OpenRice Index
  
vchiobu
This is vchiobu . I like to hang out in Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre and Ramen, Hawker Food.
Member 114 First(s)
No. of Review263 Review(s)
編輯推介數目4 Editor's Choice
Recommended11 Recommended
Popularity1927 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos757 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant34 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲187 Follower(s)
vchiobu  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 263 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Steaks and Grills | BBQ

I was glad to see that there's a 15% discount coupon offered on openrice for Scrummy. My hubby and his friends frequent this place and highly recommend it. And just nice, I had an opportunity to come down here for lunch with my hubby smile

We were greeted warmly when we entered the air-conditioned restaurant, which is found in a tranquil part of some HDB blks in Macpherson. The restaurant is rather cosy and there are cute drawings by customers (quite a number drawn by kids I think) plastered on the walls.

 

 
Mushroom soup - $3.90

The mushroom soup was pretty good, you can taste the fresh and abundant mushrooms used to make the soup. It was not too creamy, thick or salty - the flavour was just nice. smile The accompanying pieces of freshly toasted bread were also good.

 
Rosey Beef - $9.90

Three juicy BBQ beef (mix of tenderloin & short rib) skewers were served with 2 sides - I chose the fresh salad and pasta.
The beef skewers were lightly salted and marinated with herbs. They were grilled till tender and juicy, and you can savour the taste of beef without it being overwhelmed by heavy seasoning. I loved the piping hot pasta which had generous lashings of herbs, chopped garlic and diced tomatoes. The salad was also very fresh and had a tangy lemon-based dressing which was very appetising.

 
Grilled chicken - $7.50

The chicken chop was tender and covered with a brown sauce which seemed to have a subtle corn taste to it - quite unique and tasty. The mashed potatoes and fresh boiled vegetables were good too.

Prices shown here are nett, there's no service or gst charge. For the quality and freshness of the food offered here, I think the prices are very reasonable and offer value-for-money. I'll definitely wish to visit this place again!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Rosey Beef, Grilled Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Nov 30, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tasty pizza Smile Nov 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Pizza

Came here at my friend's suggestion, as he stays around here and frequently buys the pizzas here which he says are good.

 
Rocket salad

The rocket salad was not bad, with shavings of cheese and sundried tomatoes.

 
Garlic bread

The garlic bread here is really special, as it's more like a garlic pizza instead. The crust is thin and crispy, but I think there's not enough garlic. Also, I'll prefer if they used minced garlic. For this version, only some slices of garlic were present, more towards the centre of the bread/pizza crust only.

 
Verdure pizza

The verdure pizza had tomato, mozzarella, zucchini, eggplant, capsicum. The vegetables added a nice refreshing contrast to the overall taste. The pizza crust was thin and the tomato base quite tasty.

 
Diavola pizza

If you are more of a meat-lover, the diavola pizza will be suitable. It has tomato, mozzarella and spicy salami which were given in generous slices and were tasty too.

The pizzas here are the Italian kinds with nice, thin pizza crusts. A nice place for gatherings and sharing of good pizzas.

 
Date of Visit: Nov 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Weekend high tea Smile Nov 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | High Tea | Dim Sum | Buffet

I came here with 2 of my girlfriends for the second seating at 3 pm. For $45++, you get quite a good selection of items buffet-style and choices of 2 drinks (tea blends or coffees).

Generally, the taste of the items here have their hits and misses. As the items are all labelled, you can choose those more suitable to your likings. The items are presented really prettily though. One item that stood out was the braised kurobuta pork which was very tender and tasty. The hazelnut creme brulee was also good as it had just the right amount of sweetness. There was also quite a selection of different cakes which were all quite nice. A word of warning for the soursop lime pudding though - it's extremely sour.

 

 

 

 

 

 
I tried the sweet france tea which was soothing and had a tinge of floral scent in the green tea. The alexandria tea had too strong of a mint taste to it, even though in the description the green tea was supposed to be subtly scented with mint.

All in all, the food here is generally not bad. At least there were quite a lot of choices available. The ambience was pretty good too, a nice place for a relaxing high tea session.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $53(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice fried kway teow Smile Nov 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

 
This stall has been here for many years, I've had it since I was young. Over the years, it has evolved to include more vegetables, which is a good move. I was happy that the stall owner obliged when I requested for more vegetables and did not charge me extra.

The fried kway teow here is cooked with pork lard - which contributes to its fragrance. It's also not too dry and oily. The amount of ingredients is generous too.

A satisfying plate of fried kway teow which I'll always order when I'm at this food centre. smile

 
Date of Visit: Oct 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood

My family and I were getting a bit tired of queuing up at dim sum places which do not accept reservations, so we thought of coming to Li Bai to try out its dim sum.

 
The tapioca chips given as appetizers were excellent. They were fresh, crispy and not oily at all. Very addictive for snacking on while you wait for your dishes to arrive.

 
Stir fried radish cake with X.O. chilli sauce, $7.20

The stir fried radish cake with X.O. chilli sauce was delicious - we ended up ordering a second plate. smile

 
Steamed shrimp dumplings with bamboo shoots, $8

The shrimp dumplings (har gao) was not bad, the prawns within were huge and fresh. The skin could be a bit thinner and less sticky though. Also, I did not taste any bamboo shoots within. Perhaps it's just regular shrimp dumplings.

 
Steamed pork ribs with black bean sauce, $4.80

The pork ribs were not tender enough and also did not same to have been marinated well enough too.

 
Steamed chicken feet in special sauce, $4.80

The chicken feet were big and simmered till really soft in a tasty sauce.

 
Steamed rice rolls with char siew, $8

The rice rolls were generally still ok but I think they are not thin enough and more char siew could have been given.

 
Steamed chicken siew mai with fish roe, $7.20

I like the siew mai here, as it's topped with a juicy scallop and black caviar, giving it a different twist. The meat within was also tasty.

 
Deep fried crispy prawn with mango, $6.90

The coating for the crispy prawn with mango was crispy enough and the prawn within succulent. A little bit more mango would be great.

We also ordered quite a few other items (not pictured here) and they were all either ok or above average.

The ambience and service at Li Bai is good. There was a staff who seemed to be a newcomer who did not know what a dim sum menu is...she actually gave us different menus and only got it correct on the third try. She also served us peking duck even though we did not order that - she's kinda blur. Other than that, the other service staff were all good though.

If you do not mind forking out slightly more here for the dim sum, this is a good place for a relaxing family meal.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0