OpenRice Index
  
Diner
This is Diner .
Member 76 First(s)
No. of Review230 Review(s)
編輯推介數目4 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity2800 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos428 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews21 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant18 My Restaurant(s)
Follow79 Following
粉絲118 Follower(s)
Diner  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 230 Reviews in Singapore
Teishoku for a song Smile Jan 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

 

 

 

 
YAYOI can always be relied upon to serve up hearty, wholesome Japanese set meals or teishoku. In Singapore where a pseudo Japanese meal from self serviced food  courts can cost $7 or $8 without drinks, it is a joy to have food and free warm or iced water served to us at the table, with teishoku priced from $9.90++ for main courses like mackerel/saba, sauteed pork or beef. With free flow of hot green tea at only $1++, there are plenty of choices on the menu to choose from, making it possible for diners on a budget to pay no more than $20.00 nett per head for a satisfying and tasty meal. Those who crave carbs can help themselves to additional portions of piping hot rice at no extra charge. The restaurant does brisk business at dinner time even with the plethora of dining options at The Star Vista which is a good walk from the residential areas in the Buona Vista/Dover/Ghim Moh area. The interactive tablet screen at every table makes ordering a breeze, and our drinks were brought to us almost as soon as we had submitted our orders. If you need a tea refill, just tap on the [call staff] button at the base of the tablet. A large jar of pickled cabbage sits next to the condiments and cutlery tray at every table.

The chicken teishoku at $13.90++ was great value with a huge, juicy chicken patty seared to a delectable golden brown. It was served with a bowl of house salad, a cube of chilled tofu, a bowl of miso soup with wakame and diners can help themselves to the pickled cabbage. However, the mixed toji teishoku, also priced at $13.90++, did not come with any salad. The mixed toji is good for meat lovers as it contains half a slab or breaded pork cutlet (rather fatty according to my dining companion), a piece of ebi fry and a decent portion of sautéed sliced beef or pork served on a sizzling plate and bathed in a savoury scrambled egg and onion gravy that is great with rice. Yayoi serves Meiji ice cream at $3.50++, in flavours such as goma (black sesame) and matcha (green tea) but we were satiated enough to pass the dessert. 

Yayoi is a good place to refuel after a workout. Easy on the pocket too so it's also recommended for those who prefer eating out to cooking at home.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New Set Lunch Menu OK Nov 14, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Seafood | Halal | Kids-Friendly

 

 

 
MFM has a new set lunch menu (see photo) priced from $13.95++. The disadvantage of the new menu is that the main course is fixed every day and the price of your meal depends on the what is served on the day of your visit. However diners continue to have a choice of buttered rice or French fries for their carbs. What is nice about the menu is the choice of beverages, starters and desserts (see photo). Previously diners who opted for the set lunch which was then priced at $9.95++ could only choose between soup of the day or a small cup of green salad. Along with the higher set meal prices now, you can opt for any two side items to complete your meal. However the portion is fine for people with small appetites but certainly will not satiate a sportsperson after a full workout. I opted for fries instead of rice to go with the day's entree of cherry snapper. Three small and thin fillets, each no more than 8cm long, less than 4cm wide and thinly sliced like fishcake less than 1cm thick. Thus I was not at all surprised that the fish was a little overlooked coz it was sliced too thinly. The fillets tasted rather bland but the chilli dip solved the problem. Next time, it would be better to opt for rice as the chips seemed to have been fried ahead and kept on the warmer. Then again, I may find the fries subpar coz I am benchmarking them to McDonald's standard. Water is charged at $0.50++ per glass. Ok for a light lunch, but MFM in Singapore is no longer the great value casual dining restaurant it used to be.

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Subway Spicy Italian Smile Nov 12, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Burgers and Sandwiches

Subway's $5 combo meals comprising a made to order 6" sub and a 16oz soft drink are fuss-free and fair value lunch option. Buyers get to pick one of five types of bread but only five of their 15 types of subs are offered for the value meal combo. These are Veggie Delite, Egg Mayo, Ham, Cold Cuts and Spicy Italian. The last two are the most popular value meals.

I opted for the Spicy Italian which was tasty but not spicy at all. My 6" sub was filled with a slice of cheese, two thin slices each of salami and pepperoni smile  and fresh salad. I like buying my subs from this outlet as they toast the bread thoroughly and are generous smile with the salad (See photo). There is always a queue at lunchtime but it moves quickly. Tables are fully occupied at lunch so it was a takeaway meal for me.
Lots of veggies in my 6'' sub :-)

Lots of veggies in my 6'' sub :-)

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Subway Spicy Italian
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 09, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sushi and more. OK Oct 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Halal

We wanted to try the udon but the tables were fully occupied when we arrived shortly after 1pm. Having tried Umi's don and sushi on previous occasions we decided to pick one of their many colourful salad bowls for a light meal instead.

Lunch companion and I bought the salmon salad $4.00 and lobster (surimi) salad $4.80 for a takeaway. The salmon salad had wakame and pickled ginger to tickle the palate. The surimi lobster salad had a hint of wasabe but on the whole was rather bland. What was disappointing was  the plain soya sauce provided instead of salad dressing. The soya sauce did not enhance the taste of the bland iceberg lettuce leaves which made up 70% of the bowl's content.

Umi Sushi's salads are best eaten as side dish or snack. Less than two hours after lunch break, we were freeling peckish and groping for snacks from our office drawers.

 
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 07, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Vegetarian Rice Ball OK Oct 05, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

QQ rice wrap is a good grab-and-go meal option. It is fuss-free and filling so if one wishes to lunch at the office desk, it is nice to have a freshly prepared oblong rice parcel customised to individual tastes and preferences. QQ rice parcels are priced from $4.50 each with a choice of rice type and any five toppings from a wide variety of vegetables and meat. Beverages are priced from $1 with any rice purchase. This makes QQ a pricier meal than a regular burger meal which costs from $4 to $5 at BK and McDonalds respectively. But healthier food usually costs more. There are three HPB-recommended 'healthier choice' vegetarian rice balls that cost $4.80 each but customers can't choose their rice and fillings. I picked this as there was an on-going 10% off promotion on these three items at $4.30 nett for each. Here is a cross section photo of the vegetarian rice parcel I bought. The fixed fillings in my rice parcel were broccoli florets, straggly stems of green veg (without any leavessad), stewed peanuts that tasted like canned foodsad, vegetarian meat floss and a miserly pinch of mock meat (瓜仔肉). The staff who assembled my rice ball was probably a newcomer as she dared not put more than a teaspoonful of each topping sadon the rice; it was also not compact with the rice grains and fillings dropping out when I bit into itsad,  something that does not happen often. The rice ball was warm and moist but it was bland and tastelesssad. Next time I shall stick to the regular DIY rice balls so that I can pick my favourite grains and fillings.
Vegetarian Rice Ball

Vegetarian Rice Ball

 
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0