OpenRice Index
  
x2dino
This is x2dino living in Bukit Panjang. I am a Executive, work in Toa Payoh. French, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Buffet .
Member 16 First(s)
No. of Review192 Review(s)
編輯推介數目9 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity1376 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos557 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant80 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲118 Follower(s)
x2dino  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 192 Reviews in Singapore
Authentic Cantonese Cuisine Smile Dec 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood | Fine Dining

I really enjoyed our first visit to Man Fu Yuan as their quality of food was outstanding (albeit a couple of slips here and there) and their service level, commendable. Although the menu was on the pricier end, the overall ambience and dining experience justified the cost.

Siew Mai ($6.80++)
Topped with fresh scallop and fish roe, the Siew Mai was tastefully prepared. The firm yet texture was a delight to savour. One of the must orders here!
Siew Mai

Siew Mai

 
Beef Ball ($6.80++)
The Beef Ball was a disappointment though. It was rather bland and overly soft (almost to the extent of crumbling upon the touch of my chopsticks). Somehow, the beef didn't taste very fresh as well and resulted in the lackluster review.
Beef Ball

Beef Ball

 
Radish Cake ($5.20++)
A simple and wholesome treat for the palate. The Radish Cake was soft, flavourful and not too oily. I particularly liked the fact that it was not too starchy with more real radish chunks rather than flour present.
Radish Cake

Radish Cake

 
Roast Meat Platter ($32++)
We ordered their Char Siew, Roast Duck and Roast Chicken and it was really authentic and delicious! The Char Siew was slightly charred and crispy at the sides and chewy in the centre. The Roast Duck and Chicken were exceptionally soft, succulent and delectable – a true hallmark of a Cantonese restaurant!
Roast Meat Platter

Roast Meat Platter

 


Steamed Custard Bun ($12++)
Although this was rated as one of their signature dishes, I found it rather average and lacked the wow-factor. The bun was quite thick and a little on the tough side. Thankfully, the custard was rich, gooey and flavorsome.
Steamed Custard Bun

Steamed Custard Bun

 
We will definitely be back to try out their other offerings soon!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roast Meat Platter,Siew Mai,Radish Cake
 
Date of Visit: Dec 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Tasting @ Ambush Smile Oct 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

I was privileged to be invited to the OpenRice food tasting event at Ambush. Upon entering, the sight that immediately greeted me was a bright and spacious interior overlooking a sky garden – a warm and inviting ambience to spend an afternoon over good food and company!

Ambush serves up a wide array of European cuisine – ranging from Swiss German Wurst, Belgium Moules/Palourde, Spanish Paella, French entree to Italian Pasta – that will definitely satisfy your palate without emptying your wallet. For the reader's info, they are currently running an Oktoberfest promotion featuring interesting fusion creations such as the Curry Wurst and Chicken Gordon Bleu which I found to be quite delectable. Do read on for my reviews of some of the more impressionable dishes which I enjoyed...

Curry Wurst ($16.50++)
The star of this dish was actually the zesty BBQ/curry sauce that accompanied the pan seared Bartwurst. The Bartwurst were crispy on the outside, while tender and juicy on the inside with a hint of tanginess. When dipped into the accompanying sauce, the full flavours of the Bartwurst was instantly released with a zesty and refreshing aftertaste.
Curry Wurst

Curry Wurst

 


Chicken Corden Bleu ($18.50++)
I have always loved Chicken Corden Bleu, with its multiple textures encrusted underneath the crispy breaded layer. The generous amount of cheese oozing out from the tender chicken breast was definitely an inviting sight. The taste and texture of the chicken was just right and blended well with the creamy mushroom sauce and braised red cabbage.
Chicken Corden Bleu

Chicken Corden Bleu

 


Ambush Paella ($14.20++)
My favourite dish served during the food tasting! Topped with white clams, mussels, scallops, prawns and sliced bacon/sausages, the rice exudes a hint of light buttery fragrance complemented by the natural sweetness of fresh seafood ingredients. Delicious!
Ambush Paella

Ambush Paella

 
Poulet Roti ($17.20++)
A tastefully prepared entree. The chicken leg was very soft, tender and literally melted in your mouth. Special mention goes to the grainy mustard mash potato which added a complementing texture to this dish.
Poulet Roti

Poulet Roti

 
Baby Scallop & Flying Fish Roe - Squid Ink Sauce ($14.80++)
I was initially quite apprehensive to try out this dish after an awful experience with squid ink sauce pasta. However, the taste was pretty acceptable (the squid ink was fresh definitely!). I thought this dish was quite well prepared, well done.
Baby Scallop & Flying Fish Roe - Squid Ink Sauce

Baby Scallop & Flying Fish Roe - Squid Ink Sauce

 
Char Grilled Lamb Saddle Steak

Char Grilled Lamb Saddle Steak

 
Crispy Chicken & Seaweed - Aglio Olio Ambush Style

Crispy Chicken & Seaweed - Aglio Olio Ambush Style

 
Mash Potato

Mash Potato

 
Roasted Pork knuckle

Roasted Pork knuckle

 
Schweinmedallion

Schweinmedallion

 
We were treated to an extensive selection of drinks and desserts as well. I ordered the Green Apple Mojito ($5.50++) , one of their signature drinks recommended by the restaurant manager, and found it to be very refreshing and visually appealing!
Drinks

