OpenRice Index
  
x2dino
This is x2dino living in Bukit Panjang. I am a Executive, work in Toa Payoh. French, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Buffet .
Member 16 First(s)
No. of Review192 Review(s)
編輯推介數目9 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity1376 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos557 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant80 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲118 Follower(s)
x2dino  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 192 Reviews in Singapore
Surprising finds Smile Mar 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bars/Lounges | Steaks and Grills

 

 
The quirky décor gave the restaurant a very kitsch first impression. However, after we had settled down for a while, it somehow became cosy and rather inviting. The food was surprisingly delectable and appealing. Warm bread with butter and olive oil were served as well.
Warm Bread

Warm Bread

 
Bird Nest Beef Fillet Mignon ($32++)
The pan-seared beef tenderloin was served with roasted potato and topped with mixed micro cress and breaded poached egg. The beef was tastefully prepared and marinated. Each mouthful of succulent red meat left us feeling contented and satisfied. The potatoes were flavourful with a hint of rosemary scent. The poached egg was sadly, a let-down. The egg whites were soft and slightly runny – a promising sign of an egg-citing gastronomical experience. However, the yolk proved to be “well done” and was a stark contrast to our initial bite.
Bird Nest Beef Fillet Mignon

Bird Nest Beef Fillet Mignon

 
BBQ Chicken Pizza ($16++)
The pizza gave a rather rustic feel and tasted surprisingly authentic. Topped with BBQ marinated shredded chicken thigh, bell peppers, generous servings of mozzarella cheese and smoky BBQ sauce, this thin crust pizza packs a lot of punch. My only gripe was that it was kind of tough and would be perfect if it were crispier.
BBQ Chicken Pizza

BBQ Chicken Pizza

 
Overall, it was a pretty gratifying dining experience prior to our visit to the real deal - Mint Museum of Toys.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bird Nest Beef Fillet Mignon,BBQ Chicken Pizza
 
Date of Visit: Mar 08, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Christmas Brunch @ Lawry's Smile Dec 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

We were contemplating where to celebrate Christmas this year and decided to indulge ourselves by having a exquisite Christmas Brunch at Lawry's. The set menu, priced at $79++/pax included their famous Original Spinning Bowl Salad, Pumpkin Cheese Sausage Rolls Scrambled Eggs, choice of their Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef & Turkey or Pan Seared Thread Fine & Hokkaido Scallop, Salted Choco-Berries Pie, and lastly, Fine Italian Coffee or Gryphon Artisan Teas served with Praline Chocolates.

Original Spinning Bowl Salad
A very fanciful way of food presentation, the waitress spun the salad bowl atop another bowl of ice. To top it off, a frozen fork was served to enhance the flavours of the salad, simply ingenious! Tossed with a generous amount of beetroot, croutons and cheese, this ice berg lettuce salad is indeed one of Lawry's signature dishes!
Original Spinning Bowl Salad

Original Spinning Bowl Salad

 
Pumpkin Cheese Sausage Rolls Scrambled Eggs
A unique addition to the festive brunch menu. However, it was a letdown. The pastry skin was tough and hard on the palate. The scrambled eggs were a tad too watery for my liking as well.
Pumpkin Cheese Sausage Rolls Scrambled Eggs

Pumpkin Cheese Sausage Rolls Scrambled Eggs

 
Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef & Turkey
The roasted Prime Ribs and Turkey were delicious. The medium-rare beef we ordered were soft, juicy and tender. The brown sauce that complemented it well and was one of the tastiest I've tried. The Turkey breast meat was moist and equally delectable. We were also served a portion of savoury minced meat pudding that was really chewy and mouth-watering!
Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef & Turkey

Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef & Turkey

 
Meat Pudding

Meat Pudding

 

Pan Seared Thread Fin & Hokkaido Scallop
Lawry's is ultimately a Steakhouse, not a seafood shack. Although quality ingredients were used, the taste was perhaps, only slightly above average. The scallops were overcooked, resulting in a tough texture. The fish was well cooked but had a slight fishy taste that marred the overall rating of this otherwise exquisite dish.
Pan Seared Thread Fin & Hokkaido Scallop

Pan Seared Thread Fin & Hokkaido Scallop

 
Salted Choco-Berries Pie
This little slice of cake was the highlight of the meal! Underneath the dull chocolate facade lies the jewels and gems – tiny bits of strawberry, cherries, raspberries and blueberries that greatly enhanced the flavours and textures to this otherwise commonly served dessert. The light strawberry yoghurt ice cream was a great complement to the rich chocolate tart.
Salted Choco-Berries Pie

Salted Choco-Berries Pie

 
To top off this splendid meal, a pair of lovely raspberry white chocolate pralines were served with our tea.
Raspberry White Chocolate Pralines

Raspberry White Chocolate Pralines

 
A Christmas toast to love and laughter and happily ever after! May the coming new year bring good tidings and glorious food adventures to one and all!
Cheers

Cheers

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Original Spinning Bowl Salad,Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef,Salted Choco-Berries Pie
 
Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $110(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New kid on the block Smile Dec 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Chicken Rice

A new Chicken Rice shop that opened its doors a couple of months back along The Rail Mall. We were pretty impressed by their quality Chicken Rice Set ($5.50) (comparable to the likes of Boon Tong Kee and Loy Kee) and at . The chicken was tender and succulent while the rice was pretty fragrant and not too oily. We especially love the chili which was really appetising due to its slightly sour-ish after taste. However, the soup was not served together and you would need to request for it, something which we felt could be improved upon.
Chicken Rice Set

Chicken Rice Set

 
We also ordered their Fish Maw Seafood Soup ($6.00) which was equally appealing! They were quite generous with their ingredients consisting of huge chunks of fish maw, a big prawn (only item which we left could have been more), sotong and fish slices and some tofu. Most importantly, it was not MSG loaded and tasted really delicious and rich!
Fish Maw Seafood Soup

Fish Maw Seafood Soup

 
A new kid on the block that serves nice chicken rice at pocket friendly prices!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fish Maw Seafood Soup,Chicken Rice Set
 
Date of Visit: Dec 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delicious Shabu Shabu Beef Raman Smile Dec 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Our 2nd visit after a long wait to finally try out their Shabu Shabu Beef Raman (we had a 50% off voucher that could only be utilised in Dec). As with our 1st visit, service was amicable and relatively fast despite the weekend dinner crowd.

The Shabu Shabu Beef Raman ($14++) was indeed worth the wait. The soup base was light and exudes a hint of buttery fragrant aftertaste. The generous portions of thinly sliced Beef was flavourful and tender. The noodles were, as before, refined and chewy, a hallmark of authentic Hakata Raman.
Shabu Shabu Beef Raman

Shabu Shabu Beef Raman

 
We will be back for more!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shabu Shabu Beef Raman
 
Date of Visit: Dec 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Weekend Getaway Smile Dec 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Bars/Lounges

Located amidst the quaint vicinity within Farmart, this humble little cafe is a perfect weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life. Diners can choose between the al fresco dining area which overlooks the surrounding lush greenery or the air-conditioned indoors area for a more comfortable dining experience.

This is one of the few places (if not the only one) where their Tenderloin is cheaper than the Ribeye! And without a doubt, we ordered their Beef Tenderloin ($22+) set. The beef was fresh and well grilled, period. Simple, down-to-earth fuss-free dining that reflects the rustic atmosphere surrounding this cafe.
Grilled Tenderloin

Grilled Tenderloin

 
They serve mostly western cuisine but you could also order in satay/bbq chicken wings from the zi char stall located just next to it.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled Tenderloin
 
Date of Visit: Dec 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0