OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11978 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
A tweak in the time machine OK Jul 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Seafood | Chinese Noodles | Kids-Friendly

The current Kombi Rocks Diner is a revamped version of Koon Kee Restaurant which was all started in 1971and now it is taken over by Mr Lim Koon Kee's youngest son, Chef Hai. He had merged his passion of restoring classic vehicles, guitars and fans into the business with Kombi Rocks offering 2 kinds of service, dinning and rental.
Shop Entrance

Shop Entrance

 
Kombi Rocks offers rental of vintage vehicles like Kombi & Bug from Volkswagen. And I came to know this place by words of mouths as my friend had rented one of such vehicles for his wedding day. If not for the recent recommendations and media, this cafe would probably had gone unnoticed when I drove pass the shop houses of Yio Chu Kang Road.
Kombi

Kombi

 
Bug

Bug

 
In memory of his late parents, Chef Hai decided to carry on the legacy and continue serving a fusion of Thai and Chinese Dishes in his restaurant.

Ambiance of Kombi Rocks was pretty well setup, unique and filled with lot of vintage items hanging on its wall and in its display cabinets. It somehow had given me the good feelings of stepping into another timezone, the 60s - 70s on a relaxing Sunday afternoon.
Decors

Decors

 
Come Take A Photo Here

Come Take A Photo Here

 
The small menu booklet was given to us by one of the staff which seems polite and friendly. The menu was rather crumpled and old school looking with a brown wooden board as the base.
Menu

Menu

 
Drinks are being stored in glass jars like these.
Left: Root Beer Float, $6
Right: Stewart's Cream Soda, $4
Root Beer Float & Stewart's Cream Soda

Root Beer Float & Stewart's Cream Soda

 
Thai Fishcake - $4 (3 pieces), Deep fried with crispy crust at the outside and inner, spongy and soft. Goes quite well with the thai chilli.
Thai Fishcake

Thai Fishcake

 
Koon Kee Mee Goreng - $6, a dish inspired by a Vietnamese pasta, is the signature dish name after Mr Lim Koon Kee the founder of the original Koon Kee Restaurant. This dish is pretty ordinary, prepared and fried in tomato ketup, sweet with hints of spiciness with portions of fried egg.
Koon Kee Mee Goreng

Koon Kee Mee Goreng

 
Red Wine Fried Chicken - $15. Every piece of it was well coated with sweet red well sauce, feel the tangy taste!
Red Wine Fried Chicken

Red Wine Fried Chicken

 

Wok-hei Seafood Hor Fun - $6
. As the name suggests, a taste of "Wok-Hei" is anticipated and can never be missed here. Freshly prepared, the hor fun is rather soft and smooth.
Seafood Horfun

Seafood Horfun

 
Have a seat on the old school barber seat over the round marble table top with Singer's sewing machine foot pedal? Oh well, this place is reserved.
Vintage Dining (Reserved)

Vintage Dining (Reserved)

 
Overall the ambiance is what most of us come here for. The food is pretty normal, more towards the taste of home cooked food with steep prices and the grand total of the meal is made up of 10% of their service charge. If you are into retro stuff, why not take a chance and travel down Yio Chu Kang and have a good reminisce of the past.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Red Wine Fried Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $23(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner Treat to my pal Smile Jul 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Fusion | Hotel | Fine Dining

Restaurant Ember is housed in one of the conserved buildings in Singapore, Hotel 1929. A small and cozy restaurant serving modern European food in a good balance of intimate and bustling ambiance.
Hotel 1929

Hotel 1929

 
My reservation was made successful over the phone and followed up by a confirmation SMS a few days before. We have ordered the dinner set menu for 3 pax each costing S$88.00++.

These complimentary crispy Foccacia are served hot on our tables and good to go with the butter cube.
Tomato Focaccia

Tomato Focaccia

 
My fine dining course kicks off with the delightful crab cake as the appetizer. It is made up with a ball of crab shreds mixed in some Asian garnish, coated with a thin layer of crush fried to golden brown, accompanied by the sweet tasting sauce and salad with an absolute strong crab smell. Irresistibly, I cleared the plate and had it almost "licked" dry. tongue

 
Cold Toufu Salad: A plate of fresh greens tossed in vinaigrette with slices of avocado, tofu and tomato in savoury sesame dressing. Main selling point of this salad is its soft and smooth beancurd served refreshingly chilled in the tangy Japanese sweet dressing.
Cold Toufu Salad

