OpenRice Index
  
peace_in_u
This is peace_in_u living in Tanglin. I am a Admin Assistant, work in City Hall. I like to hang out in Bukit Timah, Dhoby Ghaut, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café.
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity2842 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos923 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant113 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲200 Follower(s)
peace_in_u  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Yu Sheng OK Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

I tried the Sakae Sushi Yusheng on the 7th day of the lunar 1st month as it was everyone’s
birthday. The Yusheng comes with thick slice of salmon, red and white carrot. The sauce was sufficient to moist the ingredient. After tossing the Yusheng, there was something chewy and it was jelly fish. The jelly fish was thick. The YuSheng was great as it was moist and good cash flow for
Before the Toss

Before the Toss

 
After the toss

After the toss

 
After the toss

After the toss

 
Poster

Poster

 
the year.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Yu Sheng
 
Date of Visit: Feb 06, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Offer Should Not Miss  Smile Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Burgers and Sandwiches

The Burger Bar at Far East Plaza had its 1st Anniversary. To celebrate this occasion, there was a offer of $1 burger. I had been to Burger Bar several times but to miss this good offer deal was too hard to resist.

When I reached the Bar at 12.45pm, there was already 47 order ahead. It meant every one minutes, there was at least one order. The crowd was manageable. For this occasion, the boss had deployed more staff in the kitchen.

I ordered sesame bun and honey oat bun to go with lettuce and the choices of meat were pork and grilled chicken. I did not intend to eat the burger for my lunch. Instead, I was planning to consume them as my dinner. However, to have the burger prepare and pack for 4 hours ahead would mean that the burger will be soggy. An idea that came to me was to separate all the ingredient which meant to pack the meat, lettuce and buns separately. I brought some clean empty boxes and told the kitchen staff to pack the food in the food. The staff accommodated to my means.

When I reached home, my bun was still good. It was not wet as the meat was not packed with the bun. The only thing that I noticed was that my box of lettuce was wet. If I had placed the lettuce on the bun, I would expect that the bun will be soggy.

Another thing that I noticed was that there was a hole on the pork. This mean when the kitchen staff was grilling the meat, they used a stick to test if the meat is cooked.

I heated up the meat and I packed all the ingredient into the bun and ready to be served. Wah! The bun was still as good as it was served at the restaurant.

Good offer should not miss.
The Bill

The Bill

 
The Boss

The Boss

 
The Crowd

The Crowd

 
The Ingredients

The Ingredients

 
Oat Bun

Oat Bun

 
Sesame Seed Bun

Sesame Seed Bun

 
Shredded Lettuce

Shredded Lettuce

 
Pork

Pork

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Burger
 
Date of Visit: Feb 08, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yu Sheng Smile Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Seafood | Sushi/Sashimi

I had ordered a pax of Yu Sheng from Kuriya- IchiBan Boshi at Great World City Branch. The queue was long but worth waiting as the Yu Sheng was great.

It was a large size Yu Sheng costs $42.80 nett without GST charge. The restaurant exercises honesty showing what the customers would expect to get from the Yu Sheng. In the Yu Sheng platte, there were 12 pices of Salmon Sashimi, 8 pieces of Hamachi Sashimi (Yellow Tail) and 8 pieces of Maguro Sashimi (Tuna). Putting all the Yu Sheng, it represents 4 numbers, 1288. What a nice 4D number. Huat Ah!

The ingredient comprises chukka kurage, red ginger, chukka wakame, winter melon, lime, fried sesame, peanut crunch, pok chui biscuit, 5 spices, cinnamon & pepper, carrot & raddish and Yu Sheng sauce. One thing that I noticed was that for healthy eating, no oil is provided. All these ingredients are added together with the sashimi and tossed.

