OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity740 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
Milk Tea! OK Sep 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

 

 
For details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2013/09/cafe-pal.html

Looking for Thai food, and also craving for bubble tea? If you are in bugis area, you are saved from going two separate places!

A small cafe, comfortable with low noise level, and some yellow light ambience. Quite suitable for gatherings.

One of the drink not to be missed is their bubble tea. Basically for $5.80, you get to choose your type of milk base, with two toppings ($0.50 per additional). And I had the Thai Milk Tea, with grass jelly and aloe vera.

Pom Pom Green ($8.80) is just green tea with pomelo juice and its pulps smile A refreshing cold drink.

Mini toast with Kaya dip ($4.00). Well, the main highlight is the kaya which is not too creamy, and taste is just nice.

Fish Strips ($5.00). Meaning $5.80 for a cup of bubble tea and a plate of fish strips.
Well, it seems to have some peppery form on it. As every piece I bite on, I felt like coughing as though powder has escalated to my nose and throat. But still, its a nice snack.

I quite like their bubble tea, and decided to order one more for takeaway. This time, Thai Milk Tea with sago and grassjelly. But instead of the usual $5.80, I paid an extra dollar more, as takeaway does not consists of toppings, in exchange for their plastic bottle. It is actually well sealed, like you just bought a brand new bottle from supermarkets?

For details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2013/09/cafe-pal.html
 
Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Quicky meal during lunch hours OK Aug 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Pasta

 

 

Platypus Test Kitchen is one of out of three, with Test Kitchen, and Platypus Family Dining & Platypus Kitchen, focusing on different concepts.

As the name suggests, this is the place to try out their latest creations and innovations for pastas and risottos.

For drinks, we had Lychee Peach Tea, and Passionfruit Tea. Something like syrup drink, so be sure to stir well.

Meatballs Garganelli ($15.50) with homemade meatballs braised in pomodoro sauce. Basically tomato sauce drenched on the meatballs. Meatballs are 100% beef, and are squishy!

Carbonara ($13.50) uses linguini, tossed with double smoked bacon in an egg-yolk cream sauce. If you are looking for something creamy, their Carbonara is a better choice than Meatballs Garganelli.

Their food are rather average, but I would probably go again to try other flavors. I would love to try out their Platypus Kitchen anytime soon!

For full review and more photos, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2013/08/platypus-test-kitchen.html
 
Date of Visit: Aug 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles | Kids-Friendly

They do not take any reservations, so please ensure all attendees are present before they can let you in.

You can refer to the menu board given to you while in the queue. Not a long range of items though.

First Heavenly King, Steamed Egg Cake ($3.80). A little sticky and fluffy taste.

Second Heavenly King, Vermicelli Roll with Pig's Liver ($5.50). Wierd combination though. Their vermicelli rolls are served plain with the "highlight", but soya sauce will be poured upon served to your table.

Third Heavenly King, Baked Bun with BBQ Pork ($4.50). Sweet taste, and bun is soft, and fillings not too stigny either smile

Fourth Heavenly King, Pan Fried Carrot Cake ($4.50). This is certainly too soft and mushy to my liking...

Glutinous Rice Dumpling ($5.00).Pork Dumpling with Shrimp ($5.00). Dumpling Teochew Style ($4.00). Clueless about this, I ordered.. and regretted. Something like vegetable dumpling?Beancurd Skin Roll with Shrimp ($5.50). Not the best I have eaten, so fare probably a pass only..

For details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2013/07/tim-ho-wan.html

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 20, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese Buffet, soso only... OK May 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Buffet

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2013/05/ikoi-japanese-restaurant.html

If you are looking for Japanese sushi buffet,with a wide variety to choose from, Ikoi Japanese Restaurant located in Miramar Hotel might be worth a visit. Provided you going for quantity over quality.

An adult costs $38++ and requires advance reservation. You will first be welcomed with massive photos of local and overseas celerities taken with the shopowner. They are popular for their sashimi, thus sashimi lovers might love this place. At intervals, there will be complimentary dishes given to you. Not all of them tastes special, but probably termed as complimentary due to only one plate per table. Other than their sashimi, basically most of their other dishes are average only. Be prepared some dishes might be missing from your table. You can try to lace your order with them again, but no promise of it's attendance still!

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2013/05/ikoi-japanese-restaurant.html
 
Date of Visit: May 11, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cosy-themed cafe! OK Apr 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café

For more details, please visit www.foodesteem.blogspot.com/2013/04/l.html

A two-storey cafe erects just somewhere behind Farrer Park MRT, housed among a row of shophouses.

Interesting cafe with quirky food categories! Bottom storey is quite normal, but has one seating which is sofa type, facing a big glass panel, most suitable for people watching smile Upper storey is more interesting, and a very nice section to spend your afternoon away doing some light internet surfing with your devices, and reading some books!

Ordered their big breakfast that has sausages, toast, potato wedges, mushroom, bacon, and scrambled eggs. You are able to choose between scrambled, sunny side, omelette, or overeasy.

Also had their bagel with cream cheese and smoked salmon. Bagel is tough to chew, and too cheesy that almost covers the taste of smoked salmon.

Lastly, their raisin scone and carrot cake. Love their raisin scone, but again, it is hard to bite off. Comes with butter and strawberry jam, which really makes the raisin scone easier to stomach it smile I prefer the carrot cake more than raisin scone, as it is moist and smooth to go down my throat. But definitely not people allergic to nuts sad

For pictures and more reviews, please visit my blog smile

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 13, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0