Cold Toufu Salad

 
Roasted Foie Gras: The foie gras was accompanied by a 1-hr poached egg and morel mushroom in truffle oil melts into my mouth easily. Seriously awesome!
Foie Gras

Foie Gras

 
Giant chip that is to be paired with the plate of foie gras.
Chip

Chip

 
Deliciously prepared Crispy Maine Lobster with beurre blanc and mesclun. Comes with a caramelized crust on the soft and chewy lobster. Yums!
Cripsy Maine Lobster

Cripsy Maine Lobster

 
Pan Roasted Barramundi with Bacon Veloute and Beetroot: The outer layer of fish was crispy and with hints of bitterness mixed in sweetness of the sauce.

 
Pan Roasted USDA Prime Beef Tenderloin with Seasonal Mushroom: Merlot reduction. Stated on the menu in CAPS "NO WELL DONE". Ember certainly won't disappoint. The beef was roasted to the requested done-ness. The method of cooking has brought out the tenderloin's natural freshness especially in its succulent flesh. Evenly done and served with sweet potatoes and potatoes.
Prime Beef Tenderloin

Prime Beef Tenderloin

 
This Apple Tart requires two people to share. I'm not a fan of apple tart or pastries that deal with apples but this changes my thought of it over night! The delicate and savoury pastry comes in flakes of crust glued together on the plate and chunks of sweetened apples adorn on it, yet no signs of sogginess.
Apple Tart

Apple Tart

 
Awww... all good things have to come to an end. As the finishing touch to my meal, I had a cup of camomile tea with honey and a little cookie. How I wish I could have more smile. Overall I would say that the food standards are consistent, experience is terrific!
Camomile Tea

Camomile Tea

 

Some things to take note: (1) No shorts and slippers to the restaurant. (2) Reservations required, book early. (3) Valet Parking is available outside the restaurant at a cost. (4) No Sharing of Dinner Set

My total damage including GST and Service Charge.
Receipt!

Receipt!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Dinner Set Meal
 
Date of Visit: Jul 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $104(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Salads

A quirky restaurant name with planned interior decorated and designed with a modern theme. A lot of creative efforts was put in from the photos that was hanging on the walls with quotes and the table placement you will never forget the Table Manners.
Lightings

Lightings

 
Ambiance

Ambiance

 
Let us check it out and my table manners will begin here...
Wait to be served

Wait to be served

 
Truffle Chicken Bites - $6 - A strong wave of truffle aroma hits me as they were approaching the our tables. These golden brown gems are served piping hot, with thick crust of exceptionally crispy skin and steam soft tender chicken bites.
Truffle Chicken Bites

Truffle Chicken Bites

 
Chicken Parmigiana - $17
Breaded chicken leg topped with tomato sauce and grated flaky mozzarella cheese. The crispy fried meat was paired with mouthwatering mash potato and its house salad.
Chicken Parmigiana

Chicken Parmigiana

 
King's Burger - $16 - They said eat like a king and we had ordered this. tongue. Listed as one of their recommended dishes. Requested for medium-well for wellness of beef. The patty was made by the restaurant using the combination of pork and beef tastes really juicy. Comes with a generous portion of bacon, onion, gherkins, cheddar cheese slice, sliced tomato, lettuce and a striking yellow from the sunny side egg paired with truffle fries and house salad. This is totally worth your pocket.
King's Burger

King's Burger

 
Home-made lemonade - $4 was pretty average, not too sourly but rather refreshing with a slice of lemon floating atop of the drink.
Home Made Lemonade

Home Made Lemonade

 
Cappuccino - $5was requested to serve at a later stage. Foamy with chocolate powder on the top. Feels like having a hot chocolate but with the taste of coffee beans.
Cappucino

Cappucino

 
Service was a let-down. Waitresses and waiters are busying chatting among themselves, service was rather slow and we have to wave alot of times to gain their attention, even for the bill. sad

Total cost including 10% of service charge and 7% of GST costs S$56.50. There are no credit cards promotions available.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Parmigiana
 
Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Birthday Treat! OK Jul 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

The newly opened JEM shopping mall is a food heaven and since my friend's birthday is around the corner, I had decided to give her a treat.
Menu

Menu

 

