OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity741 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 66 to 70 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
Healthier Dining Options Smile Jun 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

I love Dian Xiao Er for one particular reason out of many - Chinese dining theme! They do have modern theme as well in selected outlets, for youngsters whom have zero interest in Chinese culture. NEX Mall is one of the spacious outlet in Singapore, able to host big groups, and even Chinese wedding dinner, although a small-sized engagement type would seems more suitable.

Signature Roast Duck! It comes with either of the 3 flavors (Angelica Herb ($13.60), Ten Wonders ($13.90), and Wild Ginseng ($14.30)). All 3 sauces are delectable, and do add another layer of tastiness to the already juicy and tender roast duck!

Fish Maw Soup with Seafood ($16.90). Dian Xiao Er has prepared the fish maw to softness, making it easier to bite through, and the smooth thick consistency of the soup is just so yummy!

Double-boiled Black Chicken Soup ($7.30), Stewed Crocodile Soup with Sweet Almonds and Chuan Bei ($7.60), and Double-boiled Wintermelon Soup with Conpoy ($7.30). Popular to most belief, crocodile meat taste like chicken meat, and doesn't really have any weird aftertaste.

Hong Kong Style Steamed Silver Cod Fish ($26.90). I love cod fish, because of its soft and silky-like meat in my mouth!

Baby Kailan with Salted Fish and Lime ($9.90). Crunchy leafy with a unique way of serving with the addition of lime. Refreshing dish, but the mild sour taste of lime on the kailan does not really appeal to me.

Seafood Combo with Assorted Vegetables ($15.60).

Claypot Braised Sea Cucumber, Mushroom and Pork Tendon ($26.00).

Stir Fried Bee Hoon ($9.90). Beehoon has a springy texture, and furthermore it seems that beehoon is well soaked and stir fried, making the moisture still stay within.
Mongolian Spare Ribs ($13.90). Coated a mild layer of spicy sauce, and with the sweet and sour tinge plum, this plate of rib is another dish to go for, if you are not into the health-conscious type.

Marmite Superior Chicken Wing ($10.90). This is my favorite dish, in comparison with Mongolia Spare Ribs. It has this sweet savory taste, and the chicken is tender and juicy.
Dian Xiao Er has always been proactive in serving healthier food options, and this partnership has indeed gain them more exposure! With healthier food preparation methods, such as the use of rice barn oil, Dian Xiao Er also ensure that tastiness and flavors will not be compromised.

As part of the partnership with HPB, Dian Xiao Er is one of the participating food establishments for the loyalty card programme. All you have to do is to earn a total of 5 stamps for each dish under the "Healthier Choice" category, and you will be eligible for a lucky draw.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/06/dian-xiao-er-healthier-dining.html
Signature Roast Duck

Signature Roast Duck

 
Hong Kong Style Steamed Silver Cod Fish

Hong Kong Style Steamed Silver Cod Fish

 
Claypot Braised Sea Cucumber, Mushroom and Pork Tendon

Claypot Braised Sea Cucumber, Mushroom and Pork Tendon

 
Mongolian Spare Rib

Mongolian Spare Rib

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taiwan Railway Bento in Singapore OK Jun 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

If you are coming during the peak hours, be prepared to wait. Was there on a weekend, and place is still pretty crowded around 2pm. Waited for a nice 10-15 minutes before we got a seat, and our food being served shortly as orders were taken while waiting.

Menu is very limited, with less than 20 options. A fast and easy meal for working adults and those who prepare to get on their way soon after a meal. Really can't resist ordering this, Fried Intestine ($3.50). It may not be as flavorful as those we had in "Kway Chap" stores. Perhaps lacking of the braised sauce, it will still do good with some chili sauce.

Fried Chicken Cutlet ($4.00). Meat is tender, and with a tinge of saltiness. Something like "盐酥鸡", pretty addictive. We totally skipped the local bento, and aimed straight for the traditional bento, which I believed is more to the Taiwanese favorites.

