OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity736 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
Khun Mee Thai Noodle Bar Smile Jul 23, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Noodles

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/khun-mee-thai-noodle-bar.html

Although with a small shop space, Khun Mee Thai has no lack of menu options, ranging from appetizers to desserts.
Cha ($3.00), also known as Thai Tea, is their recommended drink. It is a traditional Thai Ice Milk Tea, made from black tea, vanilla, cinnamon, star anise, evaporated milk, and ice cubes.If you are not a milk tea type of person, you can also try their Nam Ta Krai ($2.50), also known as Lemongrass Drink, homemade by Khun Mee Thai.
Guey Teow Lui Suan ($5.80), also known as Thai-Style Garden Roll, comes in 6 short rolls for ease of consumption. With the balance of sweet and sour taste, and their special chilli sauce, it might be a hit among the popiah-lovers.
Kha Moo ($7.80), also known as Pork Leg, is one of my favorite dish, although taste can be quite similar to canned food, Pork Leg with Mushrooms, but with a slight twist! Braised with 5 spices sauce and cushioned with Thai Kai Lan, it makes the whole dish very digestible and feel like scooping for more.
Moo Yor Salad ($5.80), also known as Thai sausages with glass noodle in spicy dressing. Using pork and sprinked with crushed black peppercorns to form the sausage, this is one of the Thai-Chinese street foods back in Thailand.
Khor Kai Tod ($4.80), also known as Fried Chicken Joints. While not recommended for the elderly due to the effort required to bite it apart, I felt like biting off the tendon underneath the crispy outer, which makes me feel addicted to it the more I bite.
Khao Clook Ga-Pi ($8.80), also known as Fried Rice with Shrimp Paste, served with Thai sweet pork stew, crispy dried shrimp, sliced cucumber, shallots, julienned green mango, omelette strips, Chinese sausage and chilli padi. The dried ingredients may seem boring, but the splash of the sweet pork stew on the rice makes a difference to the dried plate of rice.
Being in Khun Mee Thai, one shouldn't miss out on their signature wanton noodle! Ba Mee Kiao ($5.80 - $9.80), also known as Egg Noodle with Dumpling. It also includes char siew, and either lava egg, crabmeat or both, which I believe is quite rare, as lava egg seems to appear in Japanese cuisine most of the time! We had the dry version, which I also believe is much more interesting. The best way to eat this, is to actually mix the 4 condiments with the noodle, and chopstick it to your mouth! I agree adding of sugar is pretty weird, but trust me, the overall taste is quite satisfying.
……….
From courtesy of Khun Mee Thai, I am giving away 2 dining vouchers to 2 person, entitling you to $5 discount with a minimum spending of $25. Simply comment on my blog post, or my facebook page, to stand a winning chance!
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/khun-mee-thai-noodle-bar.html

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kha Moo
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Crabbies in Full of Crab! Smile Jul 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Seafood

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/full-of-crab.html

Each person will be provided with an apron which can prove to be a great "shield" against the crabbies! It is actually to prevent the sauce from staining your clothes. Crew will drop a handful of chips on the table, almost similar in reason, to how Chinese restaurants serve a plate or two of peanuts.
Calamari Rings ($8.50), with choice of either tartar, mayo, ranch or veggie dip. Nicely fried outer to crisp, and springy sotong beneath.
Cajun Wings ($10.00). Their Cajun Wings is another of my favorite, and sure-must order when I visit them again! Mild spicy, with juice oozing out at each bite into the wings.
Full of Crab is not stingy with their complimentary Twiggy Fries ($6.00). Long skinny fries with crispy outer, could be a hot favorite among the kids too smile
Captain's Choice ($94.00 - Market Price) with 2 pounds of Sri Lanka Crab and 1 pound of Shrimps. You will be asked to select your flavor (Cajun/Garlic Butter/Fully Loaded) and spiciness (Mild/Medium/Hot). We had the Fully Loaded, which is the combination of cajun and garlic butter, and Medium level for the spiciness!
Contained within a transparent plastic bag, and opened up to reveal the red hot steaming crab and big fat shrimps in it! You will get to sniff the strong smell of cajun flowing into your nostrils, but it isn't that spicy at all, at least for the initial taste. Their crab and shrimps are quite fresh though, but we had a tough fight with the crabs in cracking them apart, even with the shell cracker.
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/full-of-crab.html

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 09, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ramen at Tsukada Nojo Smile Jul 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sukiyaki/Shabu Shabu

Wanted to try out the hotpot for lunch during the weekday, and found out that hotpot is only valid during dinner on weekdays, and whole-day during the weekends! I came at the wrong timing sad Nevertheless, I went in despite the slight disappointment.

 


I actually went to two different branches on two separate days, but both branches gave me a very warm welcome with their Japanese greetings.
They do not have much variety, and perhaps ramen is the one to go for. Given only like 4 options for ramen, we had the Tori Nikomi Soba Shio ($16.80)and another was the Tori Nikomi Soba Spicy Hot ($16.80) ramen. You also get to choose between 3 types of noodle, such as thin egg noodle, rice noodle, and the thick mochi-mochi noodle.

