OpenRice Index
  
x2dino
This is x2dino living in Bukit Panjang. I am a Executive, work in Toa Payoh. French, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Buffet .
Member 16 First(s)
No. of Review192 Review(s)
編輯推介數目9 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity1376 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos557 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant80 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲118 Follower(s)
x2dino  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 192 Reviews in Singapore
Authentic Hong Kong Taste Smile Feb 07, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant

We chanced upon this open concept restaurant located at Triple One Somerset while exploring this lesser known shopping complex that lies outside the main shopping belt of Orchard Road. The food was surprisingly delicious but service was really poor.

Soya Sauce Chicken Noodles ($7+)
The noodles were quite springy and the chicken was really tender. The sauce was reminiscent of authentic Hong Kong noodles and added much flavour to this otherwise light dish.
Soya Sauce Chicken Noodles

Soya Sauce Chicken Noodles

 
Wanton Soup ($7+)
The wanton was fat and juicy. We especially love the silky smooth skin which was really thin and literally melts in your mouth. The meat filling was well marinated and retained the natural juices of the ingredients.
Wanton Soup

Wanton Soup

 
We will be back for more!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Soya Sauce Chicken Noodles,Wanton Soup
 
Date of Visit: Feb 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bear Hand Burger OK Feb 07, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Halal

Bear Hand Burger ($4.90)

 

These cute Bear Hand Burgers come in an assortment of bun flavours (e.g. original, black sugar, oat, milk, durian, pandan etc), sauces (e.g., teriyaki, sour plum, cheese, honey peach etc) and choice between fried or grilled chicken. Sadly, they look better than they taste.

The buns were rather blend and tough. We ordered Original, Milk, Pandan and Black Sugar but all tasted pretty similar. The flavour of the fried chicken patty was not too bad but was a tad too floury. The sauces were pretty standard as well.
Bear Hand Burger

Bear Hand Burger

 
A filling treat but not exactly a satisfying one.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bear Hand Burger
 
Date of Visit: Feb 04, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

More matcha, please OK Feb 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

Matcha Milkshake

Matcha Milkshake

 
We tried their Matcha Green Tea milkshake ($5.90 for medium) and found it to be very rich and creamy. The texture was smooth and consistent. However, we could not really taste the matcha as the vanilla base was overpowering and masked the flavour of the matcha.

A sinful indulgence of sugar and cream not for the faint hearted.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 02, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Restaurant | Seafood | Fine Dining

It's really a pity to see such a refined restaurant exiting from Singapore's fine dining scene.

At $130++ per pax, this price tag was well justified. From the fine ingredients used, to the visually astounding food presentation, and last but not the least, to the ever attentive and pleasant servers, every single detail was delicately planned and executed, resulting in a most memorable dining experience for its patrons with that touch of finesse. Guy Savoy, you'll be dearly missed, not only for your exquisite creations, but exceptional service level too.

Lobster “raw-cooked” in cold steam
This was not only a visual feast but a tantalising treat as well. The hidden jewel – a delicious treat of lobster tartare – emerged from the surreal mist and in all its splendor and glory. Although the flavour was light, it was tastefully prepared and was indeed, sheer indulgence.

 
Mosaïc of poularde, foie gras and artichoke, black truffle vinaigrette
This unique tasting Pâté was a masterpiece. Although it seemed plain in appearance, it was deceptively appetising. It was savoury but not overwhelming and retained the aroma of the black truffle vinaigrette. It was also exceptionally smooth with a fragrant aftertaste.

 
John Dory “étuvée” in a thin vegetal layer amidst the color green
Amidst the lush greenery was a tender piece of poached dory. This beautifully dish would have been perfect if not for the blend green curry sauce which marred the overall taste of this fusion creation. Although the texture of the fish was soft and literally melts in your mouth, the paring sauce lacked the spice and flavour typical of traditional Thai Green Curry, resulting in a flat flavor which was a disappointment.
John Dory “�tuv�e”

John Dory “�tuv�e”

 


