OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity740 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
Average only..  OK Jul 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

Most diners are sharing tables, so that Kin Kin can accommodate more diners at a time. It seems rather busy, in addition that it's a weekend dinner. But service is rather prompt and so is the food served.
Heard that the menu used to have more items than now, perhaps to make their service more effective and easier for chefs to prepare and narrow down the waiting time.

I was strongly recommended to try their Homemade Fishball Soup ($4.00). Quantity of 5 big and soft fishballs, which seems to be indeed homemade, but lacking of firmness and springy texture.

Signature Dry Chilli Pan Mee ($5.00) - Dry. Comes with a bunch of anchovies, 3 meatballs and a soft-boiled egg.

If you find it too plain, you may opt for Sea Asparagus Pan Mee ($8.00) - Dry. Everything is the same, but with addition of sea asparagus for another $3.00.

This is how it should roughly look like after mixing up. I love the thickness and the "gluey" feeling of the noodles, but not having the springy feeling is still a flaw to me.

Overall, it is ok to dine here once, but definitely not worth to queue and wait long hours for it. I would rather head to the nearest coffeshop and order a bowl of fishball noodle. To me, lack of springy texture in the fishball and the noodle are big mistakes.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/07/kin-kin-chilli-pan-mee.html

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taiwan Railway Bento in Singapore OK Jun 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

If you are coming during the peak hours, be prepared to wait. Was there on a weekend, and place is still pretty crowded around 2pm. Waited for a nice 10-15 minutes before we got a seat, and our food being served shortly as orders were taken while waiting.

Menu is very limited, with less than 20 options. A fast and easy meal for working adults and those who prepare to get on their way soon after a meal. Really can't resist ordering this, Fried Intestine ($3.50). It may not be as flavorful as those we had in "Kway Chap" stores. Perhaps lacking of the braised sauce, it will still do good with some chili sauce.

Fried Chicken Cutlet ($4.00). Meat is tender, and with a tinge of saltiness. Something like "盐酥鸡", pretty addictive. We totally skipped the local bento, and aimed straight for the traditional bento, which I believed is more to the Taiwanese favorites.

Stew Pork Belly Bento ($6.80). Comes with vegetables, half of a braised egg, a thin slice of Taiwanese sausage, and beancurd. For having pork belly bento, do not expect to have mostly meat and no fats.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/taiwan-railway-bento.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 21, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

November 8 Cafe, Thomson V OK Jun 15, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

 

I have known and been to this area, Thomson, for years, but not even once I took notice of this building called Thomson V Two. It is kind of like a hidden gem where it houses several cafes in this humble site. Needless to say, with the numerous sprouting along the main road of Upper Thomson Road, Thomson V Two can easily be forgotten. Wooden furniture, and music and brewing coffee as companion, it is indeed a cosy cafe to dine at. This rugged feel tend to make me feel at home, always smile

 

Oven-Baked Salmon ($20.00): Herbs-marinated Salmon with cauliflowers and baby carrots. This main is not well-received by us because the salmon fillets, the highlight, are over-cooked. The meat does not fall off nicely upon slicing, and is a tad tough.

 

All Day Breakfast: Big Breakfast ($20.00): consisting of scrambled eggs with bacon, gourmet pork sausage, gourmet york ham, premium smoked ham, tomato and mushroom. In contrast to the Salmon, we have little complaints.

 

Thin Crust Pizza: Japanese Pizza ($15.00): Crust is indeed thin and dough is believed to be handmade. We love the contents, and have managed to taste out the inclusion of wasabi, mayo, sotong.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/november-8-coffee-company.html
 
Date of Visit: Jun 03, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Spacious Cafe for big groups OK Jun 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/backstage-cafe.html
Drinks - Iced Cappuccino ($5.50), and Iced Cafe Latte ($5.50). If you prefer to hot version, it is just a dollar less.
Main - Smoked Salmon Benedict ($15.00). Freshly poached eggs on toast accompanied with sliced salmon top with hollandaise sauce and mesculin salad. I love poached eggs which are nicely done with runny yolks. The one that came to our table, has one almost cooked, but another to make up for former smile
Main - Backstage Breakfast Combo ($15.00). Freshly toasted bread with bacon, honey baked ham, sauteed mushroom, grilled fresh tomatoes with melted cheese and mesculin salad, accompanied with choice of egg (scrambled/egg white/poached/sunnyside). Scrambled is a little overcooked, which wasn't the wobbling type I wanted sad Generally the rest of the dish is fine.
Crispy Fried Chicken Wing ($8.00). 4 pieces of wings which are fried to crisp and juicy in the meat. Thumbs!
For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/backstage-cafe.html

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not the usual standard? OK May 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Zi Char

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/two-chefs-eating-place-sin-ming-outlet.html
I accidentally chanced upon the signage "Two Chefs Eating Place" after parking in the HDB carpark. A thought immediately struck my head, "Did Two Chefs have another outlet?".
Prawn Paste Chicken ($12.00). When this came, all of us went bewildered. It doesn't look like the usual crispy fried type in other places.
One of their popular signatures, Honey Fried Chicken ($12.00). Crispy chicken with thick honey sauce "combed" all over it! Love this!
Coral Beancurd ($10.00). Oh my... If I am given the chance to make one of the dish as the signatures, this will be one of them!
Butter Ribs ($12.00). Another of their signatures, but I am still doubtful... Ribs are tender, and the butter which taste more like milk powder is quite nice too. But the combination just don't solve the puzzle.. It somehow still remains as two separate entity.
A dish that is generally exist and almost on every table on tables while eating out on tze char stalls... Curry Fish Head ($23.00). Curry is not too spicy, and quite thick. Fish is fresh of course, but whole dish is just faring an average.
For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/two-chefs-eating-place-sin-ming-outlet.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 03, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0