As explained by the crew, the ramen soup is exactly the same used for their hotpot. Surprisingly, this was what we came for! Their collagen soup! But of course, hotpot would be a more sumptuous meal tongue Anyway, ramen came with the toppings placed on top of a "dish cover". Told by the crew (again), we should taste the soup first, before dropping the toppings in. I love the thick, creamy and flavorful collagen soup as it slid through my throat! Too bad they do not offer free-flow collagen soup.

 

 


For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/07/tsukada-nojo.html
 
Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Brunch at Choupinette Smile Jul 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Bakery | Café

If you ain't the "mains" type like burger, brunch, etc., Choupinette do have pastries and cakes too.

Choupinette's food are priced a little steep when compared with other cafes, but as a saying goes "you get what you paid for".
We ordered brunch sets, because we are here for brunch! Brunch set comes with 2 drinks, which you can choose any type of fruit juice, and either a hot coffee/tea/chocolate.

Eggs Benedict's ($25.00). It has poached eggs on toast with ham and hollandaise sauce. I love their hollandaise sauce for being thick and creamy, and poached eggs are boiled to have the yolk oozing out like volcano lava!

The Tristan's ($24.00). Choose between scrambled/poached/fried eggs, and comes with pork/chicken sausage, mushrooms, and a wholemeal bread roll. Ordered the pork sausage, which is definitely handmade from the look and taste of it.

"100 000" ChouChou ($4.50) for a stick of donuts sprinkled with tiny sweet pops. Basically sugar coated plain donuts, which I managed to stomach them all in. Fluffy and well sugar-coated donut just makes up the complete brunch of mine!

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/07/choupinette.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 05, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Healthier Dining Options Smile Jun 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

I love Dian Xiao Er for one particular reason out of many - Chinese dining theme! They do have modern theme as well in selected outlets, for youngsters whom have zero interest in Chinese culture. NEX Mall is one of the spacious outlet in Singapore, able to host big groups, and even Chinese wedding dinner, although a small-sized engagement type would seems more suitable.

Signature Roast Duck! It comes with either of the 3 flavors (Angelica Herb ($13.60), Ten Wonders ($13.90), and Wild Ginseng ($14.30)). All 3 sauces are delectable, and do add another layer of tastiness to the already juicy and tender roast duck!

Fish Maw Soup with Seafood ($16.90). Dian Xiao Er has prepared the fish maw to softness, making it easier to bite through, and the smooth thick consistency of the soup is just so yummy!

Double-boiled Black Chicken Soup ($7.30), Stewed Crocodile Soup with Sweet Almonds and Chuan Bei ($7.60), and Double-boiled Wintermelon Soup with Conpoy ($7.30). Popular to most belief, crocodile meat taste like chicken meat, and doesn't really have any weird aftertaste.

Hong Kong Style Steamed Silver Cod Fish ($26.90). I love cod fish, because of its soft and silky-like meat in my mouth!

Baby Kailan with Salted Fish and Lime ($9.90). Crunchy leafy with a unique way of serving with the addition of lime. Refreshing dish, but the mild sour taste of lime on the kailan does not really appeal to me.

Seafood Combo with Assorted Vegetables ($15.60).

Claypot Braised Sea Cucumber, Mushroom and Pork Tendon ($26.00).

Stir Fried Bee Hoon ($9.90). Beehoon has a springy texture, and furthermore it seems that beehoon is well soaked and stir fried, making the moisture still stay within.
Mongolian Spare Ribs ($13.90). Coated a mild layer of spicy sauce, and with the sweet and sour tinge plum, this plate of rib is another dish to go for, if you are not into the health-conscious type.

Marmite Superior Chicken Wing ($10.90). This is my favorite dish, in comparison with Mongolia Spare Ribs. It has this sweet savory taste, and the chicken is tender and juicy.
Dian Xiao Er has always been proactive in serving healthier food options, and this partnership has indeed gain them more exposure! With healthier food preparation methods, such as the use of rice barn oil, Dian Xiao Er also ensure that tastiness and flavors will not be compromised.

As part of the partnership with HPB, Dian Xiao Er is one of the participating food establishments for the loyalty card programme. All you have to do is to earn a total of 5 stamps for each dish under the "Healthier Choice" category, and you will be eligible for a lucky draw.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/06/dian-xiao-er-healthier-dining.html
Signature Roast Duck

Signature Roast Duck

 
Hong Kong Style Steamed Silver Cod Fish

Hong Kong Style Steamed Silver Cod Fish

 
Claypot Braised Sea Cucumber, Mushroom and Pork Tendon

Claypot Braised Sea Cucumber, Mushroom and Pork Tendon

 
Mongolian Spare Rib

Mongolian Spare Rib

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0