Shoulder of Australian wagyu in two preparations,young carrots and potato “Maxim’s”
An epitome of French fine dining where a kaleidoscope of flavours made the overall experience more delectable than the mere sum of its parts. One stewed and the other pan-seared, both preparations were equally heavenly. I personally preferred the pan-seared variation, which had retained the natural flavours of the precious ingredient. A remarkable delicacy indeed!
Shoulder of Australian wagyu

Shoulder of Australian wagyu

 


Grapefruit terrine with tea sauce
Both the grapefruit and tea sauce were naturally bitter, no doubt; but somehow this blend of ingredients turned out surprisingly tangy and refreshing with a lingering bittersweet aftertaste.
Grapefruit terrine with tea sauce

Grapefruit terrine with tea sauce

 


Chocolate orb
A climatic finish to our splendid meal at Guy Savoy! As the server meticulously poured warm chocolate sauce over the orb, the transformation was simply brilliant with the melted orb slowly revealing the treasures within. This visual feast was truly a magically experience that we would relish in our memories.
Chocolate orb

Chocolate orb

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lobster “raw-cooked” in cold steam,Shoulder of Australian wagyu in two preparations,young carrots and potato “Maxim’s”,Chocolate orb
 
Date of Visit: Feb 01, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $150(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Christmas Brunch @ Lawry's Smile Dec 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

We were contemplating where to celebrate Christmas this year and decided to indulge ourselves by having a exquisite Christmas Brunch at Lawry's. The set menu, priced at $79++/pax included their famous Original Spinning Bowl Salad, Pumpkin Cheese Sausage Rolls Scrambled Eggs, choice of their Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef & Turkey or Pan Seared Thread Fine & Hokkaido Scallop, Salted Choco-Berries Pie, and lastly, Fine Italian Coffee or Gryphon Artisan Teas served with Praline Chocolates.

Original Spinning Bowl Salad
A very fanciful way of food presentation, the waitress spun the salad bowl atop another bowl of ice. To top it off, a frozen fork was served to enhance the flavours of the salad, simply ingenious! Tossed with a generous amount of beetroot, croutons and cheese, this ice berg lettuce salad is indeed one of Lawry's signature dishes!
Original Spinning Bowl Salad

Original Spinning Bowl Salad

 
Pumpkin Cheese Sausage Rolls Scrambled Eggs
A unique addition to the festive brunch menu. However, it was a letdown. The pastry skin was tough and hard on the palate. The scrambled eggs were a tad too watery for my liking as well.
Pumpkin Cheese Sausage Rolls Scrambled Eggs

Pumpkin Cheese Sausage Rolls Scrambled Eggs

 
Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef & Turkey
The roasted Prime Ribs and Turkey were delicious. The medium-rare beef we ordered were soft, juicy and tender. The brown sauce that complemented it well and was one of the tastiest I've tried. The Turkey breast meat was moist and equally delectable. We were also served a portion of savoury minced meat pudding that was really chewy and mouth-watering!
Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef & Turkey

Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef & Turkey

 
Meat Pudding

Meat Pudding

 

Pan Seared Thread Fin & Hokkaido Scallop
Lawry's is ultimately a Steakhouse, not a seafood shack. Although quality ingredients were used, the taste was perhaps, only slightly above average. The scallops were overcooked, resulting in a tough texture. The fish was well cooked but had a slight fishy taste that marred the overall rating of this otherwise exquisite dish.
Pan Seared Thread Fin & Hokkaido Scallop

Pan Seared Thread Fin & Hokkaido Scallop

 
Salted Choco-Berries Pie
This little slice of cake was the highlight of the meal! Underneath the dull chocolate facade lies the jewels and gems – tiny bits of strawberry, cherries, raspberries and blueberries that greatly enhanced the flavours and textures to this otherwise commonly served dessert. The light strawberry yoghurt ice cream was a great complement to the rich chocolate tart.
Salted Choco-Berries Pie

Salted Choco-Berries Pie

 
To top off this splendid meal, a pair of lovely raspberry white chocolate pralines were served with our tea.
Raspberry White Chocolate Pralines

Raspberry White Chocolate Pralines

 
A Christmas toast to love and laughter and happily ever after! May the coming new year bring good tidings and glorious food adventures to one and all!
Cheers

Cheers

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Original Spinning Bowl Salad,Signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef,Salted Choco-Berries Pie
 
Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $110(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0