Don't get deceived by the empty queue outside the restaurant. Although I'm second on the queue, the waiting time was rather long as they were full house. When we were first in the queue, we were given a menu each and invited into the restaurant's waiting area.
Primo Combo

Primo Combo

 
Primo Combo - $14.50
3 different kinds of treats on a platter consisting, calamari, soft shell crab and mozzarella cheese stick served with its homemade tartar and Neapolitan sauce for dipping. I was rather surprised to see such small serving. Overall, I will only give 6/10 marks as I find their batter are not well coated hence, it drops off easily and makes it difficult to handle while dipping them in the sauce.
Chicken Scallopini

Chicken Scallopini

 
Chicken Scallopini - $17.50
Out of these three pasta dishes, I will give my vote to this! Lemon butter sauce with bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms paired together with a bed of creamy spaghetti and chicken meat.
Spaghetti Vongole

Spaghetti Vongole

 
Spaghetti Vongole - $19.80
One of the best sellers in its Spaghetti section, this dish is filled with little neck clams with hints of garlic, red cut chilli, parsley and white wine. Though taste and presentation is vastly different from the previous pasta, it showcases one of the many ways spaghetti can be served.
Lobster and Chicken Combo

Lobster and Chicken Combo

 
Lobster & Chicken Combo - $29.00
Voted as the best seller under its Mama's Specialties' section, the oven baked lobster and crispy fried chicken is served with cream sauce and spaghetti.
Pork Chop

Pork Chop

 
Pork Chops - $19.50
The only dish that we order that doesn't comes with pasta. Listed under its Papa's Specialties' section, these grilled thin pork chops are served with little roasted pipping hot skin potatoes and Italian vegetables. The pasta sauce that comes with it are overpowering and if having pork chops alone, it tastes bland. More room for improvement!
Mango Herb Tango

Mango Herb Tango

 
Mango Herb Tango - $6.00
The combination blends of basil, mint leaves and mango juice forms the puree. Comes in a small cup, it doesn't taste good as expected. Some say it tastes like toothpaste though and I find that mango taste is minimal.
Tiramisu

Tiramisu

 
Tiramisu - $6.95
Missing the tiramisu we had in Italy earlier this year, we got ourselves desserts. The spongy cake with mascarpone and zabaglione cheese sprinkled with flavours of espresso and coco powder. The picture of the cake in the menu is different from the real thing. smile
Chocolate Brownie

Chocolate Brownie

 
Chocolate Brownie - $6.95
Served with vanilla ice cream on the top and hot fudge. The brownie with nuts are perfect for serving. Just be careful that the plate is hot.
Sodas

Sodas

 
Soda Drinks - $4.50/cup
Left - Raspberry Soda and to the right, Peach Soda

Total Damage!

Total Damage!

 
The total damage to my pocket is S$136.60 for 4 pax after a 15% discount for OCBC credit card holders.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tiramisu
 
Date of Visit: Jul 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Prata and Tandoori Smile Jul 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Curries | Halal

I was here at Prata Wala to try out their prata and tandoori. It is located on the first floor of Jurong Point new extension, near one of the entrances.

Ice Plum Limau

Ice Plum Limau

 
Ice Plum Limau - $3.20 sounds expensive but what you pay is what you get. Lime and plum tastes very distinct in the cup of ice water. Love it!
Tandori Nan Set

Tandori Nan Set

 
Tandoori Nan Set - $11.50 was great! 2 pieces of grilled chicken orangey red in color placed on the shiny metallic plate. The aromatic grilled fragrance was irresistible. The set comes with a small cup of briyani rice and 3 types of sauces to paired with the set. Amongst the three different sauces available, I love the minty flavour sauce out of all. It is quite refreshing to be paired with the nan. The briyani rice are soft and sauce are warm. I had to skip the chilli sauce as it was simply too oily - thick layer of oil can be seen on top of the cup.
Prata

Prata

 
Egg Onion Prata - $3 and Plaster Prata - $2.80
Both prata are quite crispy in the center but had a tougher outer layer. I loves the 2 kinds of bites that this prata has. Even though the cup of gravy is too little for 2 big pratas, the pratas alone tastes great even without it!

Service was still acceptable. However customers has to be patient, as the waiting time could be quite long. The drinks and food are served separately, therefore don't be surprised if the given buzzer alarmed a few times on your order.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Plaster Prata
 
Date of Visit: Jul 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0