OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 551 First(s)
No. of Review1744 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended49 Recommended
Popularity12074 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11297 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant579 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1972 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 1744 Reviews in Singapore
The Neighbourwok 街坊 Smile Oct 02, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

If you hear of the Dim Sum in Bukit Batok near the swimming pool, Lai Kee Poa Tin, you got to try out the Fried Prawn Noodle Stall there too. The Neighbourwok is located in the same coffee shop and selling 2 kinds of food, namely, Fried Prawn Mee and Satay. They have been operating for a few months since 28th June 2020.
Stall of The Neighbourwok

Stall of The Neighbourwok

 
Although they are relatively new in the neighbourhood, they are actually one of the best Fried Prawn Noodles in the district. The noodles were flavourful enough with "Wok Hei" taste and subtle sweet egg taste. Even though pork lards were being used in the process, the noodles were neither greasy nor "gelat". 
Fried Prawn Noodle - $4 (Small)

Fried Prawn Noodle - $4 (Small)

 
From strands of noodles to the thin strips of pork belly meat, they are generally well accentuated with the prawn broth. On a side note, their homemade Chilli had complimented the dish very well. 
Fried Prawn Noodle - $5 (Big)

Fried Prawn Noodle - $5 (Big)

 
The key components in a good plate of Fried Prawn Noodle consist of fresh prawns, pork lards bits, sotong, rich prawn broth, yellow noodles with thick white bee hoon, chilli as well as lime. 

On the other hand, the texture of the noodles is well kept in its shape, being still springy, unlike other places, you may find them already turning soggy when it is served to us. There are 3 types of meat to choose from, Chicken, Pork and Mutton. The cost of a per stick of Mutton Satay is $0.80 each while the rest costs $0.70 each. 
Satay

Satay

 
Satays are skewed to perfection, accompanied by aromatic chunky peanut sauce. To elaborate, the meat was thoroughly cooked, especially for Mutton, most places that we ate, the mutton satay was quite tough, dried and gamy. The Neighbourwok had actually done a good job by providing such satisfying satay.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2020 

Spending per head: Approximately $4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

PGFN Smile Sep 29, 2020   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

PGFN refers to Pandan Gardens Fishball Noodles. It was founded on 1st March 1982 by a couple, Mr and Mrs Seow. Till now, the business has gone through 3 generations of the customer at their original coffeeshop at Pandan Gardens. If you do not know, PGFN is serving Laksa as well as Fishball Noodles at one of the corners in the coffee shop and they have a few branches throughout the years. 

To name it, their Flag Ship stall is actually located in Keat Hong CC, operating 24 hours since 15th April 2017 with a casual and affordable air-conditioned environment. Other branches are located in Punggol and Bukit Batok West.
PGFN Stall in Coffeeshop

PGFN Stall in Coffeeshop

 
Signature Fishball Minced Meat Noodles come with a mixture of fish dumpling, minced meat, slices of fish cake and fishball. 
Signature Fishball Minced Meat Noodles 招牌鱼圆肉脞面 - $3 / $4 / $5

Signature Fishball Minced Meat Noodles 招牌鱼圆肉脞面 - $3 / $4 / $5

 
Comparing this Signature Fishball Minced Meat Noodle to the popular chains of fishball noodles that
I had, the taste cannot get any worse. It's still packed with a full of Asian taste, or rather a staple dish that we normally seen here in Singapore.
Ingredients

Ingredients

 
We preferred to explore something more than just fishball noodles and had the mushroom minced meat noodle. Mushrooms were well braised and definitely the meatballs together with minced meat sums up an average bowl of noodle.
Mushroom Minced Meat Noodle 香菇肉脞面 - $3.50 / $4.50 / $5.50

Mushroom Minced Meat Noodle 香菇肉脞面 - $3.50 / $4.50 / $5.50

 
The taste was inviting, nothing to complain about.
Ingredients

Ingredients

 
Fish cakes were our side orders and really complemented well with our bowls of noodles.
Fishcake Sides

Fishcake Sides

 
Personally, I find that the standard of fishball noodle won't lose out to any popular fishball noodles franchises/branches/chains in Singapore. 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

71 Lor Mee Smile Sep 29, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

Just a day ago, one of my friends randomly forwarded me a video of this Lor Mee stall, asking me to try it out in Bukit Merah View Hawker Centre. She has also advised me not to go in during the weekends morning as the queue will be rather long but too bad as the week is already nearing weekends, lo and behold, the queue was indeed snaky long. It took about 20 minutes before we get to order our food. 
71 Lor Mee

71 Lor Mee

 
Let us check out the reason for the queue now. The regular bowl of Lor Mee is inexpensive and reasonably priced at $3. The portion may seem not enough for some but I find it just right. I have everything all in and that includes the coriander, minced garlic as well as chilli. 
Lor Mee - $3 (Regular)

Lor Mee - $3 (Regular)

 
Ingredients that made up the bowl of Lor Mee is nothing fanciful but rather ordinary. They are slices of Ngoh Hiong, fish cakes, Lor Bak and crispy bits, adding some crunch to our food. The Lor (gravy) is not starchy and is more on a lighter taste, in which it does not make the meal too "gelat" towards the end.
Ingredients

Ingredients

 
Dining with a guy that has a greater appetite, the order comes with additional ingredients and noodles priced at $4.50. You can order solely with yellow noodles or a good mixture of noodles with Bee Hoon.
Lor Mee - $4.50

Lor Mee - $4.50

 
Overall, if you prefer a lighter and simpler taste in Lor Mee, this will be your take! As for me, I have no preference of heavy taste in gravy or even the lighter taste, I find that both have their own special taste. 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

PGFN Smile Sep 28, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

PGFN refers to Pandan Gardens Fishball Noodles. It was founded on 1st March 1982 by a couple, Mr and Mrs Seow. Till now, the business has gone through 3 generations of the customer at their original coffeeshop at Pandan Gardens. If you do not know, PGFN is serving Laksa as well as Fishball Noodles at one of the corners in the coffee shop and they have a few branches throughout the years. 

