OpenRice Index
  
vchiobu
This is vchiobu . I like to hang out in Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre and Ramen, Hawker Food.
Member 114 First(s)
No. of Review263 Review(s)
編輯推介數目4 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity2090 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos757 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant34 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲188 Follower(s)
vchiobu  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 263 Reviews in Singapore
Tasty zi char here Smile Nov 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Zi Char

I've heard that the two chefs outlet at commonwealth is good and that it's always packed. Thus, I was glad to be able to try the two chefs at sin ming here, where it's less crowded.

 
- Butter pork ribs, $8

Butter pork ribs is their signature dish, so of course we ordered this to try. The milk-like powder coating the pork ribs was quite tasty and finely spread over the ribs. The dish was not oily even though the ribs were fried. The ribs were quite lean though and could be just a bit more tender.

The fried shredded yam was really interesting. It was reminiscent of the fried nian gao (or chinese new year cake), because there's a underlying sweetness on top of the crispy, savoury coating. A highly addictive and recommended dish.

 
- Fried shredded yam, $8

The spinach with 3 eggs was quite nice too, with plenty of ingredients given. The stock base could be a bit more tastier, then it'll be really good.

 
- Spinach with 3 eggs, $8

The san lau hor fun was delicious too, with plenty of tiny dried shrimp added for ooomph. There was also enough "wok hei" or wok fragrance in the dish. The chef was a tad heavy on the XO sauce though, so it was just a bit salty. Otherwise, a really good dish to try as well.

 
- XO san lau hor fun, $12

 
Date of Visit: Oct 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $9(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Noodles

 
- The stallfront

 
- Wanton noodles, $3

As recommended by my friend, I gave the wanton noodles here a try. For $3, the amount of char siew given was plentiful and tasty . If you like your char siew lean, this will definitely suit you. The noodles were cooked till springy and the flavouring was pretty good too. The wanton was also not too small. A good, traditional bowl of wanton noodles lol

 
Date of Visit: Oct 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Normal Hainanese curry rice OK Nov 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Coffeeshop | Rice

 
- The stallfront

 
- Hainanese Curry rice $3.40

It is interesting that there are 3 curry rice stalls in this food centre alone. And this stall is the newest opened one. Well, I've yet to try the other 2 stalls but I'm starting with this stall first. The curry sauce was not bad, it's not too spicy and can be easily slurped up with your rice. The curry chicken and long beans were alright. The tofu with minced meat was quite tasty - recommended. The curry rice here is generally ok, but it did not leave much of an impression.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tasty handmade popiah Smile Nov 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Coffeeshop

 
- The stallfront

 
- $1.40 per popiah

This stall seemed quite popular with the lunch crowd here, so I ordered one popiah to try. The skin was soft, thin and the fillings were tasty too. The proportion of the shredded tapioca, peanuts and lettuce was well-balanced. Definitely a worthy add to your meal since it's healthy and delicious smile The aunty is quite friendly and fast in wrapping the popiah, so you usually will not have to wait too long.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Cantonese porridge Smile Nov 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Porridge/Congee

 
- Century egg and pork porridge, $3

My born-in-Hong Kong friend specially brought me here to try the porridge. According to her, the porridge here is the closest to the ones she has tasted in Hong Kong. She can tell whether the porridge here was cooked according to the traditional method or the "short-cut" method, where people grind or break the rice first, so that the porridge can be cooked softer in a shorter time. She prefers the traditional way (although it takes much longer), as you can still taste each full grain of rice within the porridge.

Haha, she told me to specifically tell the uncle (the chef) the order instead of his wife who will only deliver your order to you and collect the money. Apparently they got into some argument before when orders were mixed up, so now the onus is on the uncle to take orders so he cannot blame his wife if anything goes wrong... tongue

The porridge was indeed tasty. I found it to be a tad watery, but the amount of ingredients given was plentiful and the pork liver was cooked till just right.

While we were tucking into our meal, a stranger next to us, who was also eating the porridge, commented that the stall owner personally goes to the Chinatown market every morning at 4 am to get his daily fresh produce.

 
Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0