OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity740 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

Yong Kee Seafood Restaurant may not be easy to locate as it is at the edge of a conjuring junction between Dickson Road and Jalan Besar. For a more prominent building as a reference, it is opposite Sim Lim Tower.
One of their signatures, 沙律虾 - Prawns served with salad cream ($20.00 for small portion). Yong Kee Seafood Restaurant managed this dish by using honeydew shell as the serving bowl, and the fried prawns placed together with fruits, such as grapes and of course honeydew. I love their fried prawns as it is not too over-fried, and is chewy. Definitely a signature dish!

Another of their signature dishes, 三鲜豆腐 - Seafood Beancurd ($14.00). Instead of the round tofu used usually in the hotplate beancurd, Yong Kee Seafood Restaurant uses something like silken tofu, lightly fried the outer, and leaving the inside still soft yet firm. Thick gravy is nice to go with rice as well.
奶白菜 - Stir Fry Baby Cabbage ($10.00 for small portion). I have always loved this type of vegetable! Topped with mini shrimp which is quite a special idea, the crunchy stem and tender leafy made me go "wow" again!
排骨王 - Braised Prime Ribs ($10.00 for small). Sweet sauce and boneless ribs. Did they mention prime ribs? Meat is indeed tender and juicy!

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/yong-kee-seafood-restaurant.html

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chao Tar
 
Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Volcano Ramen Smile Jun 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Hot Stone Japanese Rice with Pork and Kimchi ($10.00). If you have tried before the Korean bibimbap, this should not seem funny to you. Mix it up, and you can on the mushy rice, and flavorful sauce.
Kazan Shoyu ($18.00 for regular, $15.00 for small). I had wanted to follow the steps and do it myself. But crew was faster than me, and I only got the chance to sit back and watched.

Crew first poured the broth into the stone bowl, and covered it with a funnel-like. The resemblance of volcano comes when the you see strong amount of smoke "erupting" from the funnel! Although the set comes with a separate bowl of rice, we left it untouched and focus more on thick and flavorful ramen, and the sweet, delightful broth! Yummy!

Ordered a plate of Yaki Gyoza ($5.00 for 6 pieces). My preferred type of gyoza is when the outer is fried till crisp, yet inside is soft but not mushy. Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen does it wonderfully! I love their gyoza!

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/tonkotsu-kazan-ramen.html

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Gem in Joo Chiat! Smile Jun 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Sng Muay Pop is just another awesome drink I believe can be easily made at home though. It seems something like a slice of sour plum being placed in ice ball and mixed with calamansi and even soda drink to be served. Sinpopo's menu says to suck on the ice balls to relieve the childhood experience of sucking on the traditional ice popsicle.
Scissors Cut Rice, a popular street food of soft chicken wings, crispy pork cutlet, egg and cabbage, served with curry gravy. Thick gravy, crispy and soft, are exactly as they described in their menu. One thing that's not met is the egg.
Zi Pao Kai with Bee Hoon ($8.90). The chicken is really tender and juicy, to an extent where I think 3 pieces is soooo not enough!
Ngoh Hiang ($7.90). You do not get to choose in Sinpopo. It is fixed, and comes with fish cake, five spices meat roll, prawn fritters and chinese sausage. I do enjoyed all of it, except for the fish cake, which seems tasteless.
Pulot Hitam with Coconut Ice Cream ($4.90). This is one classic black glutinous rice dessert back in the coffeeshops when I was still a kid.
D24 Durian Cendol ($4.90). You can expect basic ingredients such as coconut milk, jelly noodles, red beans, grass jelly, corn and such, topped with shaved ice, palm sugar and mashed durian meat.
Ais Bor ($3.90). Very similar to ice kacang/cendol, but this time shaped in a ball. A ball of ice, with the ingredients like corns, attap chee, jelly noodles, red bean, etc within.

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/06/sinpopo-brand.html
Pulot Hitam with Coconut Ice Cream

Pulot Hitam with Coconut Ice Cream

 

 
Ais Bor

Ais Bor

 
Scissors Cut Rice

Scissors Cut Rice

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Industrial-like Cafe Smile Jun 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Woodshed Cafe is located at around the secluded corner of Rangoon Road, at least it is to me. If you have heard of the bak kut teh in Rangoon road, Wood Shed Cafe will be easy to locate!

All Day Breakfast: Full-House ($15.90), having the scrambled eggs, cheese sausage, bacon, mushroom, potato, salad, and 2 pieces of lightly toasted bread. I love their cheese! They seem to be too modest in their bacon, but I liked how it is not too over-cooked till crisp.
All Day Breakfast: 2 of a Kind ($13.90). This duo is like the poached eggs type, with the yolk sweeping out as you sliced open the bread cup. Splendid!

Waffles: WoodShed Special Waffles ($13.90). If only the waffle can be a bit more crispier, it would have been a perfect ending for this meal!

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/06/woodshed.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Korean buffet in Marina Square! Smile May 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Korean BBQ

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/the-corner-place-korean-bbq.html

The Corner Place Korean BBQ is not really located at the most corner, but I don't really think anyone will care right?
Decided to try their buffet which is only available for dinner during the weekdays, and whole day for weekends. Of course, ala carte menu is available too throughout the week.
Most of the raw food (meat) looks appetizing to taken for bbq-ing, and the ready-cooked dishes doesn't seems bad either.
There is this huge plate of ready-cooked glass noodle, similar to the Chinese version of rice vermicelli. Wasn't really expecting any good taste out of it, thus it took me by surprise when after I tasted.
Ssamjang is a winning sauce in their restaurant, ideally for meat lovers! Indeed, the sweet taste of the sauce does enhance the flavors of the meat.
Kimchi Fried Rice, one of their other ready-cooked food, is kept in the rice cooker. Wouldn't mind scooping another bowl for it!
Another ready cooked food you should not miss is the fried chicken wing. I actually expected it to be dry and soggy type, but it went the exact opposite of my thoughts. Yummy!
I set my expectation pretty low, and I got surprised by the quality of the food and service provided. For the price of $31.98 (lunch), else $37.98 (dinner), I think it is still quite reasonable.
I believe most places might not even care, but The Corner Plae Korean BBQ's crew took the initiative to change the aluminium foil every now and then, when 70-80% of the foil is charred.
For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/the-corner-place-korean-bbq.html

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 24, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0