OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity741 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
Crabbies in Full of Crab! Smile Jul 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Seafood

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/full-of-crab.html

Each person will be provided with an apron which can prove to be a great "shield" against the crabbies! It is actually to prevent the sauce from staining your clothes. Crew will drop a handful of chips on the table, almost similar in reason, to how Chinese restaurants serve a plate or two of peanuts.
Calamari Rings ($8.50), with choice of either tartar, mayo, ranch or veggie dip. Nicely fried outer to crisp, and springy sotong beneath.
Cajun Wings ($10.00). Their Cajun Wings is another of my favorite, and sure-must order when I visit them again! Mild spicy, with juice oozing out at each bite into the wings.
Full of Crab is not stingy with their complimentary Twiggy Fries ($6.00). Long skinny fries with crispy outer, could be a hot favorite among the kids too smile
Captain's Choice ($94.00 - Market Price) with 2 pounds of Sri Lanka Crab and 1 pound of Shrimps. You will be asked to select your flavor (Cajun/Garlic Butter/Fully Loaded) and spiciness (Mild/Medium/Hot). We had the Fully Loaded, which is the combination of cajun and garlic butter, and Medium level for the spiciness!
Contained within a transparent plastic bag, and opened up to reveal the red hot steaming crab and big fat shrimps in it! You will get to sniff the strong smell of cajun flowing into your nostrils, but it isn't that spicy at all, at least for the initial taste. Their crab and shrimps are quite fresh though, but we had a tough fight with the crabs in cracking them apart, even with the shell cracker.
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/full-of-crab.html

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 09, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Le'Entrecote OK Jul 14, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Steaks and Grills

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/lentrecote-french-brasserie.html

L'Entrecote is one of the new restaurants in the basement of the Fountain of Wealth, since the revamping. Situated just beside the flight of staircase leading to Tower One and Two, it does seem like an expensive place to dine at, yet also look like an express version of a French cuisine.
Spacious interior, with red table-cloths to make it look classy and elegant for a dining experience.
It can easily made into a 3-course meal, with entree, mains, and desserts. Without much of a variety, I felt rather troubled when I am trying to look out for some steak options!
Honestly speaking, I am not a person into French dining, specifically. Thus, I was a little surprised when I received this plate of Walnut Green Salad on my table. This plate of salad actually comes with my ordered steak, as like an appetizer. It does whet my appetite a little, and probably also the reason why I was disappointed by the steak afterwards.
As mentioned above, ordered their Steak & Fries ($29.90) for a classic size, that comes along with the walnut green salad. Had wanted to ask for a rare-cooked steak, but shortly changed to medium-rare. Due to my lack of understanding, medium-rare (Entre à Point et Bien Cuit) in French cuisine could mean a little overcooked. Steak wasn't juicy and the type of rare-cooked steak wasn't of my expectation too. Perhaps should have gone for the rare (Saignant), which could have been a little nearer to my expectation.
Sea Bass Filet ($17.00), also known as Le Bar, is served with a portion of French fries, and also with either steam rice or fresh vegetables. It comes with a creamy sauce to go with the filet, and besides that, filet is easy to slice apart, meat stay almost firm, and skin is crispy.
Vanilla Bean Ice Cream Profiteroles with Hot Chocolate Sauce ($12.00), also known as Profiteroles de “L’Entrecôte”, can be pleasing ending item on the menu…..
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/lentrecote-french-brasserie.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 13, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ramen at Tsukada Nojo Smile Jul 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sukiyaki/Shabu Shabu

Wanted to try out the hotpot for lunch during the weekday, and found out that hotpot is only valid during dinner on weekdays, and whole-day during the weekends! I came at the wrong timing sad Nevertheless, I went in despite the slight disappointment.

 


I actually went to two different branches on two separate days, but both branches gave me a very warm welcome with their Japanese greetings.
They do not have much variety, and perhaps ramen is the one to go for. Given only like 4 options for ramen, we had the Tori Nikomi Soba Shio ($16.80)and another was the Tori Nikomi Soba Spicy Hot ($16.80) ramen. You also get to choose between 3 types of noodle, such as thin egg noodle, rice noodle, and the thick mochi-mochi noodle.

As explained by the crew, the ramen soup is exactly the same used for their hotpot. Surprisingly, this was what we came for! Their collagen soup! But of course, hotpot would be a more sumptuous meal tongue Anyway, ramen came with the toppings placed on top of a "dish cover". Told by the crew (again), we should taste the soup first, before dropping the toppings in. I love the thick, creamy and flavorful collagen soup as it slid through my throat! Too bad they do not offer free-flow collagen soup.

 

 


For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/07/tsukada-nojo.html
 
Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Brunch at Choupinette Smile Jul 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Bakery | Café

If you ain't the "mains" type like burger, brunch, etc., Choupinette do have pastries and cakes too.

Choupinette's food are priced a little steep when compared with other cafes, but as a saying goes "you get what you paid for".
We ordered brunch sets, because we are here for brunch! Brunch set comes with 2 drinks, which you can choose any type of fruit juice, and either a hot coffee/tea/chocolate.

Eggs Benedict's ($25.00). It has poached eggs on toast with ham and hollandaise sauce. I love their hollandaise sauce for being thick and creamy, and poached eggs are boiled to have the yolk oozing out like volcano lava!

The Tristan's ($24.00). Choose between scrambled/poached/fried eggs, and comes with pork/chicken sausage, mushrooms, and a wholemeal bread roll. Ordered the pork sausage, which is definitely handmade from the look and taste of it.

"100 000" ChouChou ($4.50) for a stick of donuts sprinkled with tiny sweet pops. Basically sugar coated plain donuts, which I managed to stomach them all in. Fluffy and well sugar-coated donut just makes up the complete brunch of mine!

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/07/choupinette.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 05, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Average only..  OK Jul 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

Most diners are sharing tables, so that Kin Kin can accommodate more diners at a time. It seems rather busy, in addition that it's a weekend dinner. But service is rather prompt and so is the food served.
Heard that the menu used to have more items than now, perhaps to make their service more effective and easier for chefs to prepare and narrow down the waiting time.

I was strongly recommended to try their Homemade Fishball Soup ($4.00). Quantity of 5 big and soft fishballs, which seems to be indeed homemade, but lacking of firmness and springy texture.

Signature Dry Chilli Pan Mee ($5.00) - Dry. Comes with a bunch of anchovies, 3 meatballs and a soft-boiled egg.

If you find it too plain, you may opt for Sea Asparagus Pan Mee ($8.00) - Dry. Everything is the same, but with addition of sea asparagus for another $3.00.

This is how it should roughly look like after mixing up. I love the thickness and the "gluey" feeling of the noodles, but not having the springy feeling is still a flaw to me.

Overall, it is ok to dine here once, but definitely not worth to queue and wait long hours for it. I would rather head to the nearest coffeshop and order a bowl of fishball noodle. To me, lack of springy texture in the fishball and the noodle are big mistakes.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/07/kin-kin-chilli-pan-mee.html

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0