice and the gravy it comes with is tasty. That's the only thing I have now when I do go.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

not so vintage breakfast OK Dec 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Coffeeshop

Before visiting Chin Mee Chin, I was told two things: their sugee cake (semolina cake) was the bomb, and be prepared for grumpy service. That was not-quite true. Service was efficient, but hey, we don't expect kopitiam waitresses to flirt as if they were in a diner, do we? The breakfast favorites of kaya toast + eggs was satisfying, as was the luncheon meat roll. The sugee cake was nothing to write home about, however. I suspect the confectionery was much better in their earlier years.

The place definitely has its fans--it being crowded on a weekday morning

 
, we shared our table with an old-timer who had been going there for years. She suggested we try the luncheon meat roll, the cream puffs, etc. I hesitate to call them "vintage" but they definitely belong to a specific genre of Asian-ised western pastry items. Unless you have a hankering for old style choux pastry, I suggest concentrating on kaya toast and coffee, and leaving the rest.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

mee pok affair OK Dec 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

This store is located within the parking area at one of the corner coffeeshop. Apparently there's another shop by the same name in the yellow row of shops but the white sign one is the nicer stall. Well i suppose it has to be good when it's full even with the rain.

If you are a fussy eater like me, you don't get much of a choice here. There is only 1 dish and it comes with fishball, fishcake and pork slices and that's it. I don't even get to add meatballs to the mix.

On first look, the dish looks really plain. This is the chili version and it appeared really harmless. That impression didn't last long. The sauce is well balanced with vinegar and the chili is kick ass after a few mouthfuls. I can take spicy and this is alright to me, ask for less if you can't take the heat.

The noodles are crunchy and nice but they dry up after a while. My trick to eating dry noodles is to pour a little soup in now and then to maintain the moisture of the noodles so that they don't stick together in a lump.

The fishballs are bouncy and salty (just the way i like it). The pork slices are also very tender and well cooked. Too long and the noodles become too soggy and the fishballs dry and hard etc etc etc. Anyhow, the conclusion is that this is an awesome bowl of mee pok!

 
 
Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0