To name it, their Flag Ship stall is actually located in Keat Hong CC, operating 24 hours since 15th April 2017 with a casual and affordable air-conditioned environment. Other branches are located in Punggol and Bukit Batok West.
PGFN Stall in Coffeeshop

PGFN Stall in Coffeeshop

 
Signature Fishball Minced Meat Noodles come with a mixture of fish dumpling, minced meat, slices of fish cake and fishball. 
Signature Fishball Minced Meat Noodles 招牌鱼圆肉脞面 - $3 / $4 / $5

Signature Fishball Minced Meat Noodles 招牌鱼圆肉脞面 - $3 / $4 / $5

 
Comparing this Signature Fishball Minced Meat Noodle to the popular chains of fishball noodles that
I had, the taste cannot get any worse. It's still packed with a full of Asian taste, or rather a staple dish that we normally seen here in Singapore.We preferred to explore something more than just fishball noodles and had the mushroom minced meat noodle. Mushrooms were well braised and definitely the meatballs together with minced meat sums up an average bowl of noodle.
Mushroom Minced Meat Noodle 香菇肉脞面 - $3.50 / $4.50 / $5.50

Mushroom Minced Meat Noodle 香菇肉脞面 - $3.50 / $4.50 / $5.50

 
The taste was inviting, nothing to complain about.Fish cakes were our side orders and really complemented well with our bowls of noodles.
Fishcake Sides

Fishcake Sides

 
Personally, I find that the standard of fishball noodle won't lose out to any popular fishball noodles franchises/branches/chains in Singapore. 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Don's Pie & Cake, Signature Crab Smile Sep 28, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Desserts and Cakes

If you hear of the Pie chain, Don your personal pie club in the malls, you might find this Cze Char joint in Toa Payoh rather familiar with its logo. I used to visit the stall in China Square many years back, introduced by my ex-colleague, enjoying both pies and their Signature Crab Beehoon Soup. Back then, the business had left me kind of impressed by their delicious Crab Beehoon Soup and the combination of pie business.

Don's Pie & Cake, Signature Crab

Don's Pie & Cake, Signature Crab

 

Their Signature Crab Beehoon Soup is the first thing that I looked out in the menu. This signature dish is listed as one of the top 25 Crab Beehoon Soup in Singapore. The taste was distinct that till now I vividly remember that the hearty broth was different from the usual Cze Char Stall Crab Beehoon Soup taste. I noticed that Mr Don Lim, the owner was at one corner of the open kitchen preparing pots by pots of delicious Signature Crab Beehoon soup one by one. 

Signature Crab Beehoon Soup 招牌米粉螃蟹 - $30-$70

Signature Crab Beehoon Soup 招牌米粉螃蟹 - $30-$70

 

The broth was milky white with ingredients like Chinese rice wine, large slices of ginger, evaporated milk, Angelica Root (aka Dang Gui "当归"), milk cabbage, long chunks of yam as well as plump Sri Lankan Crab accompanied by thick rice vermicelli noodles topped with my favourite parsley. The price ranges from $30 to $70 and we decided to order $40 for 2 pax. Overall the crab bee hoon gives an exclusive herbal note that I believe no other place catered to such taste. 

The fragrance from the Beehoon Soup

The fragrance from the Beehoon Soup

 

Smaller Serving from the main bowl

Smaller Serving from the main bowl

 

The kitchen was rather busy on a Saturday evening and perhaps that was why our dish came to our table when we are almost finishing our main dish. 

Cereal Tofu 麦片豆腐 - $10

Cereal Tofu 麦片豆腐 - $10

 

Realizing that many of the tables do have such similar dish on their table, we could not help it but order one ourselves. The Tofu was generously cover with cereal, fragrant and crispy on the outside with a vast difference of texture as you bite down into the soft silky tofu. 

Yummilicious

Yummilicious

 

On a side note, I love their chilli, it tasted tangy with spiciness. 

Chilli

Chilli

 

Here are our drink and the homemade ice lemon tea was kind of different with a layer of foam topped the glass.

Our Drinks

Our Drinks

 

If you are craving for some pies, you can also bring them back after your meal. Don's Personal Pie maintained its flakiness on its crust. I had the Signature Chicken Pie and totally enjoyed the fragrance.

Signature Chicken - $5

Signature Chicken - $5

 

The pie was built up with 2 portions, the "bowl" and a cover. I took out the cover easily and saw half a boiled egg was in it. The ingredients were obvious, making up of carrot, potato, minced chicken and peas with hints of white peppery taste.

Ingredients of Chicken Pie

Ingredients of Chicken Pie

 


https://www.umakemehungry.com/2020/09/dons-pie-cake-signature-crab.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0