OpenRice Index
  
redarmy
This is redarmy living in Sengkang. I am a snr sales exec, work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Bugis, Orchard, Katong. Korean, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and BBQ, Buffet , Burgers and Sandwiches.
Member 12 First(s)
No. of Review64 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity403 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos67 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲28 Follower(s)
redarmy  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 64 Reviews in Singapore
best kueh u can find OK Mar 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

I daresay this is one of the best kueh stalls in town. First time I tried the kuehs was 9 years ago. I procured some again last week, and it has remained just as good. Picked a variety of bamboo shoot kueh, peng kueh, ku chye kueh, abacus and glutinous rice.

The regular soon kuehs are meant to be made of bamboo shoot but are instead usually filled with turnip. The bamboo shoots imparted a firmer, springier bite and was much more interesting than the regular turnip types. Peng kueh was moist and fragrant. Ku chye kueh was smallish, and the filling finely chopped. All had delicate, thin skin harking to years of handmade goodness. Abacus was ok, I'd have preferred more yam and not so much oil to lubricate the base. Glutinous rice was on the firmer side. While I did not feel especially wowed by it, my colleague thought that it was more delicious than the overly sticky and soft kinds sold outside.

I'd be back again, if not for the fact that it's horribly far away. Parking is a breeze, given that Poh Cheu is located within an industrial estate.

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

pig out pinoy OK Mar 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Filipino | Coffeeshop

Located at the Kopitiam outside the National Youth Council, Mang Kiko's really only has 2 things on the menu--belly pork, and chicken, both roasted over a charcoal flame. Yesterday a friend and I went, lured by the promise of roast pork. So we pigged out and split an order of roast pork and half a chicken.

It's really good value--$6 gets you either 1/4 chicken or a portion of roast pork, and complimentary tangy soup. Our orders was $12 for the pork and $10 for a half-chicken. There are also 4 kinds of dipping sauce (some variation of chilli-and vinegar or soy, mostly) to experiment with. The pork was chopped small, like siew yoke. There was a nice charred taste from the charcoal flame, and the fat was creamy, but unfortunately the all-important crackling (skin) was hard rather than crispy. So the search for good lechon continues. The real winner was the chicken--just lightly smoky, the meat juicy and tender all the way through. No wonder there was a queue throughout the time that we were there! I'll definitely be back.

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

noodle not only for old people OK Mar 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

Another great stop for late night supper - BK eating house is famed for this store that sells what they term as 'specialty mee sua' which essentially means they do it pretty damn good. I used to think mee sua (a type of noodles) is only for the sick/elderly but this dish has completely turned that notion on its head. Actually it is done just like minced pork noodles but I think the mee sua is a nice touch because the dish doesn't get too overwhelming as it would with other noodles.

I hate it when my noodles start clumping together because of a measly amount of sauce but I never have to worry about that here, Yan Kee always douses its noodles in a generous helping of sauce. The springy mee sua is tossed in a fragrant mix of chilli and vinegar, topped with minced and sliced pork as well as a couple of stewed mushrooms - it makes for a satisfying treat in the middle of the night that is not overfilling.

Only reason why it gets 4 stars is because standards have started to get a little inconsistent and that is a real pity.

 
tonguetonguetonguetonguetongue
 
Date of Visit: Mar 07, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

no mee for busy people Cry Mar 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

This food stall is busy! They get more phone calls for pick-up orders than phone calls that are being made by telemarketers. As such, expect a little bit of a wait as there is only one guy in the back working tirelessly on a massive wok to make some good and inexpensive food. It really was worth the wait. Really good wok stir-fried noodles. The accompanying condiments of fish sauce, chilies, and lime also went well really with the noodles and seafood.

 
tongue
 
Date of Visit: Mar 20, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

They used to be much better. Service levels have gone down while price has gone up.

Focusing on the Laksa, I'm not very discerning but I would say they are definitely one of the better stalls in Singapore, the coconut (santan) is very thick and you can add in as much sambal as you want to make the dish spicy (but don't add too much, you'll only kill your tongue). Get the otah to go with the laksa.

Laksa + Otah + drink (you'll definitely need it) will cost you around 6 bucks.

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 13, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0