After the toss, the individual serving looked wonderful. There were moisture on the ingredient ate. I can find thick sashimi. When I eat Yu Sheng, I like to suck as there was sweetness in the ingredients.
3 type of fish

3 type of fish

 
Before the Toss

Before the Toss

 
Plastic Bag

Plastic Bag

 
The Package

The Package

 
The Store

The Store

 
Yu Sheng Poster

Yu Sheng Poster

 
Individual Serving on the Plate

Individual Serving on the Plate

 
The Yu Sheng was great and worth considering from Kuriya-Ichiban Boshi.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Yu Sheng Sashimi
 
Date of Visit: Feb 09, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $43(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood

This is my first Yu Sheng in the Year of Horse. I had Yu Sheng celebration with my colleague. The colleague ordered from First Culinary as the restaurant was just a stone throw from the office. We ordered Yu Sheng for 10 pax.

The Yu Sheng was prepared in a bento box with shredded red and white carrot. Of course, the Yu Sheng goes with other sauce such as the plum sauce, honey and oil. There was a small container of salmon fish. Together with the cracker, fine peanut and sesame seeds, sauces, salmon, these are rolled and tossed over the bento set.

Given a scale from 1 to 10 with 10 as the best, I would grade 4. The sauce was not sufficient. Somehow, some of the ingredient did not receive the moisture of the sauce and not easy to find the salmon as the serving was limited. Luckily, I was able to find a slice of treasure salmon.
Food

Food

 
The Food

The Food

 
Food

Food

 
The cost of Yu Sheng costs $38.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Yu Sheng
 
Date of Visit: Feb 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chinese Dinner Smile Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Seafood

I had dinner at Grand Shanghai at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

The first dish was the cold dish comprising ngo hiang, octopus, jelly fish, prawn and sotong ball. The jelly fish was chewy. Ngo Hiang was spicy and good as it was well fried. The prawn blended well with the salad cream.

The second dish was the clear doubled boiled Abalone soup with snow jelly. The soup was clear and taste of seafood sweetness. The abalone was tender and complete.

The third dish was the smoked duck slice in plum sauce served with deep fried Chinese bun. I love the smoked duck slice but I did not enjoy the deep fried Chinese bun. When the bun had been fried, it became harden and together with the slice meat, I did not know how to eat. I prefer the steamed bun instead of the fried bun. The plum sauce was good.

The fourth dish was live prawn in shiro miso soup. The prawn was served to us in a deep bowl instead of plate as it showed that the prawn was soaked in the soup. When the prawn shelf had been removed, I used the miso soup to go with the prawn. In this way, the prawn would not be dry when I ate. Besides the prawn shelf was so soft that I ate together with the prawn. That was a way to consume natural calcium.

The fifth dish was the braised giant top shelf and mushroom with young vegetable. The mushroom was soft and moisture with rich sauce. Not only that, the young vegetable deserved praise. They were soft and yet still maintain freshness, not turning yellow.

The sixth dish was the steamed fresh Garoupa. It was a full Guroupa of 5 kg. The meat was fresh and the meat cooked with ginger, celery and good quality sauce. It was well cooked. The meat did not turn out to be rough.

The seventh dish was stewed Ee Fu Noodle with shredded chicken in barbeque sauce. I could not find any shredded chicken in my bowl. But one thing for sure was that excellent barbeque sauce was used to stew the noodle. The noodle had become slow and yet still maintained its elasticity.
Slice Duck

Slice Duck

 
Live Prawn

Live Prawn

 
Mushroom

Mushroom

 
Fish

Fish

 
Noodle

Noodle

 
Dessert

Dessert

 
The last dish was Chilled Black Sesame pudding with Almond & Mango Sauce. It was a colourful dish with mango sauce spread as the base on the plate and scattered with strawberry. The sesame pudding was able to maintain its shape well. That shows that sufficient gelatin had added to maintain the firmness of the pudding. Numerous black sesame seeds could be found in the pudding. It was a wonderful dessert which sweetness everyone’s taste bud.
Deluxe Seafood Platter

Deluxe Seafood Platter

 
Soup

Soup

 
I greatly enjoyed the meal.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Clear doubled boiled Abalone soup with snow jelly, Smoked duck slice, Live prawn in shiro miso soup, braised giant top shelf and mushroom, Garoupa
 
Date of Visit: Feb 04, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $100(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0