Stew Pork Belly Bento ($6.80). Comes with vegetables, half of a braised egg, a thin slice of Taiwanese sausage, and beancurd. For having pork belly bento, do not expect to have mostly meat and no fats.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/taiwan-railway-bento.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 21, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

Yong Kee Seafood Restaurant may not be easy to locate as it is at the edge of a conjuring junction between Dickson Road and Jalan Besar. For a more prominent building as a reference, it is opposite Sim Lim Tower.
One of their signatures, 沙律虾 - Prawns served with salad cream ($20.00 for small portion). Yong Kee Seafood Restaurant managed this dish by using honeydew shell as the serving bowl, and the fried prawns placed together with fruits, such as grapes and of course honeydew. I love their fried prawns as it is not too over-fried, and is chewy. Definitely a signature dish!

Another of their signature dishes, 三鲜豆腐 - Seafood Beancurd ($14.00). Instead of the round tofu used usually in the hotplate beancurd, Yong Kee Seafood Restaurant uses something like silken tofu, lightly fried the outer, and leaving the inside still soft yet firm. Thick gravy is nice to go with rice as well.
奶白菜 - Stir Fry Baby Cabbage ($10.00 for small portion). I have always loved this type of vegetable! Topped with mini shrimp which is quite a special idea, the crunchy stem and tender leafy made me go "wow" again!
排骨王 - Braised Prime Ribs ($10.00 for small). Sweet sauce and boneless ribs. Did they mention prime ribs? Meat is indeed tender and juicy!

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/yong-kee-seafood-restaurant.html

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chao Tar
 
Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Volcano Ramen Smile Jun 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Hot Stone Japanese Rice with Pork and Kimchi ($10.00). If you have tried before the Korean bibimbap, this should not seem funny to you. Mix it up, and you can on the mushy rice, and flavorful sauce.
Kazan Shoyu ($18.00 for regular, $15.00 for small). I had wanted to follow the steps and do it myself. But crew was faster than me, and I only got the chance to sit back and watched.

Crew first poured the broth into the stone bowl, and covered it with a funnel-like. The resemblance of volcano comes when the you see strong amount of smoke "erupting" from the funnel! Although the set comes with a separate bowl of rice, we left it untouched and focus more on thick and flavorful ramen, and the sweet, delightful broth! Yummy!

Ordered a plate of Yaki Gyoza ($5.00 for 6 pieces). My preferred type of gyoza is when the outer is fried till crisp, yet inside is soft but not mushy. Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen does it wonderfully! I love their gyoza!

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/tonkotsu-kazan-ramen.html

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Gem in Joo Chiat! Smile Jun 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Sng Muay Pop is just another awesome drink I believe can be easily made at home though. It seems something like a slice of sour plum being placed in ice ball and mixed with calamansi and even soda drink to be served. Sinpopo's menu says to suck on the ice balls to relieve the childhood experience of sucking on the traditional ice popsicle.
Scissors Cut Rice, a popular street food of soft chicken wings, crispy pork cutlet, egg and cabbage, served with curry gravy. Thick gravy, crispy and soft, are exactly as they described in their menu. One thing that's not met is the egg.
Zi Pao Kai with Bee Hoon ($8.90). The chicken is really tender and juicy, to an extent where I think 3 pieces is soooo not enough!
Ngoh Hiang ($7.90). You do not get to choose in Sinpopo. It is fixed, and comes with fish cake, five spices meat roll, prawn fritters and chinese sausage. I do enjoyed all of it, except for the fish cake, which seems tasteless.
Pulot Hitam with Coconut Ice Cream ($4.90). This is one classic black glutinous rice dessert back in the coffeeshops when I was still a kid.
D24 Durian Cendol ($4.90). You can expect basic ingredients such as coconut milk, jelly noodles, red beans, grass jelly, corn and such, topped with shaved ice, palm sugar and mashed durian meat.
Ais Bor ($3.90). Very similar to ice kacang/cendol, but this time shaped in a ball. A ball of ice, with the ingredients like corns, attap chee, jelly noodles, red bean, etc within.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/sinpopo-brand.html
Pulot Hitam with Coconut Ice Cream

Pulot Hitam with Coconut Ice Cream

 

 
Ais Bor

Ais Bor

 
Scissors Cut Rice

Scissors Cut Rice

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend