OpenRice Index
  
iisjong
This is iisjong living in Serangoon. I am a Student I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 3 First(s)
No. of Review20 Review(s)
編輯推介數目6 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity306 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos121 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲37 Follower(s)
iisjong  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 20 Reviews in Singapore
Best Fish 'n Chips in Singapore Smile Jul 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Pasta | Seafood

 
Ever heard of ICON Village?

Located in the Tanjong Pagar district, ICON Village offers an urban oasis with a touch of ''village'' ambiance for the corporate and residential population in the precinct. It's pretty much empty on the weekends, but most of the crowd you see here are working adults on weekdays. I was actually surprised to find many different choices of food hidden here!

 
Tucked on the outside of the mall, is this cozy shop with an interesting decor that piqued my interest. It is located in the middle of 7-Eleven and Tom N Toms Coffee.

 
Opened for 3 years already, The Muffet's Room Cafe is definitely what you would call a hidden treasure. The shop can only hold around 20 people at the most, but nothing too squeezy. Topped with the decorations and photographs (some taken by the young boss himself), I felt like I was at home!

Almost everything served at The Muffet's Room Cafe are made from scratch, by the way. That's pretty damn amazing!

 
Ice Lemon Tea

You could taste more of the tea, and it wasn't too sweet.

 
Salsa Beef Burrito

The burrito is unique from the rest found in Singapore. It wasn't too salad-y. There's more taste to it and it reminds me of good Mexican burritos. The beef was a little spicy yet tasteful. It you want more salad, it is served beside it, with lettuce and sliced apples.

 
The combination of meat and vegetables was perfect. This dish is good for people who want a healthier option and more taste of their burrito!

 
Signature Beer Battered Fish & Chips

Fish & Chips is one of my all-time favourite dish, so I'm pretty sure that I have eaten enough of them to vouch that this was THE BOMB! I went back another time after that just for it! First impression, I loved the smell. It took only 1 bite for me to fall in love with it! Topped my "Best Fish & Chips in Singapore" list at that second. Oiliness was just right; it does not drip so much oil unlike many of the other similar dishes that I've had before.

The taste of the fish was so fresh, you could somehow taste the ocean.

The sauces surprisingly complimented the fish and fries really well. You could choose from the chilli and tartar sauce, which was very different considering that other places only serve 1 sauce option for you. I loved the originality of the taste! I assure you that you can only find it here and no where else.

The truffle fries were amazinggggg! Because they're handmade, you could taste how good and different it was compared to factory-made ones. The subtle sprinkle of Parmesan cheese over the fries brought the taste factor to a whole new level. In fact, they were so good that I ordered another basket of it, hahaha!

To sum it all up - The Best!

 
Brownie Ice Cream

I love all things desserts, chocolates and ice cream! ;D Although I found it a little hard on the crust, the brownie was appetizing. Sweetness was acceptable, and the taste of the vanilla ice cream goes well with the brownie.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.iisjong.com/2013/03/review-muffets-room-cafe.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Signature Beer Battered Fish and Chips
 
Date of Visit: Mar 13, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bangkok Jam not so Bangkok OK Jul 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

 
Ate at Bangkok Jam some time ago, at their Great World City branch! I also went to their Plaza Singapura branch the other day, hahaha. Anyway, my favourite was the Banana Tempura dessert! *.*

 

 
Heard quite a bit of rave for these chicken wings. Not bad, but a tad too little meat I feel!

 

 
Banana Tempura

It wasn't very soggy as it looks. Mix the warm Banana with the cold ice cream, and you'll get the perfect combination!

For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.iisjong.com/2013/04/bangkok-jam.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Banana Tempura
 
Date of Visit: Apr 28, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Waited 3 hours! OK Jul 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles | Kids-Friendly

 
Finally caved in and visited the newly opened, cheapest Michelin Star restaurant, Tim Ho Wan, at Plaza Singapura with my parents on a Sunday.

My parents queued 3.5 hours to get in! Madness! O.O

 
BBQ Pork Bun was probably the only dish that made it worth it to eat at this place. I loved it piping hot and fresh out from the kitchen! The pork was rather juicy and the sauce was marvelous. It had this little bit of sweetness to it, a good balance between sweet and salty.

Other than that, I felt that it was kind of over-rated.

 

 

 

 

 

 


For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.iisjong.com/2013/04/tim-ho-wan.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  BBQ Pork Bun
 
Date of Visit: Apr 30, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mouth-watering Lava Cakes Smile Jul 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Desserts and Cakes

 
With so many flavours to choose from, who wouldn't be spoilt for choice!? Not only that, Smoulder has got different unique flavours for special seasons! Definitely getting me all excited.

You can also customize The Real Chocolate Cake.

 
The mouth-watering Smoulder Lava Cakes are made without any preservatives, and are carefully handmade using premium ingredients. Psst.... The chocolates they use are one of the best chocolates you can find! Don't say I never share, heh.

The cakes stay molten at room temperature. There are almost no air pockets in them, so you definitely can taste the full flavour at it's best! The best part of eating the cakes is when the inside oozes out into your mouth. Yummy!

 
Who says Lava Cakes can only be of 1 size and only eaten at restaurants? Smoulder is great if you're looking for something on-the-go, at an affordable price.

 
I loved the pistachio one the most!

 


For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.iisjong.com/2013/05/le-cnos2-picnic.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pistachio
 
Date of Visit: May 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kalamansi Meringue Tart Smile Jul 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Café | Desserts and Cakes

 
I was walking around Marina Bay Sands the other day, and decided to try Au Chocolat out since I wanted to munch on something. Best decision ever!

I see people having their dinner at the Au Chocolat restaurant area, but was too full for another round of meal despite how tempting it looked. Went to the Confiserie area since their desserts were luring me in...

 
Asked for the best-seller, and was recommended this! It's the Kalamansi Meringue Tart!

Although it was pretty expensive at $7 for a small little tart, the taste made it worth the price. It was a local riff of the lemon meringue pie. It tasted like ice cream tart for some reason, but trust me when I say it's really good though it was hard!

I loved the balance of sour and sweet flavours. Will go back for it again! In fact, I'm missing it already!

For full review and more photos, please visit: http://www.iisjong.com/2013/05/au-chocolat.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kalamansi Meringue Tart
 
Date of Visit: May 12, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0