OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity740 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
Cafe in CBD area OK May 07, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/my-awesome-cafe.html
Forget about looking for "My Awesome Cafe" signboard.. Instead, the enlarged chinese characters (中华医院) are the ones you should be stretching your neck for smile
Menu is clipped to a board with chinese wordings, meaning I am hungry and a little thirsty smile
Drinks: Orange Juice ($5.00), and Mixed Berries Smoothie ($8.00). The latter drink is disappointing because it is almost bland to taste sad I had to force myself to drink it so as to justify the $8.00 spent!
Main: Croissant + Scrambled Eggs + Smoked Salmon and Cheese ($8.50). I love their fluffy croissant and runny scrambled eggs lol
Main: Herbs Chicken Breast Sandwich ($12.00). I thought it would be like chicken breast mixed/marinated with herbs.. Served on 4 slices of baguette, it consists of a pair with chunks of sliced chicken breast, and another pair with herbs "jam" spread on it.
For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/my-awesome-cafe.html

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 26, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/04/wang-thai-kitchen.html

Looking for Thai food in the heartlands? Wang Thai Kitchen serves Thai food, right in Toa Payoh, surrounded by a number of coffee shops and eateries.
Appetizer: Thai Fish Cake ($7.50 for 5 pieces). Quite like the firm yet soft texture of the fish cake. Nice dish to start with!
Appetizer: Pandan Leave Chicken ($7.50 for 5 pieces).
Soup: Tom Yam with Thai Fresh Mushroom ($10.00). Soup is great, but if you are looking at some damn powerful sour & spicy soup, this is truly not one of them.
Chicken: Fried Chicken with Pepper in Hot Plate ($12.00).
Fish: Crispy Garoupa with Mango Salad ($30.00). Sliced mango stripes which are quite dried, and fish is although fresh, but lacking of taste. Should have gone for the sambal chili version.
Vegetables: Stir-Fried Kai Lan with Oyster Sauce ($10.00).
Egg: Thai Style Omelette with Prawn ($8.00). Seen other pictures where their omelette is fluffy, but mine came flat!!
Rice & Noodles: Pineapple Fried Rice ($10.00). Having eaten others, Wang Thai's version is lacking of pineapple fruits in it, and overall just doesn't taste yummy at all.
Dessert: Mango with Sticky Rice ($5.00). Sticky rice is being served warm which is commendable, because some places do serve cold rice!
Overall, can be well rated as average. I do not feel that this is authentic Thai food, as I've had others which seems more to what Thai food be like, in my perspective. But good for a simple and fast "kill-off" craving for Thai food.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/04/wang-thai-kitchen.html

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 13, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sides fared better than ramens! OK Mar 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

For more details, please visit www.foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/03/menya-koji.html
Assari Mini Spicy Miso Ramen ($9.50). This spicy salted flavored soup ramen comes in a "larger" version ($13.80) too, but with flavored egg. Original Miso Ramen ($14.90), which they also have in mini version ($9.90) without flavored egg.
Salmon Sashimi ($8.80). I like their salmon here, as I don't get the strong fishy taste as I get from other places.
Black Pepper Chicken Wings ($8.80) with sweet shoyu sauce. Just the photo itself should be able to justify how tasty it is! I love tender and juicy chicken wings smile
Mentaimayo Gyoza ($6.80 for 6 pieces). Salted cod roe pan-fried dumplings with spring onion and mayonnaise. Gyoza is not as crispy as I would love to have, and fillings are mostly spring onions. But it isn't dry at all... Plus point!
The ramens are not really that delicious.. But their sides do deserve a thumbs up smile If I were to return again, I definitely will not skip the sides!
For more details, please visit www.foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/03/menya-koji.html

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 16, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/03/the-coffee-shot.html
All-Day Breakfast lol
Had the Caffe Latte ($5.50) which I heard was nice, and Honey Con Leche ($6.50) which tasted much like milk tea, with a litte honey taste in it. Not really my cup of drink though.
If you are one of those alcoholic lover, the rest of their specialty drinks should be in your order-list!
Scramb It! ($16.90), having scrambled eggs, pork bratwurst, honey baked ham, toasts, roasted tomato and mesclun. Scrambled eggs seems to have been left out of the pan for some time already, though it is still mushy.. But I do love their toasts, as they are crispy on the outside, and soft in the inside smile
Next is Cajun Spiced Chicken ($14.00), having boneless chicken thigh, mesclun and spicy bbq sauce. Dish presentation looks pretty neat, and cajun chicken is tasty too. But rice is tasteless…
Also had the Old School Bun ($6.50), which is just omelette with ham, and a little of mayonnaise.. Simple bun, yet satisfying.
Food has no "oom" factor, though the sausage and cajun chicken meat itself can be quite tasty. Moreoever, food took quite some time to arrive even though tables weren't even half-filled after I ordered the food. Drinks took some 10 minutes or so to arrive as well. But generally, this place can be a nice cafe for some old school essence smile
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/03/the-coffee-shot.html

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 15, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cakes for dessert! OK Feb 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Chanced upon this small cakery shop, and what attract me is the simplistic color and interior design.

While the seats are limited, it does still gives you the warm and welcoming feel.

Not sure if their food menu is changed daily, as present date is indicated at the top of the menu. But based on what we saw, they served salmon/prawn pasta, chicken meatball pasta, nasi lemak, tuna sandwich, turkey ham and turkey bacon sandwich, and french fries. Again, a simple menu for the likes of the locals!

French Fries ($5.00). One of those fries which I prefer over the skinny fries we have in fast food restaurants...

Prawn Pasta ($14.00). Linguine served with pan-grilled prawns. Look delicious and with crunchy prawns, but linguine is not able to perfect the dish. Personally, the pasta did not get into the likes of mine, which is acceptable for me, as their focus is more on cakes.

Rainbow Beauty ($8.50). Pretty big slice, with beautifully colored layers smile Fair level of sweetness might provoke your tastebuds for more!

For details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/02/lynn-cakes-coffee.html

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Rainbow Beauty
 
Date of Visit: Feb 08, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0