Drinks

 
However, I thought that the desserts were a little anti-climax and paled in comparison to the mains. The Tiramisu ($6.80++) was quite dry with an overpowering layer of chocolate powder that masked the overall taste of the mascarpone cheese and coffee. The Chocolate Lava Souffle ($8.80++) and Molten Chocolate Brownie ($6.80++) were pretty average and lacked the Oomph factor. The Apple Crisp ($6.80++) naturally became the better tasting desserts of the day (though there's still much room for improvement). I felt that they could be more generous with their apple chunks (and less of the apple puree) to improve on the overall texture of this dessert.

Overall, it was a pretty enjoyable luncheon on an idyllic lazy Saturday afternoon.

Thank you Ambush for the scrumptious lunch! I will be back to try out the other offerings in the menu!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Curry Wurst,Chicken Corden Bleu,Ambush Paella,Poulet Roti
 
Date of Visit: Oct 05, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great finds at Waraku! Smile Sep 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Pasta | Ramen

We were shopping around the vicinity and decided to drop by Waraku for some interesting bites.

Hiyayako ($3.80++)
The cold tofu was silky smooth and firm – one of the better ones we've tasted so far!
Hiyayako

Hiyayako

 
Beef Houba ($16.80++)
Grilled over the Japanese Magnolia, the beef slices were infused with the natural aroma of the leaf, making it really tasty and fragrant. The rich taste of the beef blended perfectly with the flavour of the soybean paste. It was not only a feast for the eyes, but a tantalising experience for the palate as well.
Beef Houba

Beef Houba

 


Sashimi ($16.80++)
The sashimi was quite fresh as well. Nothing fanciful, just good ol' sashimi to satisfy our craving for high quality protein and omega-3.
Sashimi

Sashimi

 
Ika Maruyaki ($14.80++)
Another tastefully grilled squid that was soft on the inside yet slightly charred on the outside. Topped with a special teriyaki sauce that was surprisingly light yet flavoursome , every bite into the succulent squid was simply irresistible!
Ika Maruyaki

Ika Maruyaki

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Beef Houba,Ika Maruyaki
 
Date of Visit: Sep 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Japanese Fine Dining Smile Sep 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki

Nestled within Raffles Town Club, Miyabi offers authentic Japanese fine dining cuisines at pocket friendly price tags! Their food quality is commendable with prime, quality ingredients used. Service wise, the waiters/waitresses were friendly and attentive to our needs.

Shake Harasu Carpaccio ($16+)
This cold starter is an impressive and deliciously fresh way to start a meal. The zesty marinade over the fresh salmon slices makes this starter even more the appetising.
Shake Harasu Carpaccio

Shake Harasu Carpaccio

 


Sashimi & Teppanyaki Set ($38+)
The Sashimi & Teppanyaki Set consists of 8-pcs thick and fresh sashimi slices (just look at how translucent the salmon sashimi are to imagine the sweetness and quality of it ;)), 3-pcs grilled giant scallops topped with teriyaki marinade and a piece of fried salmon skin, grilled salmon with miso marinade, bean sprouts, and teppanyaki beef cubes grilled to perfection.
Chawanmushi

Chawanmushi

 
Grilled Salmon with Miso Marinade

Grilled Salmon with Miso Marinade

 
Sashimi Slices

Sashimi Slices

 
Teppanyaki Bean Sprouts

Teppanyaki Bean Sprouts

 
Teppanyaki Beef Cubes

Teppanyaki Beef Cubes

 


I especially enjoyed the succulent teppanyaki scallops that were oh-so-juicy-and-chewy!
Teppanyaki Scallops with Fried Salmon Skin

Teppanyaki Scallops with Fried Salmon Skin

 


Fugu Mirin ($14+)
One of the rarer items found in local menus, the air-dried puffer fish slices tasted somewhat similar to grilled cuttlefish but sweeter and more refined in taste and texture.
Fugu Mirin

Fugu Mirin

 


Overall, it was a delectable dining experience that left us eagerly looking forward to our next visit. A perfect place to celebrate special occasions with your loved ones!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fugu Mirin,Shake Harasu Carpaccio,Sashimi & Teppanyaki Set
 
Date of Visit: Sep 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice Fish n Chips Smile Jul 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café


We visited Olio Cafe for a quick lunch and was pleasantly surprised by the food variety and quality. The husband ordered their Golden Fish n Chips ($16.50++) and found it to be quite tasty. The fish was tender and moist while the batter had just the right amount of fluff. However, for that price, the portion seemed a little too stingy.
Golden Fish n Chips

Golden Fish n Chips

 
Service wise, the waitresses were quite attentive and polite. We will definitely visit again to try out the other mains which look all-so-mouth-watering from the menu!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Golden Fish n Chips
 
Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0