OpenRice Index
  
redarmy
This is redarmy living in Sengkang. I am a snr sales exec, work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Bugis, Orchard, Katong. Korean, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and BBQ, Buffet , Burgers and Sandwiches.
Member 12 First(s)
No. of Review64 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity403 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos67 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲28 Follower(s)
redarmy  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 64 Reviews in Singapore
standard dropping Cry Jun 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Roasted Meat

 


I used to frequent this hawker center stall. It was really good. After a long period of absence was hoping to experience the nostalgic taste of Ming Ji's duck rice. To my disappointment, the standard has dropped. The rice was hard and the meat was stiff. If this is thenew standard, I doubt it will be able to survive the keen competition at Whampoa Hawker Centre. Other popular stalls, eg. the Hoover, are still excellent.

The duck here is actually not enjoyable. The meat was dry and hard and the unique, sweet vinegar chilli that used to be the perfect accompaniment for the duck was gone. It was actually quite shocking! 0.5/5 for me huffy
 
Date of Visit: Jun 04, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

over exposed nasi lemak Cry Jun 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

I'm going to write this review without excessive philosophizing, ranting or use of the "I" word. There will be no lengthy back story. I wouldn't be saying anything new anyway, since Selera Rasa has been on TV, blogged about and reviewed. Little wonder why, since this is arguably Singapore's best nasi lemak.

Imagine a simple 3 ingredient high. The rich fragrance of basmati rice simmered and steamed in coconut milk and pandan leaves, the abrupt spicy heat of a sweet chili pepper coulis, and the savory comfort of a curry-fried chicken wing. There are other condiments, a fried egg, cucumber slices and ikan bills, the ubiquitous accompaniment to any self-respecting nasi lemak, but your brain is past caring about these other players on the plate and your eyes struggle to focus on what it is exactly that you've put in your mouth that still has you reeling. It's the triumvirate of chili, rice and curried chicken wing....trust me.

I'd like to think I know a thing or two about nasi lemak, having had it just about every Saturday for tea since I was knee high to a cicak. So I think I speak with some personal authority on the matter of whether Selera Rasa is a worthy nasi lemak hall-of-famer. I think it is. I also think that Selera Rasa is a victim of it's own fame. All the media coverage creates unrealistic expectations in diners who flock here only to be disappointed when angels don't appear and next week's 4D numbers fail to materialize in the basmati. Don't expect too much, come with an open mind and set your senses free to explore and you will come away satisfied, if not pleasant surprised.

It really is just honest to goodness solid quotidian fare. Look beyond the bull-@$!# that's been piled on these guys by the media and see it for the single specialty master hawker stall that it is and you'll see what all the fuss is about. It's just a local stall that serves good honest nasi lemak. No gimmicks. No fancy service. Just think of all the superlatives that pepper reviews of the latest French restaurant, Italian joint or Spanish tapas place; why don't those same superlatives apply here? Based on flavor alone, I see no reasonable explanation why not...unless it's the bull-@#$% these places are throwing in your eyes.

Get real, get local, hug your local hawker today and tell him or her that you deserve better

 
.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Rice | Kids-Friendly

I am convinced that the line has doubled, or tripled, since the article came out in the papers about this establishment closing in June. Okay, I don't know this for a fact myself, but my parents love this place (we're Teochew) and they come here now and then, apparently at off-peak hours to avoid crowds. We were here on Sat 2pm+ but there were still tons of people!

Be warned, there are two separate lines, 1 for takeout and 1 for sitting in (go in and find yourself a seat!) We didn't realize there were two lines until a nice lady told us so.

Food came pretty promptly. Oh, lime juice was kind of sweet, had to ask for extra ice.
Lovely tender duck (actually, I think I've had just as tender duck at Western places, but that was confit and certainly not for less than $10). Mom avers that this is the most tender duck you can find anywhere! It was pretty good, but I actually didn't find it amazing.. Nice comfort food I guess. Yummy soft rice too smile

Sambal kangkong was delicious!! I love the hae bee (shrimp paste) and chilli.
Also came with this somewhat cornstarchy tofu dish, which I found to be meh. I like soft tofu, but there was a bit too much cornstarch in the sauce.

Apparently this is standard fare for 3 people, and cost $28 or so [including drinks]. Cheap delicious meal! Pity they're closing..tongue
 
Date of Visit: May 28, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

normal chicken rice OK May 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Chicken Rice

When I decided to write this review, I realised with a start that I have been patronising this stall since I was 12! It was one of the places my friends and I would end up having our meals after school before proceeding to while away our youth in the shopping complexes in town, doing nothing in particular.

This is probably not going to be the tastiest chicken rice but that's exactly what I like about it. The chicken is always tender and doused with a good scoopful of light broth and the rice is always fragrant. You won't get that guilty feeling you often do after a plate of chicken rice elsewhere. The chilli also hits the right spot with a good level of spiciness and taste. Also, don't forget to give the duck soup with salted vegetables a go.

I will probably come by at off-peak hours because it tends to get crowded but it also is an experience in itself to drop by at the stall's busiest period. You will probably find yourself huddled around the same table as a couple of strangers, gobbling down your meal - there is definitely a certain charm to that.tongue
 
Date of Visit: May 20, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

normal dim sum OK May 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Dim Sum


Love this stall! I love that it's a small little corner store - and though they don't sell full meals like the other stalls - they do provide some really yummy options - but their stuff sells fast!!! They have burgers, sandwiches, Taiwanese Pork Sausage, other little eats like - fish balls, chicken nuggets, and Dim Sum options like Siew Mai and all the different Paus.

What I Love: The aunties here are really sweet and friendly. Apart from the service - which is great - they sell great, great, great porridge! There's chicken and pork - and it's really traditional porridge. They also have great dessert porridges - Tau Suan, Pulot Hitam and Bubur Terigu - my fave, fave, fave, fave, fave! It's nice that they have all these classic Singaporean options. I love their Chee Cheong Fun and Yam Pau - kinda like my midday snacks.

What I Don't Love: Their food sells fast!! And I don't always get my porridge - which makes Stevie boy really kinda grumpy at times! ;D
 
Date of Visit: May 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0