OpenRice Index
  
vchiobu
This is vchiobu . I like to hang out in Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre and Ramen, Hawker Food.
Member 114 First(s)
No. of Review263 Review(s)
編輯推介數目4 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity2090 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos757 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant34 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲188 Follower(s)
vchiobu  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 263 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Coffeeshop | Zi Char

My friends recommended this place. They said that this stall is famous for it's claypot fish and seafood. We ordered small items for the dishes, but they came in big servings, which was plenty for the 5 of us to share.

 
- Sweet and sour pork, $10

The sweet and sour pork was ok but not very remarkable. I felt that the pork could be more tender. However, the serving was generous and plenty of vegetables were given too.

 
- Fried calamari, $12

Now, the fried calamari was excellent! The crispy, tasty batter coated the squid just thinly and the squid inside was cooked till just nice - tender and springy. It's so nice, you will not be able to resist constantly popping it into your mouth!

 
- Claypot fish, $26

We requested for the "rear" part of the fish for our claypot fish. A generous slab of the fried fish was given. The meat was fresh and there were plenty of vegetables inside the claypot, cooked in a delicious sauce.

Well, we left feeling really full and satisfied. I think it's pretty affordable, considering the quality and amount of food we were given. I'll definitely re-visit this stall!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fried calamari
 
Date of Visit: Oct 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Lor Mee at Commonwealth Smile Nov 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

 
$3 Lor Mee

If you are here during peak lunch hour, you will have to wait for quite a while as there's usually quite a long queue at this stall. Today, I'm quite lucky as I reached at about 1 pm and the queue was rather short. For $3, the ingredients given were plentiful. I appreciate that an actual fried wanton was given instead of a pitiful fried wanton skin that stall owners tend to give nowadays. Half a well-braised egg, slices of chicken cutlet, fish cake slices, ngoh hiang pieces and tender braised pork belly slices are among the other ingredients. The sauce was tasty too. I've tasted one other stall that's better than this, else I would have given it a 5/5 for taste tongue
 
Date of Visit: Sep 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good mains at a reasonable price Smile Nov 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

Our group of 12 decided on this place for a gathering on a Saturday afternoon. I wanted to try many items and yet have room for dessert, so I ended up pinching food from my friends' mains instead of ordering one for myself hehehe...

 
Iced Lemon Tea - $3.80

The iced lemon tea was good as you can really taste the good quality tea used in the drink and the sweetness was just right - recommended!

 
Spaghetti Carbonara - $14.80

The spaghetti carbonara's sauce was really creamy and tasty with lots of bacon bits within. Quite nice.

 
Fish N Chips - $14.80

The fish n chips was rather good too. The batter was thin and crispy and the meat within was fresh.

 
Double Pork Chop - $15.80

I feel the double pork chop was quite worth the price, as two huge slabs were given. The meat was rather tender too.

 
Pesto Cream Chicken - $17.80

The pesto cream chicken was quite the favourite among my friends as quite a number of them ordered it. The chicken was tender and the pesto cream sauce was delicious.

On to the desserts.....

 
Mao Shan Wang Lava Cake - $14.80

The mao shan wang lava cake was special because of the durian "lava" oozing out. However, I felt that there was not enough of the durian filling within. $14.80 was also quite pricey for a rather small piece of cake, even though it came with a scoop of ice cream of your choice.

 
Chocolate Lava Cake - $12.80

The chocolate lava cake fared a bit better, for there was more chocolate sauce oozing out. However, I felt that perhaps better quality chocolate could have been used.

 
Waffle with 2 scoops of ice cream - $14.50

The waffle was crispy and went well with the ice cream.
We got to try quite a few flavours of ice cream due to the several desserts we ordered. They were generally ok, not exactly fantastically good though. A chocolate-based ice cream is a better bet. I liked the premium yuzu ice cream but my hubby found it to be a bit weird-tasting due to the particular fragrance from the yuzu and also that it was a bit too sweet.

 
Date of Visit: Aug 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ordinary fried carrot cake OK Nov 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

 
Fried carrot cake

This stall seemed quite popular, so I ordered a plate of fried carrot cake to try. $3 was the minimum price, which I felt was a tad pricey for a hawker centre food stall. My fried carrot cake had lots of egg, resulting in it tasting more like an omelette than fried carrot cake. You could not taste much radish/carrot sweetness in the carrot cake used. Taste-wise, I felt more chye poh (salted turnip) could be used to up the taste and fragrance. Generally an average dish only.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Healthy, fresh Yong Tau Foo OK Nov 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

 
- Stallfront. Please note that stall is now at #01-06.

 
- Yong Tau Foo (soup)

I felt like having a healthy breakfast today and thus choose to try this yong tau foo stall. It's quite popular with the elderly residents around this area. The yong tau foo pieces are the more traditional kind, but all very fresh and relatively big pieces too. Regular items cost 40 cents per piece and noodles 50 cents. The soup base is light-tasting - some might find it a bit on the bland side. However, if you are looking for something clean-tasting and healthy, this might be suitable.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0