OpenRice Index
  
peace_in_u
This is peace_in_u living in Tanglin. I am a Admin Assistant, work in City Hall. I like to hang out in Bukit Timah, Dhoby Ghaut, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café.
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity2842 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos923 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant113 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲200 Follower(s)
peace_in_u  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Kaya  OK Feb 10, 2014   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

I bought a bottle of Prima Deli Kaya. I bought so that I could have kaya spread on my bread so that my bread will not taste very tasteless. The cost of Kaya was $3.30 for 330 gram. It has an expiry of 12 months.

The bottle of Kaya was quite full. It was not watery. I usually have a habit of smelling the bottled food. The smell was unpleasant. It has the smell of cockroach. Though the smell was unpleasant, I was still able to bear with the smell. The kaya spread was smooth. It was not lumpy.

Once the kaya was opened, I fridged it for I was afraid that if I leave the bottle of kaya a room temperate, it would turn bad. The next morning when I consume the kaya, I smell again, I did not get the unpleasant. The texture of the kaya did not turn dry. It was still as good as the first day.

The kaya was not sweet and neither did it had strong coconut smell. It found the prima Deli was not fantastic. Given a scale from 1 to 10 (10 as the best), I would give 4.

 

 
The kaya was not sweet and neither did it had strong coconut smell. It found the prima Deli was not fantastic. Given a scale from 1 to 10 (10 as the best), I would give 4.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kaya
 
Date of Visit: Feb 01, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wedding Biscuit OK Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

I received the Thye Lee Confectionary Teochew biscuits from my relative. There were altogether 6 different items. The first item which I tried was the glutinuous rice paste coated with sesame seed. The paste was soft and mixed with black sugar.

The second item that I tried was tau sar piah. I noticed that there are 2 types of tau sar piah. One is fairer than the other. The one which is fairer is spread with sesame seed. It was filled with lotus paste while the other was filled with bean paste. The one with lotus paste was sweet.

The next item was the weng pian cao. In English translation, it means cloud biscuit. As the word ‘cloud’ means pure, white and soft. It is true that it is soft in texture. It is suitable for children. I used to eat when I was a child. This is a memory tibit to me.

The next item is the Peanut roll. It is coated with flour outside and inside it is peanut roll with paste. The peanut is not hard and it is reasonable crunchy.

The last item is the peanut biscuit coated with sesame seeds. It is hard and need a lot of bitting.
I treated these items as my snack.

The box of traditional biscuits costs $24.
Sweet paste cake

Sweet paste cake

 
Tau Sai Piah (sweet and salty)

Tau Sai Piah (sweet and salty)

 
Wen Pian Gao

Wen Pian Gao

 
Peanut Roll

Peanut Roll

 
Peanut

Peanut

 
Packaging

Packaging

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tau Sai Piah
 
Date of Visit: Feb 04, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $24(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Suckling Pig OK Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Coffeeshop | Roasted Meat

At a chinese ceremony, a 10 kg roasted suckling pig was ordered from Roasted Guan Chee Hong Kong Roasted Duck.

During the cutting process, it was not difficult to cut the suckling pig. It was not oily as the oil could have dry up during the roasting process. From the picture, the suckling was not a big pig as there was not much meat at the belly.
Full Pig

Full Pig

 


The taste of the suckling pig was not salty. The skin was crispy. There was fat yet it was not oily. The suckling pig costs about $300.
Cutting of the Pig

Cutting of the Pig

 
After the Cut

After the Cut

 
Thickness

Thickness

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Suckling Pig
 
Date of Visit: Feb 08, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $300(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Workplan Refreshment OK Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Halal | Buffet

I attended a workshop and refreshment was served. The refreshment was provided by Smiling Orchid. The table setting arrangement was neat and well decorated with flowers. Even the fruit bar comes in 3-tier tray just like attending Hatia Restaurant high tea.

I had dried mee siam. The mee siam was not spicy. There were slices of boiled egg decorated at the side for those who want to have egg. There were curry puff. The curry puff was puffy and the filling was not thick. The carrot cake was soft and could taste of carrot. The siew mai was wrapped with soft wanton skin and chicken meat.

The steam layer was soft and easily eat layer by layer. The Mango Pudding was not sweet. There was not strong colouring added. It looked natural.

The fruit tray was attractive with guava, grapes, papaya and white honey melon. The fruits were fresh.

One unusual thing was there hot beverage was served with condened milk.
I enjoyed the meal.
3-tier fruits

3-tier fruits

 
Steam Layer

Steam Layer

 
Dry Mee Siam

Dry Mee Siam

 
Carrot cake

Carrot cake

 
Curry Puff

Curry Puff

 
Hot Siew Mai

Hot Siew Mai

 
Mango Pudding

Mango Pudding

 
Condensed milk served

Condensed milk served

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fruit
 
Date of Visit: Feb 07, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Compant's Lou Hei OK Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Halal

I had dinner catered by International Catering Pte Ltd. The table decoration was very plain. I had pineapple rice. I did not find any dice pineapple. All that I saw was yellow cliffon and some raisin spread over the rice. The rice was soft but a little wet. Perhaps the pineapple could have moist the rice.

The next item on the roll was bean curd. The bean curd was cut into square shape. It was hard outside but soft on the inside. It was not sour as some bean curd could taste sour. I had western chicken chop with black pepper sauce. Woh! This was my best dish. The size of the chicken was of the right size, neither too big or small. The best was the black sauce overflew the chicken which made the chicken tasted perfect.

I did not have flesh fish instead I had sweet and sour fish fillet. The fish fillet was coated too thick with flour. The fish fillet looked big but once bite, it was flour. Somehow shorthand! I did not understand why there was a repeat dish on fish. Next to it was the fish finger with tartar sauce. I have the habit of eating plain and missed the tartar sauce. The fish finger was not oily but it was not too thick. I would not grade highly on fish finger.

The vegetable that served with the meal was broccoli with mushroom. The broccoli looked overcrowded as there was lack of greenery on the vegetable.

The dessert that I had was cheese tart. The tart was dark and pre-moulded. What the caterer did was pulled cheese onto the tart. I did not enjoy the cheese tart as the cheese portion was not sufficient to get taste the blueberry cheese taste.
Pineapple Rice

Pineapple Rice

 
Vegetarian Bean Curd

Vegetarian Bean Curd

 
Chicken Chop

Chicken Chop

 
Sweet Sour Fish Fillet

Sweet Sour Fish Fillet

 
Broccoli with Mushroom

Broccoli with Mushroom

 
Fish Finger with Tartar sauce

Fish Finger with Tartar sauce

 
Blueberry cheese tart

Blueberry cheese tart

 
Table Setting

Table Setting

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Chop
 
Date of Visit: Feb 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0