OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11994 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
Fried Oyster no more! Cry Dec 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

Xin Xin Famous Fried Oyster has been a "Question Mark" in my mind for a long time as she was never in operation everytime during my visit at lunch time. After more findings, I learn that they are only in operations from 2pm till 10pm.

It just happened that I was there during there one Sunday night for dinner and finally saw that they are in business.
Stall

Stall

 
Ordered a smaller portion of their Fried Oysters.Though they were very crispy, I felt more like eating thin fried crispy tasteless fried pancake, perhaps with some burnt taste. To make it worse, the number of oysters is too miserable. Though this is not the worst Fried Oysters I had eaten, the plate of fried oysters were just below par.
Fried Oysters

Fried Oysters

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Seafood Mui Fan ;( Cry Dec 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Zi Char

San you Xiao Chu is located at the entrance of Changi Airport Terminal Food Court, KOPI offering a good spread of Zichar dishes at an affordable pricing.
Stall, San You

Stall, San You

 
Ordered my last dinner in Singapore for this November and was a mistake to order its seafood Mui Fan. The standard of food was below par, the portion was rice was too much with miserable seafood toppings. Though gravy was sufficiently pour onto the the mini wok, the taste was rather bland and starchy. In the end, I left about 3/4 of the food untouched. Sighs.
Cost: $6.50
Seafood Mui Fan - $6.50

Seafood Mui Fan - $6.50

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hee Kee Desserts Cry Dec 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese Desserts | Desserts and Cakes | Halal

Visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/11/hee-kee-desserts.html for more pictures

Hee Kee Desserts has been in operations recently after a long renovation period. Ever since her novelty (a few days back), it had been drawing curious consumers' attention like me. Thus, I quickly fixed a date with my pals to check out his Hong Kong desserts together.

 
Her interior design had displayed the style of a modern dessert cafe where you can find in Hong Kong. Steamed Milk & bird-nest were seen as well, featuring those popular Hong kong Desserts.
Specializing in Hong Kong dessert, I would say that their variety is way lesser than its competitor which is located about 100m away, Ji De Chi (记得吃). Perhaps the only starring item they had over them is its Custard Egg Yolk Rice Balls and Bird Nest Menu, other than that, the desserts items were very typical.

 
Sesame paste was a total letdown. Firstly it was not warm enough then it was not that smooth and was rather watery. A vast difference from what we had expected. In the end we had almost the whole bowl left untouched. This had caught the person In-Charge's attention and she had confronted us to take our feedback. Service wise is still average and she had offered us for another bowl of dessert but we rejected.
Sesame Paste - $3.80

Sesame Paste - $3.80

 
Mango sago with pamelo is top in my dessert list whenever I see them in the menu. It was kind of disappointing when the pulps of pomelo tasted bitter and mango tasted raw. Sweet taste is very lacking, it did not give the right punch into the stomach to someone who love such dessert.
Mango Sago with Pomelo - $4.50Mango Sago with Pomelo and mango - $6.50

Mango Sago with Pomelo - $4.50Mango Sago with Pomelo and mango - $6.50

 
The difference between this and the former is perhaps its cost which was additional of $2 for the mango sorbet that topped the bowl of dessert.
Mango Sago with Pomelo and mango - $6.50

Mango Sago with Pomelo and mango - $6.50

 
One of its signature desserts, Custard Egg Yolk Rice Ball in Osmanthus Soup. Soup was not really warm with hints of ginger and Osmanthus smell was not very obvious or close to none.

 
The combination of the mushiness from glutinous rice balls with the sandy texture of Custard Egg Yolk did not appeal to me.
Liu Sha Tang Yuen in Osmanthus Soup (Hot) - $3.80

Liu Sha Tang Yuen in Osmanthus Soup (Hot) - $3.80

 
Perhaps this had marked my first and also the last trip to Hee Kee. The replacement of Lucky Dessert Stall to Hee Kee doesn't really turn things out well. Little Moo is going back to patronise Ji De Chi.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  5
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Orh Jian Cry Nov 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Noodles

A total disappointment to have the bigger portion of a plate of plate oyster from the Fried Hokkien Mee stall. I had a shocked that the oyster texture was more like a starchy thicken pancake instead of our ideal crispy and eggy oysters. Though we had ordered the bigger version, the number of oysters given was miserable. We will not be returning for its orh jian (Fried Oyster) anymore. sadsadsad
Cost: $6
Fried Oyster

Fried Oyster

 
Fried Oyster

Fried Oyster

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Expensive Dessert Cry Oct 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

Although it was supposed to be chilled but we had a bowl of warm Bo Bo Cha Cha instead. Bowl of dessert was rather boring filled with diced sweet potatoes and yam only. Felt shortchanged. sad.The bowl of coconut milk dessert was the most expensive bowl of Bo Bo Cha Cha I had.

Since it was located in the premises of MBS (the premium place in Singapore), the price maybe 3 times more than what we are getting from a hawker centre.

Given more choices and time, I would have seek alternative elsewhere for better food.
Cost: $3.10
Bo Bo Cha Cha

Bo Bo Cha Cha

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0