OpenRice Index
  
redarmy
This is redarmy living in Sengkang. I am a snr sales exec, work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Bugis, Orchard, Katong. Korean, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and BBQ, Buffet , Burgers and Sandwiches.
Member 12 First(s)
No. of Review64 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity403 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos67 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲28 Follower(s)
redarmy  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 64 Reviews in Singapore
meng meng mee  OK Apr 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

I've tried the famous Bak Chor Mee at Hill Street, and a couple more at other 'famous' places, and i daresay Meng's Kitchen at Upper Thomson is still my top favourite.

The staff are prompt, and their bak chor mee has a good balance of oil and ingredients. The noodle are tangy, and the vinegar is just in the right proportion. Further, the soup that comes with it is most satisfying in the wee hours of the morning when you want to satisfy a food craving.

Their drinks such as sour plum and teh ping are not bad too. The best part is that it is really affordable. For around $5 or less, you can get a bowl of piping hot noodles with a drink.

Being open 24/7, it is a popular after-clubbing destination, or if you're just bored and want to find a place to hang out..

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 27, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

standard beancurd crowd pleaser OK Apr 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Multi-Concept | Desserts and Cakes

This is a favourite dessert haunt of mine whenever I'm in the area for dinner with friends. Or sometimes I'd just drive by just to get some for takeaway.

It's cheap and good desserts that you could probably only find here. The quality of the beancurd is always consistent - soft and custardy. I personally like mine cold, it's a simple healthy dessert for a hot day.

If you choose to eat in the store, there's the alleyway seats or air-conditioned room upstairs. But upstairs is really crammed and when its crowded (as it always is) it gets really noisy (also because people like to come here in large groups). That being said, its also a great place to bring a large group of friends to cap off the evening. Everyone would be agreeable - if you feel peckish, you can order their fried doughs - you tiao, butterfly buns, red bean or salted buns, there's even egg tarts. If you're thirsty, you can get a cup of soya bean drink and if you're craving desserts, you can get the beancurd!

Final verdict: Crowd-pleaser that definitely gets crowded very often!

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 20, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

gem find in ghost town OK Apr 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre | Seafood | Zi Char | BBQ

Seafood stalls/restaurants in Singapore = crowd magnets. Some with significantly stronger magnetic waves than others. It is common sight to see groups crowding the larger tables (or filling up the whole establishment) and ordering a sumptuous feast enough to feed the continent of Africa (or in some cases, appease the hunger or photo needs of any single ).

So when I first walked past "The Meeting Place" after having read a review about it some time ago when searching around Clementi...I was surprised to see the tables in front of it...empty on a weekend (then again, the little food centre is a ghost town).

I walked straight up to the stall and was greeted by an uncle who stopped his conversation with another uncle to ask if I was interested in anything. I guess I am interested...no line...great previous review...and a seriously hungry skinny glutton. Perfect combination.

ROUND #1:

BBQ Sotong $10 - great sambal flavor, fresh squid, cooked just right

 
Kang Kong $4 - flavorful, once again cooked perfectly

 
Cockles $3 - asked for well-done

 
2 plain rice $1 - rice was exactly the way I'd make it (slightly dry for a firmer texture)...after the first bite, i asked for another one

ROUND #2 (loved it, came back the next day):

BBQ Stingray $10 - luscious succulent awesomeness

 
Pak Choi $4 - omgosh, I'm in love with this dish. My favorite style of cooking this particular
vegetable to date.

 
2 plain rice $1

VERDICT:

The portions are TINY (especially with vegetables) but the flavors and food quality definitely make up for it. The people working there are also very friendly. I would definitely eat here whenever I'm in the area.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

new prata king in sin ming OK Apr 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian

Move over Prata House, this place gives u a run for your money! This place is just a mere 2 or 3 blocks away from Prata House and I'm surprised not many people have talked about this place.

Ok, the prata IS a bit smaller BUT it's fatter and tastier than Prata House IMO. The curry? The bomb! I had regular curry, so if you're wondering about the fish or chicken curries, I don't know. But I've heard that the fish curry there is good, even for people that don't enjoy fish.

Oh, did I mention it's cheaper than Prata House?! Because it is! I got 1 egg & onion prata w/ regular curry for $1.80.

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 04, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good as gold OK Apr 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Chinese Noodles | Rice | Kids-Friendly

Along with a friend, i had a Sunday lunch at Thai Gold.

 
The ambiance is a very basic. Lol, I am not even sure it qualifies as ambiance. But, we were just looking for some tasty food and we found it.

The service was straight-forward. They are not going to ask you how your day is going but they are going to make sure your order is taken and your food is brought out in a timely manner.

The crispy calamari was very good. Almost immediately, I polished this off. It was crispy. It did not have an oily flavor and the calamari was tender with a mild flavor.

 
My main was a chicken dish with lots of black pepper. It was so flavorful. The veggies were fresh and NOT over-cooked. So, they helped cut through the black pepper. I thought it made for a great lunch.

 
My friend had a vermicelli dish. It didn't look like much but she didn't seem to mind. She joyfully ate it all.

 
We shared some greens. By this I mean, I had a bite and my friend ate the remaining. These were perfectly cooked and quite flavourful.

 
Overall this is a basic restaurant with basic service and pretty good Thai food. If you are in the neighbourhood and need lunch, I can give it a two thumbs up.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 07, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0