OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity741 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
boCHINche for brunch Smile Oct 12, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Steaks and Grills

The whole place looks pretty "ATAS" (high-class). Separated by wooden planks walkway, left side is the drinks bar, while right side is more to the teppanyaki concept. In addition, one side of the outside seating is more to chilling at night for drinks, with low tables, while another side of the exterior is more for normal dining. Interior seating is available as well at the far end of the restaurant. It seems that boCHINche has took great effort in their designing concept and able to accommodate the different needs of their patrons, be it for food or for drinks.

Pan & Manteca ($7.00). House-baked bread and their salted butter is one of the best starter before the mains. Freshly-baked fluffy bread and spread with butter makes it awesome with both kids and adults.

Classic Provoleta, Almonds & Honey ($17.00). If salted butter is not good enough, chuck a piece of this on top of your bread and it works just as good as the butter!

Yellow Fin Tuna, Grilled Pak Choi, Spicy Humita & Crispy "Aji Molido" Tofu ($30.00). Big fat and fleshy tuna, dabbing against a light amount of cheese set aside, is definitely worth the price paid for.

Brioche French Toast, House-cooked Ham & Bacon Ice Cream ($19.00). What's unique about this dish is the bacon ice cream! With the "concoction" of bits of bacon with vanilla ice cream, it may receive both praises and criticisms.
House Chorizo Sausage, Malbec Braised Ox Cheeks & Caramelised Onions ($25.00). Pork sausage is quite tasteless to me, but tried it with the sweet dark sauce will be able to compensate for the blandness.

"Chimichurri" Burger v2.0 ($28.00). With the provolone cheese, tomato, onions, pancetta and fried hen egg, the burger is pretty much a hot favorite in boCHINche.

Grilled Pineapple, Mate Tea Granite & "Arroz Con Leche" Sorbet, Lemon Crumble ($18.00). Ended our meal at boCHINche with a dessert. I do love their rice pudding sorbet, which is of the right balance for its sweetness.

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/10/bochinche.html

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ah Dong Teh House in Punggol Smile Sep 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/09/ah-dong-teh-house.html
Entering somewhere along Punggol East, in one of the not-so developed area yet, housed several restaurants and is deem quite a lively place to hang out at, with a park connector by the side. One of it is Ah Dong Teh House, 阿东茶餐厅.
Mango Ice Blend ($5.90). Love this drink as it has my favorite mango in it, and the presentation look so interesting! Stirred it well and the sweetness is just nice, in mix with the soda.
Chicken Chop Noodle ($8.90), with a stalk of vegetable and sunny side up. I had wanted the Curry Chicken Noodle, but it was out-of-stock, thus I decided on this in a rush to order. It was pretty good, with the strong seasonings on the "maggie mee". This can easily be prepared at home, but saved me the hassle to get the chicken chop done up!
Mushroom Cream Pasta ($9.90). Had expected more mushroom than what was served, but overall still an acceptable dish. Although a little over-cheesy, pasta is still springy!
Sea Platter ($15.90), consisting of a pair of prawns, fillet, calamari, fries and coleslaw. Quite a big yummy serving, but menu stated good for one pax! I expected butter rice to be served, but turned out otherwise. Rice aside, the meat is good.
… … …
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/09/ah-dong-teh-house.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nam Nam Noodle Bar Smile Sep 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Noodles

Simple menu, consisting of baguettes, noodles, side dishes, desserts and drinks of course. They also have breakfast and lunch value set, which is a super great deal when their ala-cartes are already priced so reasonably, targeting the general audience.

Vietnam Coffee with condensed milk ($2.60), and Lotus Tea ($2.60). I had the Vietnam coffee and loved it, as it tasted like drip coffee.
Pho Chicken ($7.90), with choice of either rice flour noodles or instant noodles. Strongly recommended to select the rice flour noodle, which looks like our "kway teow", but in white. After tasting both the rice flour and instant noodles, I believe you will begin to nod your head in approval.
Quang Style Egg Noodle ($10.90), which already uses egg noodles with pork rib, prawn, squid ball, fish ball, rice cracker and chopped herbs. Very much like this dry noodle. I interestingly shaked several drops of the Maggi seasoning on my noodles, and realized it added a sweeter twist to it.
Crispy Fried Banana, Sesame Seeds and Smoked Coconut Sauce ($3.90). Exactly like our traditional Malay snack, Pisang Goreng, but Nam Nam Noodle Bar also has warm coconut sauce to go with the banana, which I think is pretty unique and gives a different taste to the usual ones we had.

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/09/namnam-noodle-bar.html

 

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Lokal Smile Aug 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads | Brunch

Not a truly spacious cafe, but the decor does make this narrow little "alley" a little more classy.

We were there at around 1430 hours, and guessed what? The crowd didn't cease then, and we had to share a table with another patron. This only show how popular and the amount of exposure The Lokal is getting, at this near-forsaken place during the weekends.

Ordered a cup of coffee to kick start the brunch! Cappuccino ($5.50), with a jar of brown sugar if you like to further sweeten it.

 

Grilled Sausages with homemade sauerkraut, sauteed potatoes, fried egg and onion jam ($23). I have never tried sauerkraut, which also means sour cabbage. I only had a little sample out of the "mountain" served to me, and decided to ignore that for the rest of my meal. But disregarding the cabbage, and exchanging fried egg for scrambled egg, the whole dish is pretty satisfying! Definitely a must-try for their grilled sausages!

 

 

If you want your food to be specially made for you, in some sense, you might want to go for Pimp my breakfast. Choosing from a list of breakfast sides, the first "pimped" breakfast came with toasted sourdough, grilled sausage, sauteed mushroom, and poached eggs ($20.50). The poached eggs seem to be nicely done, with wobbling yolk waiting to be let out. Another "pimped" breakfast has fried eggs, smoked salmon, and sauteed mushroom ($15.00).

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/08/the-lokal.html
 
Date of Visit: Aug 16, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shodai Koji, Riki, Menya Ryu Smile Aug 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/08/ramen-champion-shodai-koji-riki-menya.html
Ramen Champion has just brought in 3 new stalls to entice more Ramen-Lovers to drop by for a meal, which are Shodai Koji, Riki, and Menya Ryu.
Triple Chashu Ramen ($16.80). It's called triple chashu because it uses 3 kinds of eat to create the chashu, which are chicken thigh, pork belly and pork collar.
Tebasaki with Spicy Sauce ($6.90). Needless to say, crispy skin, juicy and tender meat!
Special Power Ramen ($16.50). Tonkotsu soup is creamy and milky, and have garlic and bean sprouts splashed along with it.
Sapporo Miso Special Ramen ($15.80) uses red, white and black miso, and mixed with soup base made of tonkotsu and chicken.
Mentaiko Gyoza ($7.00). Gyoza skin is soft and thin, thus not covering the highlight of the contents itself. Worth a shot for this!
Lobster Salad ($9.80). It is good enough to eat it without the salad sauce, but mixing it makes it an absolute choice with a tad of sour taste! Their lobster mixture is delicious and fresh too.
Ramen Champion is pretty much making a smooth progress in Singapore, having 3 of such concept, separately in Great World City, Changi Airport Terminal 3, as well as Bugis+.
The ramens are generally thick in their broth and definitely worth a smile after a meal, but taste can be slightly salty for those who can't take saltiness. All their chashu(s) is unquestionably tender to mouth and has absorbed the essence of the broth!
For more giveaway details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/08/ramen-champion-shodai-koji-riki-menya.html

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0