OpenRice Index
  
Food Esteem
This is Food Esteem living in North. I am a Food Blogger, work in Central.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review171 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity740 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos525 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant112 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲86 Follower(s)
Food Esteem  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 56 to 60 of 171 Reviews in Singapore
Al fresco brunch! Smile May 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pasta

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/05/alkaff-mansion.html
Alkaff Mansion have 3 sections in total, The Restaurant, The Terrace, and The Bar. Of course, for more al fresco dining experience, The Terrace would be the only choice!
Breakfast on the Terrace: Sausage with eggs, mixed salad, zucchini & eggplant fries ($15.00). I love the sausages, and the two "cubic" toasts, but scrambled eggs simply made my anticipation dived! Alkaff Mansion's scrambled eggs, is as real as its name. So scrambled, that you don't need to slice it at all.
Breakfast on the Terrace: Smoked Salmon with eggs, zucchini souffle and mixed salad ($15.00).
What interests me is the zucchini souffle! It tasted like mixture of zucchini and potato, being mashed and sent for baking. Would also like to compliment about their Sunny sides, which is pretty well done too!
Breakfast on the Terrace: Waffle with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, wild berries sauce, and whipped cream ($10.00). Alkaff Mansion's waffle look fantastic in presentation, but just a mere touch of the knife on the waffle, I felt a tinge of disappointment set in. Lacking of crispiness, I can only depend on the vanilla cream dripped with the sweet berries sauce to make up for it.
For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/05/alkaff-mansion.html

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 24, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Simple menu, awesome food! Smile May 21, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Chinese Soup | Zi Char

Simple interior design, or perhaps little effort spared on it. Such actually does create a more relaxed and easy dining atmosphere smile
Menu is as simple as it seem, with only 13 dishes.
Anyway, almost all the dishes are tongue-licking good, and the dishes came to our table with our nostrils "asking" for more!
First that came to our table is the Black Chicken Soup ($25.00). I like how flavorful the soup is in my mouth, and the aroma when it came to our table.
Next is the Steam Pork with Salted Fish ($14.00). This dish is best to with rice, due to the salty taste.
Came next is Steam Fish Head ($25.00). Perhaps just my luck sad Fish does not seem fresh, thus seems to be losing out a little on the smooth and moist texture.
Tofu Prawns ($19.00). Sik Bao Sin allows you to enjoy the soft tofu with a little of gravy flavor absorbed in.
Lastly, the Kailan Beef ($25.00). Kailan is not overcooked, as the stem is crunchy, and the leaves are so tender!
For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/sik-bao-sin.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 23, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/restore-living.html
They only have 3 desserts on rack, which are Dark Chocolate Tart ($6.80), Creme Caramel ($6.80), and Lemon Bundt Cake ($5.80) topped with snow glaze and served with freshly whipped cream and strawberry. They have mains too, but we gave that a miss since we are here for desserts only!
Lemon Bundt Cake! Looks so-so, but taste of lemon is strong, yet no worries about being sour or whatsoever.
Caramel Banana ($9.80) served with sliced bananas, homemade salted caramel, topped with icing sugar and freshly whipped cream. Waffle is crispy from the outer, and soft to the inner. Not forgetting the salted caramel, it will definitely make your eyes go "woah" with surprise!
Another waffle! Berry Good ($9.80) served with sliced strawberries and blueberries, topped with icing sugar and freshly whipped cream. This on the other hand, is inferior.
A place to sit back reading some magazines, while enjoying some drinks and pastries.
Noise level can be a little high due to its tight spaces, but if you come at the correct time, the cozyness will set you resting your butt there and typing away on your keyboard!
For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/05/restore-living.html

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 03, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cosy Halal Cafe Smile May 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western Variety | Café | Halal

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/05/fika-swedish-cafe-bistro.html
Located in the area of the popular "Haji Lane", FIKA Swedish Cafe & Bistro, a Halal Café, is seen at the junction of Arab Street and Beach Road.
First floor seems crowded to host a big group, thus we went to the upper level. So much cozier and and spacious!
Mains: Grilled Chicken Crepe ($17.50) with cheese, sesame mayo and tomatoes topped with alfalfa.
Mains: Tunnbrodsrulle ($18.90). Classic Swedish thin bread roll with mashed potatoes, grilled sausage, fried shallots, homemade bostongurka and tomato/chili sauce.
Similar to a wrap, and I love how firm and yet squishy the sausage is when I bite through it!
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/05/fika-swedish-cafe-bistro.html

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 18, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/04/hoopla-coffee-kitchen.html

Drinks: Iced Espresso with Milk + Chocolate ($6.50), and Freshly squeezed Orange juice ($6.00). Espresso is not bad, but somehow I never get to taste the presence of chocolate in it.
Mains: Sali's Baked Eggs ($15.00), consisting of Hoopla Pomodoro, smoked salmon, 2 eggs, emmental cheese, and toasts. Salmon is good, and sauce is pretty much like tomato sauce. If you're a spaghetti lover, you might like this dish.
Mains: Full English ($18.00), consisting of mushroom, sautéed potatoes, grilled tomatoes, chicken sausage, toast, vinegrette greens, and a choice of poached/scrambled/sunny egg. I love every item in this dish. The potatoes have a little raw taste in it, which seems to be freshly peeled and prepared, instead of refrigerated. Sausage is soft, and a little springy. Furthermore, my scrambled eggs are done pretty well.
Side Bites: Breaded Chicken Poppers ($9.00). I love the light amount of salt! But no matter how poppers we "pop" into our mouth, it seems to be more like eating squid than chicken tongue
Just right beside Hoopla, it's another cafe named the "Revolution Coffee". Haven't went to take a look at its menu, but am impressed by the color-striped short chair (or whatever you called it). It totally just reminds me of how my family used to own one of this back then...
Anyway, I will definitely head back to Hoopla for food, and perhaps bringing some more friends over smile
For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.com/2014/04/hoopla-coffee-kitchen.html

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 05, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0