OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity736 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
The Lokal Smile Aug 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads | Brunch

Not a truly spacious cafe, but the decor does make this narrow little "alley" a little more classy.

We were there at around 1430 hours, and guessed what? The crowd didn't cease then, and we had to share a table with another patron. This only show how popular and the amount of exposure The Lokal is getting, at this near-forsaken place during the weekends.

Ordered a cup of coffee to kick start the brunch! Cappuccino ($5.50), with a jar of brown sugar if you like to further sweeten it.

 

Grilled Sausages with homemade sauerkraut, sauteed potatoes, fried egg and onion jam ($23). I have never tried sauerkraut, which also means sour cabbage. I only had a little sample out of the "mountain" served to me, and decided to ignore that for the rest of my meal. But disregarding the cabbage, and exchanging fried egg for scrambled egg, the whole dish is pretty satisfying! Definitely a must-try for their grilled sausages!

 

 

If you want your food to be specially made for you, in some sense, you might want to go for Pimp my breakfast. Choosing from a list of breakfast sides, the first "pimped" breakfast came with toasted sourdough, grilled sausage, sauteed mushroom, and poached eggs ($20.50). The poached eggs seem to be nicely done, with wobbling yolk waiting to be let out. Another "pimped" breakfast has fried eggs, smoked salmon, and sauteed mushroom ($15.00).

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/08/the-lokal.html
 
Date of Visit: Aug 16, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shodai Koji, Riki, Menya Ryu Smile Aug 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/08/ramen-champion-shodai-koji-riki-menya.html
Ramen Champion has just brought in 3 new stalls to entice more Ramen-Lovers to drop by for a meal, which are Shodai Koji, Riki, and Menya Ryu.
Triple Chashu Ramen ($16.80). It's called triple chashu because it uses 3 kinds of eat to create the chashu, which are chicken thigh, pork belly and pork collar.
Tebasaki with Spicy Sauce ($6.90). Needless to say, crispy skin, juicy and tender meat!
Special Power Ramen ($16.50). Tonkotsu soup is creamy and milky, and have garlic and bean sprouts splashed along with it.
Sapporo Miso Special Ramen ($15.80) uses red, white and black miso, and mixed with soup base made of tonkotsu and chicken.
Mentaiko Gyoza ($7.00). Gyoza skin is soft and thin, thus not covering the highlight of the contents itself. Worth a shot for this!
Lobster Salad ($9.80). It is good enough to eat it without the salad sauce, but mixing it makes it an absolute choice with a tad of sour taste! Their lobster mixture is delicious and fresh too.
Ramen Champion is pretty much making a smooth progress in Singapore, having 3 of such concept, separately in Great World City, Changi Airport Terminal 3, as well as Bugis+.
The ramens are generally thick in their broth and definitely worth a smile after a meal, but taste can be slightly salty for those who can't take saltiness. All their chashu(s) is unquestionably tender to mouth and has absorbed the essence of the broth!
For more giveaway details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/08/ramen-champion-shodai-koji-riki-menya.html

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Arossa Wine & Grill Smile Aug 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

Indoor seating only, formed in an L-shaped formation, is limited. Thus, reservation is recommended if you are looking to host a casual and romantic dining experience with your partner.
With more than 120 labels, consisting of old & new-world wine, Arossa can also be another place to enjoy a glass of liquor by the street of Orchard.
A basket of complimentary bread, giving off a slight aroma when chewed in mouth, I can't help feeding my mouth with the bread before the 1st course arrived.
Calamari ($22.00) came as our first course. Fried squid isn't oily, and is springy. While the fried squid is good enough to be eaten on its own, a dab of the spicy aioli sauce would add-on an additional taste to it.
Primo Piatto, Chitarra ($29.00). Arossa's homemade square-cut pasta with sea urchin paste, chives, and peperoncino, is definitely worth the amount.
Secondo, Tonno ($36.00). Grilled Blue Fin Tuna with salsa fresh tomatoes, although failed in my expectation as a beef dish, it's texture and taste does surpass my disappointment. Perhaps a dish for diners whom ain't beef-eaters, but still can act like one smile
A great place with prompt service and overlooking the street of Orchard from level 2. Most restaurants would have placed a whole row of cutlery on the table, and count on you to know which to use for the type of food served. Arossa did the opposite way, but neatly placing only the right cutlery on your table, and switch to another when another different type of food is served.

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/08/arossa-grill-wine-bar.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

One Man Coffee Smile Jul 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Brunch

One Man Coffee is well-situated along Upper Thomson Street where vast food stalls and restaurants are held at. It will be nearer if you come from Lornie Road direction, and after passing by the petrol station on the left, One Man Coffee will be just a short walking distance away from you. To avoid any confusion, One Man Coffee is located within Crust Gourmet Pizza Bar.

Butter Croissant with Homemade Berry Jam and Butter ($4.50). Croissant is soft and fluffy, and most importantly, without the jam and additional portion of butter, the already buttered croissant is sufficient enough to eat it plain.

Gashouse Egg with Bacon Jam , also well known as "Egg-In-The-Bread-With-The-Hole-In-The-Middle" ($10.00). Be careful of your flowing yolk once you cut it through. Bacon Jam is another interesting item on the dish. Both bacon and jam blended well, and I would have liked to purchase some for home-use.

Brioche French Toast ($10.00) with Homemade Berry Compote, Candied Walnuts and Fresh Cream. Berry Compote can be a little sour, but toast is being soaked by the cream which make it soft and not dry to stomach in. Comes with a mild cinnamon taste, and also well-faved most people!

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/one-man-coffee.html
Gashouse Egg with Bacon Jam

Gashouse Egg with Bacon Jam

 
Brioche French Toast

Brioche French Toast

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/the-tastemaker-store.html
Menu has a reserved variety, perhaps more to local taste, and also appropriate with their simplistic and cozy ambiance. Nothing too complicated and to be fussy about!
I love Glutinous Rice ($3.80) which is sticky and a little dry, and coincidentally, The Tastemaker Store's glutinous rice suits my taste!
Fruit Jam with Clotted Cream Toast Set ($5.80). Toast is a little hard and crispy, but overall makes up a satisfactory meal.
Ham and Cheese Sandwich Set ($7.80). Looks like another hamburger set, unlike the usual kind of two pieces of bread sandwiched with ham and such, then further sliced into triangular shape.
Other than the exclusion of soft boiled eggs, it has a softer bread than Toast Set, and a portion of salty crisps/chips.
Food may be normal, but I feel that the price is at least reasonably priced, and ambiance is kind of cosy for a lazy afternoon. It is definitely worth another visit for me.
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/07/the-tastemaker-store.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 19, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0